We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
Review of Hotel Noir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Noir
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Me and my partner stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. Check in process was very efficient. Car park is very small so can be tricky to park if car park is busy. Breakfast in the hotel is excellent with a choice of cooked breakfast, porridge, croissants and fresh fruit. You can have as much toast as you like with a selection of tea, coffee and fruit juices.

Hotel is in a good location in the Clifton area of York, only a 10-15 walk into York centre. We booked a compact room which had a cosy feel, with a good size bathroom and plenty of storage space. Only issue was with the safe, was not screwed down to anything so you could actually carry it out of the room!

In conclusion Hotel Noir is a very good hotel in good walking distance of York centre

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank JohnM_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

861 - 867 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

We booked this hotel in 5 minutes from arriving! It was a late deal 0n booking.com and was so pleased with our stay! Our room was very clean and had everything we needed. The hotel was in walking distance from the centre, it only took us 10mins to walk.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skippy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Placed booking through laterooms.com website. We forgot camera so nva took any pics hotel room was black n white interior with 4 poster bed felt very comfortable & at home. Has flashy flat screen tv, coffee maker n ipod dock... But then the cracks in the surface begin to show! Arrived around 4pm night of stay, Went for a walk rnd york by the river. Came back to get ready for enjoying an indian meal for tea in town, ironing board was rubbish n iron was broken drenching my partners shirt with water :( Was back in our room in time for xfactor n raided free mini bar :) bed linen pillowcases were torn and 4 poster creaked even by turning over in bed with flimsy metal frame. This morning had a shower, has no pressure or constant temperature, bath is very dated and supplied a paper bathmat. We went to york designer outlet today which I highly recommend. Got home n hotel have emailed to say weve stolen dressing gowns??? There was none in our room to use let alone take!! Hotel Noir have charged my card £50 without authorisation accusing us of theft. Very disappointing end to a lovely weekend away.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L4uRa8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed in room 207 for one night - Thursday 4th October, room very very noisey, would have been quieter if we had camped on the verge of the M25! Toilet seat was ill fitting, Radiator in our room did not work, bath was badly chipped and leaked by the shower screen and from somewhere underneath! - however staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast was lovely but the room really let our stay down. That said I am sure if you have a room at the back of the hotel your stay would be great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, the road at the front is very busy from 6am to about 11.30 and is on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPF1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stayed there on a midweek get away to have a meal and a day relaxing as a birthday treat. In a picturesque residential area it's well run, friendly and located a 10 minute brusque walk to the Minster end of town. The rooms are of a period townhouse without the generic polish of a chain but that's not a negative. The room was great and the bar etc lovely, all of the advertised freebies were there and we enjoyed our stay - £65 a steal!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbwg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My wife and I just spent two nights in this excellent hotel.
15 minutes leisurely walk from the city gates. Car Park, free mini bar, up market fittings, Coffee maker, Radio with Ipod dock, TV, Extra heater if radiators not to your liking, very helpful staff, Great breakfast and meals. Could not be better.
Someone complained that there was no marmalade and Friday is glass recycling day? We were there on a Friday and had marmalade but missed out on the recycling . They also complained about the black paint - the title of the hotel gives a hint of that.
Some folk are never happy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgartshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Me and my hubby stayed here Saturday 29th September - we were very impressed with the appearance of the hotel from the outset. We did drive through the tiny car park but failed to get a spot however next time we come we will just park on the street like this time. Plenty of space and quiet street.

The check in was smooth and efficient and we were given a lovely four poster room 411 - no views but we weren't bothered about that - the room was comfy and well equipped - the bed very comfy - it was very quiet and we slept really well. It had dressing gowns, slippers, hand made truffles, well stocked mini bar, nice smelling toiletries, good quality television, tassimo coffee/tea machine (oh and hot chocolate too) - kettle in the wardrobe if you had brought your own stuff. Really nice! Had a lovely breakfast in the morning. Good distance from York but easily walkable - 10 mins away - we tried several old worlde pubs and a nice meal in the Prezzo in York - great anniversary treat! Really recommend it!!

Room Tip: 411 is a four poster - king sized or could have been super king not sure - we liked it but it is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
2.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,457 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Address: 3-5 Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range: £48 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Hotel Noir York/Clifton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing