We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and good hotel”
Review of Hotel Noir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Noir
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2013

The hotel is located 15 minutes walk from York Minster. It is full of character and staff were friendly and helpful. The room was large, very clean and well equipped. The room had a tassimo coffee machine and a mini fridge that had a small bottle of wine, lager,soft drinks , fresh milk (for coffee/tea) and was included at no cost and replenished daily.
The hotel was warm and quiet. We didn't eat at the hotel but the menu looked good. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. I hope we can welcome you back in the future! Regards, Hotel Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

815 - 821 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed for two nights and had a great time. Hotel was very clean with large room and bed. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Just 15 minute walk into the centre or a £5 cab ride (if you're wearing heels!) Happily go back anytime!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyG66_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel! I’m glad you’ve enjoyed your stay so much. We’re 0.8 miles from the city centre, so as you say, about a 10-15 minute walk or £5 approx. in a taxi, depending on your footwear! We hope to see you soon.

Regards, Hotel Noir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We are presently on our second night of a 2 night stay. The hotel is excellent cannot fault it. We arrived and got a space on the car park (which is quite small and a little tight but ok) and was quickly sorted with our room by a pleasant chap on reception. We had a twin room in the annex of the hotel accessed from outside next to the car park - room and location were perfect. Minibar was a nice touch. Room was very warm. Bathroom facilities were ok although the shower did not clip on so had to be held but not a problem. Plenty of room for clothes in the built in cupboard. Excellent value for the price paid, a great place for exploring York. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12enforcer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Many thanks for your review. It’s great that you are enjoyed your stay so much! We would of course love to welcome you back if you are returning to York in the future. If you call the hotel direct we can ensure you are allocated the same room again if you wanted. Thank you for bringing the problem with the shower to our attention – I’ll make sure our maintenance department get this fixed straight away.

Regards, Hotel Noir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

On arrival we received a friendly welcome and were quickly checked in, room was well appointed although some detritus was found under bed, (I should say my wife and I are 'hotel trained' customers.) The bed creaked incessantly with each movement (not for the good reasons either). Bathroom was very clean and dispensers fully charged. Tissimo drink machine was a nice touch. We ate in the hotel restaurant which was friendly and clean, having rump steaks cooked to perfection for a good value price, staff were attentive and courteous. Hotel is within easy walking distance from town centre and train station. A very pleasent 2 night stay and will definately use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blakeneyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Many thanks for your review.
I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay so much – I will be taking up with our housekeeping and maintenance departments the minor issues that you mention. Thank you for your compliments about our restaurant!

We hope to welcome you back in the future should you be returning to York.

Regards, Hotel Noir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

on arriving we were greeted by a member of staff who was very helpful, and put our champagne in our room in an ice bucket whilst we went into the city. our room at first glance was nice and tidy, clean bed sheets and towels. we had a bath in our room as we had requested, although when trying to use the shower every time I turned on cold tap to cool down the hot water it went freezing and took a while to heat up again.
disappointed with the mini bar - 1 mini bottle of wine and 1 bottle of lager plus cans of pop, didn't really know what to expect but thought this was poor.
had a drink in the bar whilst waiting for taxi which person on front desk was kind enough to phone for us.
woke up at half 1 in the morning to the sound of music, so I went to investigate down to the bar there was no one there but the music was still on so I turned it off as we were in room above bar (205), also bed seemed a little small for a double my feet were of the end
check out time of 11 was great

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beebooStellaquil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Many thanks for your review.

I’m pleased that you found the staff helpful. Sorry you were disappointed with the contents of the minibar, however I would point out that this is provided free of charge to give our guests an alcoholic drink each plus mineral water (which we put into our glass bottles to reduce on plastic waste) and branded soft drinks, and is replenished daily for guests staying more than one night. It’s not something you will find in the vast majority of hotels and we provide it as a little extra for our guests. The music in the bar is usually switched off at midnight, sorry that it appears this was not the case on this occasion! Regards, Hotel Noir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed at this hotel over new year and paid premium rate for doing so, as you would expect. But the cleanliness and standard of the finish in the room really let it down. These bits may seem a bit picky but they did spoil the overall stay. Marks on the duvet cover and throw, stains on the valance, carpets not clean, dust from drilling along the skirting and edge of the carpet and the shower door was broke.Parking is a proper mission an all if your in anything larger than a little tikes buggy. On a good note the staff were very pleasant and polite and the location is very good.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brookyNewcastel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Many thanks for your review.

I’m glad you found the staff pleasant, it is of course disappointing that the small issues in the room affected your stay on this occasion. The car park is tight as you say but we are lucky to have great free on-street parking immediately adjacent to the hotel, which many York hotels do not benefit from, and between the two, our guests get free convenient parking.

Regards, Hotel Noir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

me and my wife arrived at the hotel for one night and managed to park in the hotel car park .on entering we were greeted by a member of staff who was very helpful .we were given room 308 which had a free mini bar of wine lager soft drinks .also it had a tassimo machine and plenty of tea coffee and chocolate .the room itself wasnt the best it was not very clean and really did need another hoover as you could see where they had shoved it round and missed the rest ,the carpet was dirty.the bedroom furniture was white gloss which was nice but then an old grubby black dresser in the corner which looked like it had been ruined by hot cups on it as ther was no tray or mats which i suggest would be a good idea as not to spoil the new furniture.all in all the hotel was average and not what i expected although the staff were helpful

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarnsleyBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Many thanks for your review. Whilst I’m glad you found the staff helpful, it is disappointing that the cleanliness of the room was not up to scratch on this occasion. We will of course rectify any issues like this immediately if they are reported to us, and I will be speaking to our head housekeeper to ensure that improvements are made.

Hotel Noir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
2.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
2.5 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Address: Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range: £45 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Hotel Noir York/Clifton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing