We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, a short walk into the City.”
Review of Hotel Noir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Noir
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Certificate of Excellence
Deeside
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect, a short walk into the City.”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We had read mixed reviews of this hotel but we had no problems at all.

It was easy to find, the car park although small had a free space when we arrived although I'd park somewhere else if I had a larger car.

The hotel itself is clean and tidy and looks like it would have been an old family house with landings and staircases shooting off at all angles.

We had a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the car park which was quiet, no problems on that score.

No problems with the staff who greeted us and answered any questions we had.

We had breakfast the next day and which was tasty and served quickly.

The only slight issue was the mini bar, poorly stocked and missing the advertised bottle of Cava as it was New Years Eve. It wouldn't stop me going back however I wouldn't pay the £177 a night I paid on New Years, I'm assuming that this isn't the standard rate just an opportunistic rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel for peace and quiet although I can't see how it could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali1967Deeside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for your review! I’m glad you enjoyed your stay so much.
I’m sorry that the cava wasn’t in the minibar – we would of course have brought it up for you with apologies if you’d let us know at the time. Sorry if you felt the free minibar was poorly stocked, it is intended as a welcome for our guests, and of course is provided at no charge, something you don’t find in many hotels!
The price was higher than normal as you say, being a peak demand day on New Year's Eve, but if you do return to us in future, please check our website – there you’ll find the best available rates , and special offers run frequently. We hope to welcome you back in the future! Kind regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    347
    185
    78
    77
See reviews for
85
724
24
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Excellent value for money. The mini bar is free unless you choose the compact room. Very convenient for centre of York shops and restaurants, less than ten minutes walk. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankL222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for your review! I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

Good location within walking distance of the city centre. Very hospitable staff. Free WiFi and free parking is always a bonus. I didn't eat at the restaurant or use the bar but they both looked decent. Room 413 is small for a double with nothing more than bed and small shower room. Tassimo coffee machine in the room was a nice addition. I would stay again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nichojnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for your review! I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. As you note, our compact doubles are on the smaller side, but this is why we price them so competitively. We have larger rooms available if this is what you require. I hope we can welcome you back in the future! Kind regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed for 1 night in January. Found the hotel easily, no problem with finding a car parking space. We arrived at 10 minutes to 2, and unfortunately were not able to check in these 10 minutes early. We found the receptionist to be a little 'off' with us and didn't offer us to leave our luggage in the room or anything - both myself & partner work in the hotel industry and we feel that offering to leave our luggage in a storage room or anything may have come across a bit more helpful. However, we went to explore York and came back to the room later.
We were allocated Room 303, a compact room upstairs. We were pleasantly surprised after paying less than £30 for the night. The room was modern and the bed was comfy. The heating worked well and the bathroom was super clean. The Tassimmo coffee/tea machine was a nice touch, as was the cold water in the fridge. This room was fine for one night, but I think if we were to stay more, I would recommend a larger room. Overall, we had a great stay and would return again if I ever visited York.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenofhearts12350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for your review, and I’m glad you enjoyed most aspects of your stay! I’m disappointed to hear that the welcome you received was not up to scratch. We do often look after bags for guests who arrive before check in time, and this should have been the case on this occasion too.
As you say, our compact rooms are more suited for solo travellers or short stays, we would recommend a standard double or above if you need a little more room! We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

The hotel is located 15 minutes walk from York Minster. It is full of character and staff were friendly and helpful. The room was large, very clean and well equipped. The room had a tassimo coffee machine and a mini fridge that had a small bottle of wine, lager,soft drinks , fresh milk (for coffee/tea) and was included at no cost and replenished daily.
The hotel was warm and quiet. We didn't eat at the hotel but the menu looked good. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. I hope we can welcome you back in the future! Regards, Hotel Noir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed for two nights and had a great time. Hotel was very clean with large room and bed. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Just 15 minute walk into the centre or a £5 cab ride (if you're wearing heels!) Happily go back anytime!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyG66_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel! I’m glad you’ve enjoyed your stay so much. We’re 0.8 miles from the city centre, so as you say, about a 10-15 minute walk or £5 approx. in a taxi, depending on your footwear! We hope to see you soon.

Regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We are presently on our second night of a 2 night stay. The hotel is excellent cannot fault it. We arrived and got a space on the car park (which is quite small and a little tight but ok) and was quickly sorted with our room by a pleasant chap on reception. We had a twin room in the annex of the hotel accessed from outside next to the car park - room and location were perfect. Minibar was a nice touch. Room was very warm. Bathroom facilities were ok although the shower did not clip on so had to be held but not a problem. Plenty of room for clothes in the built in cupboard. Excellent value for the price paid, a great place for exploring York. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12enforcer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Many thanks for your review. It’s great that you are enjoyed your stay so much! We would of course love to welcome you back if you are returning to York in the future. If you call the hotel direct we can ensure you are allocated the same room again if you wanted. Thank you for bringing the problem with the shower to our attention – I’ll make sure our maintenance department get this fixed straight away.

Regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,252 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Property: Hotel Noir
Address: Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Hotel Noir York/Clifton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing