We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Noir
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
B+B York(York)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,183)
Filter reviews
1,183 results
Traveller rating
447
384
194
79
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
447
384
194
79
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree mini barcoffee machinecompact roomcar parksmall bottle of winefour posterlovely little hotelfresh milkposter bedcity centrepub next doorminute walkiron and ironing boarddressing gownsfree parkingwould stay againbooked this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
848 - 853 of 1,183 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Hotel was ok,room comfortable,as was bed,traffic noise was very loud due to single glazing.
Disappointed at dinner,some dishes from menu not available for some reason.Service ok.
Breakfast was nice.Overall a pleasant stay but not enough to want to return.

Room Tip: Dont get a room on the front of hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for your review. I’m sorry you were disappointed that items on our menu were unavailable. All our food is prepared from fresh, rather than being ready-made and frozen as in many hotels. This does unfortunately mean that on rare occasions we may run out of an item on the menu.
As a city centre hotel located near a main road, there is unavoidably some traffic noise. Many guests are not disturbed by this as the road is reasonably quiet overnight, but we do have plenty of rooms on the back of the building away from the road that can be requested, should you be visiting us again in the future.

Regards

Hotel Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed here in Jan 2013 for my Boyfriends Birthday and couldnt ask for more! we nearly stayed in as the room was that perfect! We got a great deal online which included a free mini bar which was great! a good 15mins walk into town but only a couple of pound in a taxi for those wearing heels. It was super clean, modern and just lovely. The breakfast was Very Very tasty (had a lot of hotel breakfasts) and there was plenty to fill you. Good checking in and out times and we were also aloud to leave our baggage when we arrived early and left late.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for your review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay so much, and hope we can welcome you back here should you be visiting York again in the future!

Regards, Hotel Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed in a small double room, so we were expecting a small room and that's what we got! We stayed in room 303 which was on the back of the property so no noise problem however we seemed to have the kitchens extractor fan outside are window which made quite a noise but went off at 11.30pm just in time for bed! The room quality was of good standard with a very comfy good size double bed, very small room I.e. only one person could get past the bed to the bathroom at a time. The bathroom itself was a good size and very clean, if I'm being really picky I'd say the shower was not as powerful as I'd of liked! Overall the room was cosy and clean having nice extras the fridge in room was a nice touch. The location was good 15-20 mins from the city centre and within easy walking distance from the train station, a great base.

Room Tip: Small rooms are small but cosy, so be warned!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 275Dan140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for your review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay so much, and hope we can welcome you back here should you be visiting York again in the future!
As you describe, our compact rooms are on the smaller side, but of course we don’t try to hide this fact, and we have different sizes of rooms priced accordingly to suit all tastes/budgets!

Regards, Hotel Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I cannot understand the negative reviews here on Tripadvisor about this excellent little hotel.
Yes, it is a little quirky and I suppose what some may deem a "boutique hotel" and yes the car park is a little on the "tight" side, but all in all this wonderful establishment offers a handy location for visiting York, and a comfortable well-equipped room in which to rest after the day's labours.
We chose a four poster room which was booked late and thus got a cracking 2 night deal. Our room was up a flight of stairs, along a narrow corridor, down another flight of stairs to a spacious corner room with a huge bathroom. There was some traffic noise, I agree, but as we live on a busy main road at home, this did not bother us and the comfort of the huge bed soon had us away in dreamland. The room also boasted a well-stocked "free" mini bar fridge with some delicious chocolates left for us - (our friends who were in another room were a little miffed that they didn't get the free chocs as we did...but then again they had no traffic noise in their's!!)
The Tassimo drinks machine made lovely coffee and tea and the television was a standard 32 inch flat screen (a little difficult to see from one side of the bed, but, hey, you don't come away to watch telly do you?). The DAB radio/Ipod dock didn't work on arrival, but after mentioning it at reception, all was well the following day,
Breakfast?? Excellent!! Cooked to order with local bacon and sausage of the highest quality and a good selection of cereals, juices, fruits and lovely fresh coffee and tea....what's not to like? and excellent to stoke te fires for a chilly days walking in York centre.
Incidentally, the city is a 15 minute brisk stroll though I believe there is a bus too, and the time we used a taxi (damp evening) it was less than a fiver!
The hotel is, I understand, undergoing renovations, and this will only enhance the reputation it deserves, Try the Hotel Noir ....you may just love the place, as we did!

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can to the bigger (NOT compact) rooms - it's worth the little bit extra!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jtcg_cymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I’m glad you enjoyed your stay so much and hope that we can welcome you back if you are visiting York again in the future.

Regards, Hotel Noir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Almost 100% fabulous!
Would so love to have given this 100% as this was a fabulous place to stay, the room was great, the staff were friendly and the little extras like free mini bar and Tassimo machine were a great touch, however, although the linen in the room was clean we noticed several stains and the odd cobweb here and there. It was such a small thing so we did not say anything to the staff but I'm sure if we had have done they would have gone to the trouble of changing it for us. It didn't spoil our stay at all and we were so impressed by the value for money that we will definitely be staying here again.
Having read other reviews regarding the noise from the road, we stayed in a room at the front of the hotel and were not disturbed at all.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pollypops1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for your review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay so much, and hope we can welcome you back here should you be visiting York again in the future!
Regards, Hotel Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews