We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a boutique hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Noir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Noir
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Leeds
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a boutique hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Spent one night here and to be honest the decor is a cheap makeover of what already existed, the bed was uncomfortable and lumpy with what felt like a duvet in between the top sheet and mattress. Pillows flat curtains let light in the shower was poor and I had a poor nights sleep. The staff were friendly.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank flecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Firstly I would like to respectfully point out that we are not advertised as a boutique hotel and are in fact a 3 star. I’m pleased to hear you found the staff friendly, but sorry you did not like the décor. I can confirm however that it is certainly not cheap!

I’m also sorry to hear you did not like our memory foam mattresses, many guests compliment us on the comfort these provide but it is of course all down to personal taste!

Kind regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    336
    183
    77
    77
See reviews for
84
698
22
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed at Hotel Noir on 10th/11th December 2013 and we had a lovely time, the staff are really nice, the food was lovely and the rooms are so comfy. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the centre of York. This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and we will certainly be booking again next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunderland1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level Contributor
347 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I hate york ringroads, they make getting into the city difficult, parking there is a nightmare, and the guest houses are mostly over priced.

Well help is at hand, the Hotel Noir on Clifton Green, free unregulated parking, dead easy to find and a gem of a hotel to boot only 10 minutes very pleasant walk from St. Mary's Gate and the minster.

Me and trouble went here on a Booking.com deal on a room only basis, very cheap for 2 nights, even full price is good for what is on offer. The room was on the ground floor at the front, the green was between us and the main road so wasn't noisy, the four poster bed (yes really) was ultra comfortable, the bathroom had a great shower and was presented to a very high standard. The crowning glory though to this hotel room was the Tassimo drinks maker, a jug of real milk and the complementary mini bar with chocolates, unbelievable, this coupled with the other main points and the friendliness of the staff make this probably the best place to stay in York, I go there 2-3 times a year and will be using this place again and again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrimalSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metz, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

The hotel was nicely decorated, clean and well maintained.
The room was a nice size. 2 single beds that were very comfortable.
The room had a very nice coffee machine a nice size television, i would say i was generally impressed with the room, however i felt that the bathroom let the experience down.
The bathroom was very clean and tidy however was very dated. The hotel had done there best to cheer the room up but it really is in need of renewing. This along with the window of the bath room not being able to close. I felt it was a real shame and it let the hotel down from me having an excellent experience. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast was very nice, the price was very reasonable. Free secure parking was available a little tight to manoeuvre into place but i don't have the smallest car in the world.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincs
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Great place had compact double and plenty of room nice decor , clean and smart and cheap. Not far out of York
Free wifi nice inexpensive hotel . Dining area looked very smart I can not comment on food as did not eat there try york castle museum it's great

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jimbojetset11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

There were 3 beds in our room and the springs had gone on them all,we had to shore the side of the matress up to stop us rolling out, bedding was ready for throwing( see picture) and the noise of the drainage from 2 different directions above kept us awake.
Didnt have the rest we wanted and left early doors.
Glad I booked it through Late rooms "Mystery hotel" option and didn't pay the full price as that would of been a disaster.

Great area though and easy walk into York

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biglad33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry that you were disappointed with aspects of your stay. I have checked both the rooms we have that contain 3 beds and have been unable to find any in the condition you describe, but in any case I do apologise if you found the beds uncomfortable, which is disappointing for us as we are so used to receiving compliments on the comfort of our beds.

I can see from the picture you have uploaded that this particular item of bedding should have been disposed of, and it’s difficult to see how it could have been missed by the housekeeper concerned, so I will be speaking to them as a team to ensure that things like this are not missed in future.

Kind regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

we spent two nights here the room was clean, comfortable and warm with nice en-suite. the staff are very friendly and helpful. the food is very good . overall a small hotel with a very warm welcome . well situated for the town center . will certainly stay again .the only fault was the traffic noise,we were on the ground floor at the front ,but we were used to it by the second night and it didnt spoil our stay.

Room Tip: a room at the rear would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 45 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Property: Hotel Noir
Address: Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Hotel Noir York/Clifton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing