We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quite, good location, free parking”
Review of Hotel Noir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Noir
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Certificate of Excellence
Roswell, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Clean, quite, good location, free parking”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Nice hotel in a quiet neighborhood within walking distance of York Minster and other York sites. Very helpful staff. Rooms smaller but adequate. Large bathrooms, Parking spaces available but get there early for fenced in parking. Safe.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaTraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    347
    185
    78
    77
See reviews for
85
724
24
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here on Boxing Day for one night in a classic double room and have not a thing to complain about.. Bed had a memory foam mattress staff were helpful booking us a taxi when asked.. Breakfast the following morning was outstanding. York centre is around a 10/15 minute walk from the hotel so away from any noise but not to far to walk. Would defiantly stay here again and will be the next time we visit York.

Thanks for the lovely stay

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diddydoughnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayed with my family while in York. Cozy and clean room. Convenient location in York. 10 minute walk from the Shambles and old town area. Staff was friendly and very helpful. We arrived off the train early and they had a place for us to keep our luggage until check in at 2 while we walked around the city. Also our train did not leave until late and thy again kept our luggage for us after check out while we toured York until our train departure. I was sorry we did not have time to take advantage of their Pub area and dinning. It looked very nice. Will stay here again when back in York.
We stayed in Room 103 and did not have any issue.Very quiet and slept well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My family recently stayed at this hotel for its close proximity to York city centre only a 10 minute walk away. We booked two double rooms and were allocated rooms in the rear annex building backing onto the small car parking area. The rooms were spacious, clean, quiet and very comfortable and even had complimentary mini bar. We decided to stay a further night and tried to book the same rooms but unfortunately they were already booked and we had to change rooms. We were offered a 4 poster bedroom at a higher price and a compact double room both located inside the hotel on the first floor, unfortunately both rooms were a bit of a let down. The beds were very uncomfortable, the double bed in the compact room sloped upwards at the foot-end and the 4 poster mattress was uneven and dipped considerably, also pillows were heavy and hard which made for an uncomfortable nights sleep. These rooms were much noisier and not as nice as the external annex rooms and if we had stayed in the external rooms for both nights I would have rated this hotel excellent on all aspects.

Room Tip: Ask for the rear external rooms backing onto car park for they are much more comfortable and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heysham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The hotel is lovely and the staff friendly it wasn't until we called it a night that the nightmare began, DO NOT stay in room 103 the room is lovely as long as you want to share EVERYTHING happening in the room above, every footstep, every toilet flush, every shower taken every conversation and every intimate encounter going on until 3 in the morning!! was not what we wanted from our hoped for relaxing 2 day break, and if that wasn't enough we were woken early in the morning by smokers standing outside our room which is seperate from the hotel, coughing and spluttering and talking loudly. So avoid at all costs room 103.

Room Tip: Avoid room103 if you want a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetmPackham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback – I’m glad to hear you liked the hotel and found our staff friendly, but sorry to hear you were disturbed by other guests.

We do have signage up asking guests not to smoke in that area but unfortunately it is not always adhered to. I hope if you are returning to York you would consider giving Hotel Noir another chance, if you called ahead I would ensure you had a room inside on the top floor to avoid noise from other rooms.

Kind regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel rooms were nice staff was friendly, car park was tight to say the least, but over all very good, quirky too. I liked the 4 poster bed even though a bit rickety, great walking distance from main town. Cheers

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Djfinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked this hotel last minute at a very good price and were amazed at the value for money. The hotel is a very sheek style boutique and the interior design is lovely. Defintely worth the money and will visit again.
The only downside is the car park......very small. If you can't find a space be prepared to look for street parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,252 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Property: Hotel Noir
Address: Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Hotel Noir York/Clifton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing