We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel.”
Review of Hotel Noir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Noir
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Certificate of Excellence
Pudsey, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I was taken here as a surprise for my birthday and it was lovely, the Hotel was very nice and we had one of the rooms with a four poster bed, which was nice. The room had everything you need with a great shower, TV,Ipod unit and coffee machine.

The staff were very nice and they were very helpful, the only downside is the carpar which is very small but it was not a problem.

It is a nice walk into York and it is on the main road so you can not go wrong. Well worth the money.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor which was fun taking our bag up there, even though we were opposite the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart1974_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us! Our car park is small, but we are fortunate that there is also ample free parking on the streets alongside the hotel. I hope we can welcome you back in the future if you are visiting York again.

Kind regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    351
    187
    79
    77
See reviews for
88
732
24
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend, we had one of the four poster bed room which was spacious with coffee and tea making facilities, a TV, an iPod radio, a free mini bar and a nice sized bathroom with bath.

The hotel carpark was full but we managed to get parking on the road by the side of the hotel which was great after a long journey.

The breakfast was wholesome, and there was a vegetarian option too which was very tasty. We also checked out the bar which was pleasant before we headed out for dinner.

The only thing I would nitpick about, is that when we phoned prior to booking to ask how close they were to the city centre. Whoever answered said they were very close, this isn't the case, we had to get a taxi or drive to the city centre.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinuprobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for your review, and I’m glad you enjoyed your stay! With regards to our distance from the city centre, we are 0.8 miles away, which is around 10 minutes walk, which to me is ‘close’, but I acknowledge that this is somewhat subjective. Some comments from other recent reviews: “good location to walk into the centre”, “it was nice and close the town centre”, “It is in a very good location, only a ten minute walk into the town centre”. I will advise staff when asked this question in future to let people know the walking time and distance, then guests can make up their own minds whether for them this is close enough or not.

Kind regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Before I point out the positives of this hotel, lets just mention the very very minor down points, damaged lamp, faulty bulb in lamp by the TV and broken casing on coffee maker, However as we were only stopping for a signal night these things can be easily dismissed, They were reported to reception who assured us that they would be taken care off,
Now the good points and this is what matters
Parking is available to the rear of the premises, but get there early as this is limited but is a great bonus,
Decor is very contemporary, more boutique hotel than oldie worldly, which we prefer.
Reception and check-in first rate, quick, efficient and very helpful.
Location - 10 minute walk from the town, bus stop close by if you cant be bothered to walk.
Room - we stayed in the family room No.101, absolutely great, good size, nice and warm, children had proper beds, free mini bar and coffee maker a real added bonus (note to owners this is a great touch). Bathroom good size with nice shower and plenty of towels.
Evening Food - nice selection of evening meals at a very reasonable price.
Breakfast - great selection of fruit, cereal toast etc, cooked breakfast will set you up for the day, if you cant see it on the menu just ask.
Overall this hotel was a real pleasant surprise and shows that good service and value is still available in this country.
We will certainly use this Hotel again.

Room Tip: If you want a quite room as for the rooms on the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gedling1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Please give the hotel a call direct next time you are visiting to get the best available rates as a returning customer.

Kind regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

A great overnighter hotel, spacious with old worl charm and a cool modern feel. Walkable distance from the centre of York.. Bed were large and comfortable, rooms with large windows and very light.. a great place to stay for a York visit

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Friendly welcome and helpfulness of the staff was first class, especially at breakfast and evening meal which were both delicious. The cleaning staff were also very helpful and obliging. Very comfortable bed. good shower. Welcome free mini bar. Easy pleasant 10 minute walk into town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy_R_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We arrived early to take advantage of the after of parking before checking in. Unfortunately this was the best of our brief stay. The hotel information says that the car park is small but parking is available outside on a residential street, true but the car park is tiny. We walked into York centre for the day, when we arrived back and checked in we were given room 421 a four poster bed with drapes which meant we would have to move the bed to see the TV. The dining room and reception area was untidy and needed cleaning. The room is small and as it is at the front of the building the lack of double glazing means the noise from a main route into your is easily heard. We found stains on the bed linen and amounts of hair on carpets and furniture. Moving to the bathroom, it is tired and in desperate need of renovation. The bath side is cracked and patched up, the base of the bath is craze cracked and dirty, the toilet seat must have cost very little as it is made of thin plastic and is the wrong size.
We decided to make the best of the night as we had paid £160 for one night. When I went to get the luggage from the car I was horrified to find an 18inch long scratch on the side of the car, all I can think is that someone had tried to leave the car park only to find the gates locked and they had damaged my car trying to reverse out. That being the last straw we left immediately it took 10 minutes of manoeuvring to get out of the car park.
We will not consider a return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry that you chose not to stay with us, it is most disappointing for us to receive this feedback after so many excellent reviews recently. As advised on our website, we have a small on site car park, with additional on street parking available next to the hotel. I’m sorry to hear that your car was damaged in the car park and that you chose not to stay because of this. I was able to inspect your room the following morning and was unable to find any evidence of anything being dirty in either the bedroom or the bathroom. I would also advise for future guests reading that since your stay we have had double glazing fitted throughout the building. Sorry to hear you will not be returning, I hope next time you go away you find somewhere more to your liking.

Regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Lovely room, spotlessly clean,very comfy bed . Tastefully decorated. Easy walking access into city. Excellent value with free mini bar. What impressed me most was the staff. On arrival I found the reception staff very helpful. On the morning of our departure our car wouldn't start. The receptionist was amazing, she made phone calls on our behalf to the breakdown company, let us use the hotel phone, gave us complimentary tea and was genuinely concerned for us. During our 2hour wait the staff rota changed and the next receptionist was just as helpful,friendly and polite. I would recommend this hotel because the concern shown for us was just amazing and I am very grateful that I was staying here when our car broke down.I have stayed In lots of hotels but never met such helpfulness. In an emergency this is the type of support you need .A huge thank you to the staff of the Hotel Noir. I would definitely recommend this hotel.



Excellent value, with free mini bar. The bathroom was large and the

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our staff so helpful to you after your mishap! I hope we can welcome you back if you are visiting York again in the future.

Kind regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,299 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Property: Hotel Noir
Address: Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Hotel Noir York/Clifton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing