We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and alot of style over substance” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Noir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Noir
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Clifton
Greater Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Overpriced and alot of style over substance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Have to be honest. It was a last minute booking and our options were looking a bit thin on the ground. York is famously expensive but it's a beautiful city and we figured we wouldnt be spending much time at the hotel.

When we arrived early, we asked if our bags could be left in the room for when we checked in. Imagine our surprise when 5 or 6 hours later, they werent.

Although the front of house is neatly decorated in black and white kitsch, 50s Americana and monochrome, the theme permeates the rest of the hotel but doesnt live upto the promise. Our room was somewhat poky and cramped. The bed was noisey and the location of the room felt unsafe, on the ground floor on a far flung corner of the hotel with no one else around. There were times it felt like a glorified Hostel. Needless to say there were numerous attempts to distance intself from hostel fare such as a restaurant and ensuite bathrooms. Other than that there is nothing to justify the price, inspite of the York being famously expensive precendent.

Customer service was decidedly average. Youd have had to beg some of the staff to smile that weekend.

In short, should i visit york again anytime soon, i'll look for something else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geckofabulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    332
    178
    77
    77
See reviews for
82
686
21
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Retford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed here for one night to attend the races, what a gem. The rooms are small yet very clean and cozy. Mini bar included in price, iron, hairdryer, coffee machine, electric fan heater and I pad docking station....all excellent. Very comfy beds.
The on site car park is more than adequate for the average vehicle and a definate plus in York but if you are a 4x4 driver and have a Beast as I am you are better parking on the safe streets outside the hotel which are in very quiet and in respectable residential area as the car park is quite small and these vehicles are just too big
. On arrival our room was not ready but we were shown to a cloakroom with locking door that was quite acceptable, our bags were left in reception and were in our room on our return from the racecourse
. The evening meal was faultless the new chef PAUL came out to chat to us and was very pleasant and friendly (yes you Paul) food portions were more than adequate, tasty and cooked to perfection. The highlight was our specially ordered CHEESE BOARD. We are cheese and biscuit fanatics but sadly this is not included in the menu.......upon our return from a alcohol fuelled race meeting a cheese board had been specially created much to our delight.
These personal touches are not forgotten and greatly appreciated.
On the whole the best accommodation we have stayed in for our annual York Races Trip we have booked and paid for our return trip to The Hotel Noir in August 2015.
A BIG BIG thank you to ALL the staff that make this hotel one of York's hidden and underrated gems we hope to see you all again next year

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I used this hotel for one night on a recent visit to York Races. Clifton Green is a suburb of York and this hotel is just outside easy walking distance of the station/Minster/shops etc. it's a slightly odd place. I had the "small double" the last room left, which is at the other end of a rabbit warren of upstairs and downstairs passages with lights that come on as you enter. "Small" is right and the proverbial cat could not be swung. But it served a purpose. I saw inside the better rooms at the front, including the four-poster one(s?), and these were spacious enough. I would imagine traffic noise is an issue at the front of the hotel as the road is busy and the glazing only moderately effective. At the back, however, it's fine. There are some interesting and unusual features in what feels rather like a 2 star hotel. The rooms have a safe (tick), plus an elaborate tea and coffee percolator (producing rather odd beverages!), with fresh milk and complimentary mineral water in the fridge (another tick). The little restaurant offers good value dinner, with an early bird offer till 6.30, but the room was an atmosphere free zone, dark (as per the hotel's name) and silent. The plastic tables (and hard seats) are set up as if it were a school dining hall. (So I ate in the very good and cheap Indian restaurant next door, attached to the pub.) Not bad, but needs cheering up.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel will be much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forester99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Was looking for somewhere for affordable meal on a Monday night. Food was adequate, although my steak was over cooked, as wanted 'medium' but more like 'well done'. Service was fair but staff were friendly. Ambience was poor and the dining room itself a little dark making it difficult to see what we were eating.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, 23 December 2014
Hello Fiona, thank you for your review, sorry it appears your meal with us wasn't quite perfect. This is especially disappointing for us as we normally receive a lot of praise for our food offering. As a result of guest comments we've recently had extra lighting fitted in our restaurant. Kind regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I've been there with my girlfriend for 3 night, compact room with breakfast include, everything was perfect!!! All the staff nice and polite, food excellent!!
What a lovely place just outside a wonderful city of York !!!!
Definitely I will be back!!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked this hotel for 3 nights and unfortunately I was ill the day before we were due to go,and the next day we had to cancel. However I felt well enough to go the following day and the hotel kindly `uncancelled` our booking and still let us have the three
nights at no extra cost. We were so grateful and what a generous thing to do!
The hotel was lovely, our room was comfortable and spacious and I had three great nights sleep in the comfortable huge bed. The breakfasts could not be faulted, VERY tasty and very filling.

We were only 15 minutes walk from the town just long enough to walk off the breakfast.
I couldnt really find fault with any thing, and the staff were very efficient and helpful. Probably the best hotel we have stayed in on our visits to York and we will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 204
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie20102014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My partner and I recently stayed here for 2 nights. When entering the room we were pleasantly surprised, I'd booked a compact double, the room was ideal for 2 people, lovely bathroom, comfy bed and modern decor. The coffee machine and IPod docking station were lovely little touches. The staff were friendly and helpful and even let us leave our car in the car park a few hours before check in as we had arrived early. Location of the hotel is fantastic, just a 10 minute walk into the town centre which is a lovely walk by the river. We throughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely book this hotel again when visiting York.

Room Tip: Stairs are quite narrow so be careful if you have alot of luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJB6688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review, 21 December 2014
Thank you for your review! I'm glad that you enjoyed your time here and hope we can welcome you back if you are returning in the future. Booking via our website and joining our Friends Of Noir club will give you a 10% discount off rooms, food and drink and access to exclusive competitions and offers. Kind regards, Hotel Noir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#32 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,718 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Property: Hotel Noir
Address: Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Hotel Noir York/Clifton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing