We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beechwood Close Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Noir(Clifton)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B+B York(York)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Marmadukes Town House Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alhambra Court Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$99
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
US$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
161
132
57
32
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
161
132
57
32
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull montycity centrefamily roomsmall hotelpark and ridepleasant walktea and coffee facilitiesnight staymin walkenglish breakfastfollowing morningfree parkinggood nights sleepshort breakyogurta lovely stayyork
Filter
Updating list...
365 - 370 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed here for three nights from June 1st and from the moment we walked through the door we couldnt have made to feel more welcome. All the staff were were very helpful and friendly and you felt like you had known them for years.Our room was clean and tidy and well stocked with tea and coffee etc.We stayed bed and breakfast and and the choice for breakfast was fantastic with locally sourced fresh produce. It was a 20/25 minute stroll into York Centre from the Hotel or you could get the park and ride. We ate in the Hotel every evening and again the food was marvellous. On the Sunday night we came back late and the meals had finished so the Hotel very kindly ordered us an Indian takeaway and set us up a table in the restaurant. The bar service was excellent with even the locals drinking in the bar. We will definately stay here again and cant understand the negative reviews. Kev & Trish, Sunderland.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MACKEM666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beechwoodclose, General Manager at Beechwood Close Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Thank you very much for your review.Its good to hear when people speak honestley about the hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Thank you
Peter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed here on a kgbdeals offer that was apparently worth £280. Our room was a single room with a double bed squeezed in. The view? The recycling piled up in the yard below. The bathroom was shabby with dirty bath mat in place. The worst thing was the breakfast which had clearly been made hours ago and was inedible. Overall, horrible.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bdlra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

i have just returned from a 3 night stay at the beechwood close hotel and have to say how fantastic i found every aspect of the stay. i was there with my husband and in laws and from walking through the door we were made to feel very welcome. there is a warm, friendly, relaxed air about beechwood close hotel and peter, jan and claire went out of their way to ensure we were happy customers. nothing was too much for them. the breakfasts were first class, cooked fresh and to order, the evening meals were absolutely delicious, again freshly cooked to individual specification. peter was a very friendly host, making an evening in the hotel lounge very enjoyable with his conversation and sense of humour. he was keen to recommend places to visit and made sure that we had a taxi waiting at the door when needed. the room was clean, very spacious and again homely. this was a 2nd visit for my inlaws and our first, but we would not hesitate in staying again. we would recommend this hotel to potential visitors to the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Myself, hubby and two friends have just returned from a 3 day break at The Beechwood. We had a fabulous time. Peter and his wife Janice are lovely people who will do anything for you, along with Clare and husband Gary. The rooms at the hotel are very spacious, clean and comfortable. We had a room overlooking the lovely garden at the rear of the hotel. We chose to eat in the hotel in the evening and all the meals were of a very high quality. The breakfasts are huge and delicious so be warned. The Beechwood is only a 15-20 minute walk into York and we chose to walk through the park very close by and then along the river. We are returnihg here in November and are very much looking forward to it and to seeing the Christmas lights in York.

Room Tip: Ask for room 12, this is at the rear of the hotel but overlooks part of the garden
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tenajet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My wife and booked a 3 night break at Beechwood Close Hotel in early June through Superbreaks and we got a very good DB&B deal at this great family run hotel. The new owners are working exceptionally hard to welcome all of their guests and they are definitely putting their heart and soul into their business. Our family room had recently been redecorated and totally refurnished as have many of the bedrooms. The bed was good quality King Size and very comfortable. The En-suite with shower over a bath had also been redecorated and was nice and clean. A good selection of fruit juices, fresh fruit, cereals as well as a varied menu of freshly cooked hearty breakfast options were available. The evening A' la Carte Menu also had a good selection of appetising cooked meals and the service was excellent. The owner Clare and her father Peter are great hosts and the bar sells a good selection of beers wines and Quality Speyside Malts in 35ml measures at very competitive prices. I noted there were a few retired Professional Gents frequented the bar most evenings There is also a very large nice secluded and sheltered garden at the rear of the hotel. The Beechwood Close Hotel has a large car park and is located in a leafy affluent area of York 15 mins walking distance from York Minster and all the other great attractions in and around the walled city. I wish Clare and her parents all the very best and I am sure they are going to go from strength to strength with their new venture.

Room Tip: Be in no doubt this hotel offers great value for money and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as a great place stay and it is ideally located for the main attractions.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robertson7306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews