We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Family run" must be the new unprofessional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beechwood Close Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"Family run" must be the new unprofessional”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I have always preferred small family run hotels than the likes of big anonymous chains like Holiday Inn but I can honestly say after a stay here I may just rethink that statement. I have never stayed in a more unprofessional, tatty and just downright pitifully poor excuse of a hotel in my life.

Firstly, we were greeted by a pleasant enough chap who after half an hour of fumbling about conceded that we were booked in for the wrong day. After this was finally remedied we were ushered into an attic room which reminded me of a nursing home bedroom. It smelt old and dingy and the window was locked with a chain (surely contravening fire safety regulations). There was hardly any tea or coffee, loo roll and the "ensuite bathroom" was separated by a sliding door which did not close fully. Our room looked over a very unattractive view of the kitchen vents which also contributed to the bad smells emanating into the room.

We then went down to have some food and being a Sunday opted for a carvery which consisted of burnt yorkshires and cold vegetables. Breakfast was no better particularly after waiting nearly half an hour for a greasy sausage, cremated bacon and solid egg. We ate breakfast in town for the remainder of our stay.

The staff were rude and unhelpful for the majority of our stay and we found them so unapproachable that instead of asking for our tea etc to be replenished we bought our own just to avoid the sighing and disapproving attitude which greeted us nearly every time we spoke to them.

The whole hotel seems to be run by a minimal amount of people who lack the experience of running a hotel. I think the Beechwood is suffering from a bit of an identity crisis. Instead of being a good B'n'B or a well run pub it tries to be everything all at once and fails miserably. The whole place is populated with the locals on a Sunday leaving the service to the paying hotel guests with much to be desired. But then again, this poor service continued well into the week, so a big Sunday carvery rush is not the real excuse whereas bad management, bad attitude and just not being bothered really is the root of the problem

On the plus side, probably the only one, the beds were very comfy.

Will not be staying again. Ever. May as well have booked into Fawlty Towers.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Psyche1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    124
    49
    31
    32
See reviews for
86
179
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on a KGB deal which represented excellent value for money but I would not have paid their normal tariff of £140 per night, it just wasn't in that bracket.
A couple of niggles lost them a star eg. why only 2 tea bags and 2 sugar sachets per night? We had travelled nearly 300 miles ( and Im sure others travel even farther) so if you wanted a cuppa before bedtime then you couldn,t have one in the morning. They forgot to bring our tea to breakfast on the 1st morning and got our orders completely wrong on the 2nd morning. The bathroom door doesnt close fully. We waited 15 mins to check out but no staff responded to the bell apart from one who said 'we're busy with breakfasts.....won't be long'.
Apart from that it was comfortable enough with nice public areas.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swan2555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We had a lovely welcome. The staff could not have been more helpful. Public areas were very welcoming and comfortable. Room was a good size. Clean. Twenty minute walk into York city centre (quicker than a taxi at 6pm). Suitable for a variety of groups, couples etc. The breakfast was okay and plentiful. You need to take your own toiletries but that's no hardship if you know in advance.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bnortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We went to a family wedding. The room at the back of the hotel was done beautifully. It opened up onto the garden. The buffet and desserts were lovely and the staff were very friendly and efficient. The bar prices were very reasonable aswell

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Veronica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We had booked this hotel for a 3 day break after our daughters wedding, we were in room two which overlooked the garden and was wonderful to wake up to in the morning. The room was spotless and the bed was comfortable. The staff were always friendly and helpful and the room was cleaned every day and fresh towels provided. We have stayed in many hotels over the years and this breakfast was definetely the best, better than the 4 star hotel our daughter got married in, the portions were huge and freshly cooked. Would definetly recomend this hotel and would stay here again, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We have just had an excellent stay at this hotel. The room was lovely and clean, bed comfortable. The food was very good. I would recommend this Hotel to my friends.We had a room at the side but were not bothered by traffic noise and had good nights sleep.The staff were very friendly and helpful.There were plenty of leaflets to give you ideas where to bo during your stay. We paid a visit to The Yorvik Centre and

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Staff very welcoming, friendly and accomodating.Bar comfortable and locals and other guests very friendly making for a nice atmosphere.The food was tasty and well presented although the evening meal service was slow.However the owners have acknowledged this and are in the process of addressing this.The bedrooms were a good size as was the bathroom.Both recently refurbished to a high standard.We will definately return to this hotel when next in york.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YoungatHeart90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
1.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,089 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#47 of 47 in York
1,126 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#39 of 47 in York
1,891 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Close Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Close Hotel

Property: Beechwood Close Hotel
Address: 19 Shipton Road, Clifton, York YO30 5RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechwood Close Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planning a visit to York? Whether it's for business, renowned retail therapy or sightseeing, the family-run Beechwood Close Hotel is the perfect location for your stay. Just a 20 minute walk from the historic city centre, with frequent bus services outside the door and the railway station easily accessible, the Beechwood Close Hotel is set in attractive gardens in the charming Clifton area. Individual and independent, the hotel has 14 comfortable and well-appointed en-suite bedrooms including singles, twins, doubles and family rooms. All have digital flat-screen televisions with Freeview, hairdryer, iron and ironing board and a well-stocked hospitality tray. There's free wi-fi and plenty of complimentary parking for guests, a cheerful bar and a licensed restaurant, offering a wide choice of dishes with a modern British twist. A warm welcome awaits at this family and pet-friendly hotel and husband and wife team Wayne and Clare McLeod, both York born and bred, are ideally placed to offer guests real insider knowledge about their stay in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK and LateRooms so you can book your Beechwood Close Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Close York
Beechwood Close Hotel York/Clifton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing