We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money but could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beechwood Close Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Well, we booked a room there for one night because we were looking for something decent and cheep. and it was both!
Location is good if you don't mind walking 15 min approximately to go to the city center, good value for money, good service, good breakfast but there are a couple of details that if taken care it could make a huge difference. Huge bathroom with bathtub!! but no soap and one of the towels had some stains. Apart from that the kettle was not clean so we couldn't have a tea and only black tea available. And finally the room could have been warmer. We had to put an extra blanket to sleep comfortably, but fortunately there were two blankets available in the closet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

The hotel is ideally situated for York city. We had a family room at the back comfortable and quiet. The food was very good and service was excellent, very friendly. The only fault was that our window catch, in the bathroom, was broken and with the winds it was draughty. We mentioned this to the staff but not fixed whilst we were there. Hopefully fixed now. Would visit again.idea

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ERDEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Food really nice hot and tasty. Service lacking. White hair man behind the bar total Pratt very very rude. Tried serving me a pint that was half water asked for a different one then slammed the glass on the bar an started arguing with us. Would be a nice place if he was not there. Also I have worked it restaurants a long time and he was drinking while on shift not very professional would not recommend purely because off him on the bar

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nick888887777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Just returned from an overnight stay including New Years Eve Dinner, What can I say, Management and staff absolutely wonderful nothing too much trouble. The dinner and breakfast this morning was excellent, accommodation top class everything you could want plus spotlessly clean. Would definitely recomend

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed for 3 nights Half board from Xmas Eve. The Hotel had a lovely friendly feel as soon as I walked in, and I was very impressed to be up-graded on my arrival. The Staff were very friendly and helpful, my room was very clean, cosy and comfortable . I travelled alone and could not have chosen a better place to spend my Christmas break. The food was excellent and especially the Christmas Dinner. I really enjoyed my stay and will be coming back to the Beechwood when I next visit York.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank U8865HQjulies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My husband and I got married on the 21st December 2013. We decided to have our Reception and Evening do at the Beechwood Close because of its welcoming friendly staff, family feel and excellent food!!! We had an amazing day, Claire and her team did everything they could to ensure we had the best day, we even had a Red Carpet!!! Everyone of our guests commented on the food we had chosen, firstly how amazing it was and secondly how much there was, no one went hungry!!! Our guests spoke very highly of the hotel chef, as do we!!!! The function rooms were decorated beautifully and the staff were only to happy to help. Our bedroom for the night looked out over the lovely gardens and the bed, linen, pillows etc were luxurious (could have slept forever in the bed)!!! The breakfast the following morning was plentiful with a big choice. All in all Claire and her team made us feel extra special on our very special day. We would highly recommend a stay/ function at the Beechwood Close and we will look forward to dining there in the future!!!
Thank you all once again for your help, welcome and hospitality.
Emily and Isaac Wilkinson.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EDub82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed here for three nights as was attending a wedding reception on the Saturday. Had a fantastic time at a really good deal. Room was spotless, very modern including hairdryer, iron and ironing board, flat screen TV. The staff are a credit to the hotel, they were so polite and work really hard. Food was lovely and plentiful. Hotel has a friendly family feel to it. I would definitely stay again if visiting York in the future. Thank you Beechwood Close :-)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
1.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,144 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#41 of 47 in York
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
1.5 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#47 of 47 in York
1,202 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Close Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Close Hotel

Address: 19 Shipton Road, Clifton, York YO30 5RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range: £46 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechwood Close Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planning a visit to York? Whether it's for business, renowned retail therapy or sightseeing, the family-run Beechwood Close Hotel is the perfect location for your stay. Just a 20 minute walk from the historic city centre, with frequent bus services outside the door and the railway station easily accessible, the Beechwood Close Hotel is set in attractive gardens in the charming Clifton area. Individual and independent, the hotel has 14 comfortable and well-appointed en-suite bedrooms including singles, twins, doubles and family rooms. All have digital flat-screen televisions with Freeview, hairdryer, iron and ironing board and a well-stocked hospitality tray. There's free wi-fi and plenty of complimentary parking for guests, a cheerful bar and a licensed restaurant, offering a wide choice of dishes with a modern British twist. A warm welcome awaits at this family and pet-friendly hotel and husband and wife team Wayne and Clare McLeod, both York born and bred, are ideally placed to offer guests real insider knowledge about their stay in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Beechwood Close Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Close York
Beechwood Close Hotel York/Clifton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing