We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely quiet b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beechwood Close Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“lovely quiet b&b”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have just had a long weekend at the Beechwood and would highly recommend, although it is on the outskirts of the city, it is a steady 30 min walk along the flat or the bus stop is close by and just £1.40 one way to the city centre per adult and runs every couple of minutes, and being outside the hussle and bustle the hotel is quiet and has lovely gardens surrounding it and a lovely park very close by. The hotel is very clean and helpfull friendly staff, the rooms are comfy and lovely soft and very large towels, much nicer than many top name hotels we have stayed. The food is also very good, we had evening meal at the hotel twice, very good choice on the menu and the food was freshly cooked, large portions and the same for the breakfast, excellent choice of cooked breakfast, all cooked to order and always fresh fruit, yoghurt, juice and cereal, could not ask for more.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clarky395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    123
    49
    30
    32
See reviews for
86
179
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rickmansworth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This bed and breakfast has amazingly comfortable beds, they are definitely NOT cheap mattresses. The towls supplied were large and soft and certainly good quality.
These days most companies try and cut cost and quality gets compromised but I was so impressed with the quality.
Service was good and breakfast was lovely.
I could not recommended this bed and breakfast enough.
The only downside is that it is slightly on the outskirsts of town and not particularly walking distance (unless your wearing trainers)
Only cost £5 in taxi to get to town.
Lovely B+B
Good quality
Good value

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birchy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARBROATH
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Having read the reviews of fellow advisors we were expecting a warm welcome, this turned out not to be the case. We were kept waiting whilst she finished her private phone call, when questioned about the need to take a copy of a credit card, she informed us that this was because when people trash the room the hotel is able to re-coup the cost of the damages. We also asked about bus times/prices into the city, she did not use the bus was the response so could not help us. We also asked if we could take a drink from the bar, she grunted and went of to get another member of staff to assist us. It was like we were imposing on her, this lady should no be in the front of house.
What a difference when we went to check out, there was another member of staff on duty, bright, cheerful, happy to help, what a joy, nothing was to much trouble. Other members of staff along with the owner were also more than happy to help, nothing to much trouble and very friendly.
Our room whilst slightly on the small side was clean and comfortable and our breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WELSHMAN50Arbroath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilsby, Rugby. United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Visited this hotel on a three-day KGB deal. Our welcome on arrival was very good even though the hotel was going full tilt with Sunday lunches! Our room was very clean, light and airy with a lovely king-sized bed.
Breakfast was superb and The Full Monty really was just that! Everything just as I like it. The hotel website said it was walking distance from York city centre so we walked. It was a pleasant walk.
Dinner the next evening was also superb. Their fish and chips was wonderful.
We found out later that the hotel had had a terrible bereavement a few days prior to our arrival but everyone carried on as normal and the smiles were bright and genuine. Many thanks to all the staff esp Mark who made our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Had lovely stay for two nights nothing was to much trouble for Marc the bar man, food was lovely rooms was clean and tidy and it was a lovely walk into York! Really enjoyed the stay and will sure be back when re visiting York! Recommend sure for the price!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york ,england
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We are a local family who booked for an evening meal. The meal itself was average, but on returning home we noticed some damage to our car which can only have been caused at the hotel car park. I contacted the hotel twice the following day to try and view the CCTV which they have overlooking the car park. Despite an assurance that somebody would contact me it took another telephone call from myself to the hotel to get an answer. Surprise surprise the hard drive on the CCTV was not working. So beware when parking your pride and joy in the car park that if you are unfortunate enough to have somebody drive into your car and drive off there will be no help from the hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank redsx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beechwoodclose, Manager at Beechwood Close Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Due to a family bereavement we have not been functioning to our usual high standard at the hotel. I can only apologies i didn't get back to you sooner. As you can imagine the passing of my dear father was more important the someones pride and joy of a car!!!!!! There is a large sign in our car park stating we don't take responsibilty for the loss or damage of any property, this includes cars!!! I spoke with you personally and although I tried to retrieve the video footage unknown to myslef our hard drive had broken sometime in the past week. Sometimes things happen this was completely out of our control!!!! I don't agree with the statement you made about our food been only average, Our food is some of the best in York!!! Always home cooked and fresh local ingredients!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a single night and we were surprised to see such unfair reviews of the place on this site. Unfortunately there are people out there who purposely look for flaws and then exaggerate them in order to satisfy their meaningless lives.

That said, here os my review;

The truth is that this hotel is excellent, the rooms were spotless and the staff very welcoming. You can't fault the price either as it is situated about 1.5 miles from York Minster / city centre and the walk is rather pleasant. Other city centre hotels are a lot more expensive. A taxi ride from the train station will set you back around £5-£6 or a mere £1.75 on the bus, for the drivers the hotel boasts a free car park.

I would recommend this hotel to others, if you're like us and spend the entire day and evening exploring this beautiful city then this is a great place to stay. I will definitely come again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Splintaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
1.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,072 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Close Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Close Hotel

Property: Beechwood Close Hotel
Address: 19 Shipton Road, Clifton, York YO30 5RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechwood Close Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planning a visit to York? Whether it's for business, renowned retail therapy or sightseeing, the family-run Beechwood Close Hotel is the perfect location for your stay. Just a 20 minute walk from the historic city centre, with frequent bus services outside the door and the railway station easily accessible, the Beechwood Close Hotel is set in attractive gardens in the charming Clifton area. Individual and independent, the hotel has 14 comfortable and well-appointed en-suite bedrooms including singles, twins, doubles and family rooms. All have digital flat-screen televisions with Freeview, hairdryer, iron and ironing board and a well-stocked hospitality tray. There's free wi-fi and plenty of complimentary parking for guests, a cheerful bar and a licensed restaurant, offering a wide choice of dishes with a modern British twist. A warm welcome awaits at this family and pet-friendly hotel and husband and wife team Wayne and Clare McLeod, both York born and bred, are ideally placed to offer guests real insider knowledge about their stay in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Beechwood Close Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Close York
Beechwood Close Hotel York/Clifton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing