We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to Stay in York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beechwood Close Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just returned from a short break at the Beechwood Close Hotel with my daughter. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel as the staff were extremely polite and helpful and the room was kept clean. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast very good with a great choice and offer of extra toast if required.

Although a wee bit out of town the peace and quiet were a bonus and the walk through the beautifully kept park behind the hotel to go into York (which we did every day) was a great way to go to get away from the traffic.

Would stay again in a heartbeat and will come back soon with my husband to show him the delights of York etc.

Fran and Frances from Buckhaven

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FrancesEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for Beechwood Close Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at the Beechwood Close Hotel as we had a family wedding to attend in York. The staff could not be more helpful prior to our stay as we asked if it would be possible to arrive a bit earlier than advertised (it was) & for a taxi to be booked (they did). Arrived at the hotel at 11 & our rooms were ready so we coul get changed into our wedding gear, lovely light clean rooms, first impressions very good. Taxi arrived as requested (cheap compared to Worcester) and off to the wedding we went. On our return, a nightcap was called for at the bar & we chatted to some locals who made us very welcome. My daughter discovered her lights weren't working in her room but this was immediately fixed as soon as we reported it ( a fuse had blown). A good, if short, sleep was had & the bed was very comfortable & the shower was effective in waking us up. Breakfast was one of the best we have ever had, great choice & it was cooked fresh to order, just what we needed to set us up for the journey home. Many thanks to all the staff at the Beechwood Close Hotel, we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3Parrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I've had Sunday lunch here many times. Tonight I had dinner with my dad. It was fantastic. A real surprise. My dad had carrot and coriander soup, which was home made and yummy. I had tempura prawns and salad. The prawns were light and crisp and the salad fresh and chilled. We both had sea bass with olives and chorizo with fresh vegetables. Perfect considering we were alone in the restaurant which seemed a shame when the food is so good. There was a private meeting in another room . The staff were attentive and friendly. Many have Sunday lunch here I would urge them to try dinner during the week, it really was the best food I've had in a while. I do eat out a lot. This beat anything I've had recently :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Just spent 3 very pleasurable nights at the Beechwood Close lovely clean room with comfy beds, breakfast choice more than ample ate there in the evening too good choice on the menu freshly cooked good sized portions for a fair price staff pleasant and helpful, will be back in the future well done the beechwood team keep up the good work .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mkelly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have just had a long weekend at the Beechwood and would highly recommend, although it is on the outskirts of the city, it is a steady 30 min walk along the flat or the bus stop is close by and just £1.40 one way to the city centre per adult and runs every couple of minutes, and being outside the hussle and bustle the hotel is quiet and has lovely gardens surrounding it and a lovely park very close by. The hotel is very clean and helpfull friendly staff, the rooms are comfy and lovely soft and very large towels, much nicer than many top name hotels we have stayed. The food is also very good, we had evening meal at the hotel twice, very good choice on the menu and the food was freshly cooked, large portions and the same for the breakfast, excellent choice of cooked breakfast, all cooked to order and always fresh fruit, yoghurt, juice and cereal, could not ask for more.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clarky395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This bed and breakfast has amazingly comfortable beds, they are definitely NOT cheap mattresses. The towls supplied were large and soft and certainly good quality.
These days most companies try and cut cost and quality gets compromised but I was so impressed with the quality.
Service was good and breakfast was lovely.
I could not recommended this bed and breakfast enough.
The only downside is that it is slightly on the outskirsts of town and not particularly walking distance (unless your wearing trainers)
Only cost £5 in taxi to get to town.
Lovely B+B
Good quality
Good value

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birchy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Having read the reviews of fellow advisors we were expecting a warm welcome, this turned out not to be the case. We were kept waiting whilst she finished her private phone call, when questioned about the need to take a copy of a credit card, she informed us that this was because when people trash the room the hotel is able to re-coup the cost of the damages. We also asked about bus times/prices into the city, she did not use the bus was the response so could not help us. We also asked if we could take a drink from the bar, she grunted and went of to get another member of staff to assist us. It was like we were imposing on her, this lady should no be in the front of house.
What a difference when we went to check out, there was another member of staff on duty, bright, cheerful, happy to help, what a joy, nothing was to much trouble. Other members of staff along with the owner were also more than happy to help, nothing to much trouble and very friendly.
Our room whilst slightly on the small side was clean and comfortable and our breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WELSHMAN50Arbroath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
0.8 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,114 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.9 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#47 of 47 in York
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
1.3 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#40 of 47 in York
667 reviews
2.1 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Close Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Close Hotel

Address: 19 Shipton Road, Clifton, York YO30 5RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clifton
Price Range: £45 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechwood Close Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planning a visit to York? Whether it's for business, renowned retail therapy or sightseeing, the family-run Beechwood Close Hotel is the perfect location for your stay. Just a 20 minute walk from the historic city centre, with frequent bus services outside the door and the railway station easily accessible, the Beechwood Close Hotel is set in attractive gardens in the charming Clifton area. Individual and independent, the hotel has 14 comfortable and well-appointed en-suite bedrooms including singles, twins, doubles and family rooms. All have digital flat-screen televisions with Freeview, hairdryer, iron and ironing board and a well-stocked hospitality tray. There's free wi-fi and plenty of complimentary parking for guests, a cheerful bar and a licensed restaurant, offering a wide choice of dishes with a modern British twist. A warm welcome awaits at this family and pet-friendly hotel and husband and wife team Wayne and Clare McLeod, both York born and bred, are ideally placed to offer guests real insider knowledge about their stay in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beechwood Close Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Close York
Beechwood Close Hotel York/Clifton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing