We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic price, quality and bike shed.”
Review of YHA York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YHA York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The refurbished York Hostel is fantastic. Great food, price, quality, location and of course bike shed.

The bar could do with some draft bitter and not just lager, but that's about the only thing that could be better.

The breakfasts are fantastic, very helpful staff

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hill-Special
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thanks for a cracking review... With a number of keen cyclists working here we made sure that as a part of our recent refurbishment the all important bike shed got a make over too :)

Whilst we dont currently offer draft ale on tap at the bar we do have a range of localy brewed bottled beers.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for YHA York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

I've stayed in a couple of the YHAs now but this one is by far the best! The staff were friendly and helpful. The new refurb means that the decor is modern, clean and bright. It's also only about £5 in a taxi or a nice walk along the river into the centre of York. There's also a decent bus route!

We were a group of all girls and were given two rooms on one wing of the hostel. Both rooms were comfortable and had a ensuite with a wetroom. The kitchen is a nice size and the relaxed atmosphere was amazing - crawling in at 2am to have a cuppa and some toast was a godsend.
We stayed for 2 nights and it was so much more relaxed and welcoming and also nicer than many of the hotels and B&Bs I've stayed in over the years.

The bar stays open till late and the food smelt amazing. We only had one meal and that was a fry up breakfast on the Sunday morning. For £4.99 it was really good - full english buffet plus breads, toast, jam and unlimited tea, coffee and juices. Very nice.

Couldn't have been happier and will definitely be booking for weekends in York again!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Wow... 'Couldnt have been happier' Thanks for taking the time to write such an amazing review of your stay at YHA York :) We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night to attend York races. Great value for the busiest race week of the year. Well located, a short stroll down the river to the city centre. Immaculate after recent refurb and the staff are very good. Breakfast well worth the extra £5. Would prefer twin or double beds in the private room, rather than a bunk, but that is a minor gripe.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PSMYTHMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Many thanks for writing a fantastic review of your stay at YHA York. We are really pleased you enjoyed the race weekend and hope to see you again next year :)

Kind regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed 24-26th August '13. Excellent location, just a 15 minute stroll from the centre of York, along the riverside path. Easy access by road - avoiding the necessity to negotiate the city centre itself.
Entrance to reception is a stunning, modern, glass-fronted extension that contrasts with the older facade of the main building. Our room was spotlessly clean with a well designed wetroom-style en-suite.
Excellent shared facilities along with a well-stocked bar.
A major plus, compared with many YHAs, is the 24 hour access. We cycled to the hostel and were able to store our tandem and use changing facilities hours before our room was ready for occupation. Similarly on departure, we checked out at 10a.m. but were able to leave our bike in storage until after 3p.m.
Staff are very polite and friendly, always asking if there is anything else they can help you with.
Excellent all round!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

'Excellent all round' Wow... What an amazing review! I have shared your kind words with all the team at YHA York and we are really pleased you had such a great stay.

We hope to see you again soon :)

Kind regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

This week (22nd-24th august'13) along with some friends, we stayed at the YHA in clifton, york. As we were in york for work we decided to book rooms of 4 sharing. The room I stayed in had 2 sets of bunk beds for 4 people. The room was en-suite with a lovely shower. The bedding was a spotless with nice green covers & was plenty of wardrobe space for clothes etc. The reception is really gud & hire out many things including towels. Breakfast is £4.99 for a cooked breakfast, cereals, toasts, danish pastries, fruits, yogurts & teas, coffees etc. All nicely cooked & enjoyable. Is only a 10 minute walk into york city centre or £6 in a taxi. Whether its business or pleasure, if your off to visit york then booking a room at the yha clifton I can highly recommend. Thank you to all the lovely friend staff esp the guy who made myself & husband a coffee in the lounge at 2am on Friday mornin, excellent customer service & such a friendly and inviting atmosphere. We will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kirsty w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thanks for a great review of your stay at YHA York. We are really pleased you found your room comfortable and the breakfast to be a good standard. I will make a point of sharing your review and kind comments with the night staff the night staff who made you coffee at 2am :)

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

kind regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed at York YHA as a family a few years back, and liked it then, so decided to stay again on our trip to York this past weekend, the refub is fantatsic, lovely clean, and contemporary looking. However, I think that withthe refurbs they have lost alot of the family element. As the TV room is now tiny, and the facilities they had for children are non existent anymore. Also the pool room only has one snooker table now which is a shame.

The ensuite family rooms have also lost out on space and no longer have a TV, which is a shame as the main TV room is too small to accommodate for the amount of people that stay at the hostel.

I was also dissapointed that although it states that they do not take booking from all male or female groups etc, on our first night either side of me was just this, all drunk making tonnes of noise, which was very dissapointing.

However the location, friendlyness of staff, cleanliness and other facilities does make up for this.

All in all we had a great stay, and have booke to go back again for the Christmas Market in December

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thanks for a fabulous review, we are really pleased that you like the refurb and that you had a great stay.

Having only been open for a few months now since the extensive refurbishment, we are still working on some of the important details that make the YHA York a great place to stay for all our guests. Having listened to feedback from our guests this summer we decided to open up the Harris Room (opposite the self catering kitchen) to be used as a TV room. As well as the pool table, for the kids we have invested in a whole load of brand new board games which have proved very popular over the last few weeks.

YHA is open to all and actively promotes the use of hostels to young people. Occasionally we do have groups of young people who are looking to go for a night out in York and we do our best to manage this through careful room allocation and by having staff working 24hours a day conducting regular tours of the building to ensure all guests keep noise to a minimum after 11pm.

We are really pleased that overall you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in December for your trip to the Christmas markets :)

Kind regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Have stayed here twice before. The refurb is lovely. Nice modern clean rooms. Ensuite available. Cheap bar prices. Good quality hot drinks on sale and not too expensive. Staff very helpful and professional as always. But that horrid menu persists, poor quality food. Pizza like cardboard, chewy Lasagne. Where are the healthy options? We don't all want junk style food, deep fried everything with chips, burgers etc? Big Salads please.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher E, Manager at YHA York, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a fantastic review of your stay at YHA York, we are really pleased that you like the refurb and enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your feedback on the menu, whilst our food has been really popular with our guests we recognise that it doesn't really have that many healthy options at present. In response to your feedback we have just this week started to offer some more healthy specials in addition to our regular menu.

We hope to see you again soon :)

Kind regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
2.1 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
1.5 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA York

Address: 42 Water End, Clifton, York YO30 6LP, England (Formerly York International Youth Hostel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Clifton
Price Range: £23 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA York 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
York is soaked in history and packed with fantastic attractions. The Romans, Anglo-Saxons, Vikings and Normans have all left their mark. Our newly refurbished YHA provides superb modern accommodation within walking distance of the city centre, making it the ideal base for exploring this very special City. YHA York at a glance: Free Wi-Fi in social areas at YHA York! £2 million renovation Walking distance of the city centre New cafe bar 32 rooms with en suites State-of-the-art seminar/education facilities As part of our refurbishment, YHA York now boasts a large number of new en-suite bedrooms, a cafe bar with garden views and meeting/activity rooms. So, whether you're looking for a cheap weekend break, a bed for a night or a family getaway, YHA York has everything you need! This hostel provides disabled access and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your YHA York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York International Youth Hotel Clifton
YHA York Clifton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing