We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost everything you need for a good hostel stay”
Review of YHA York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA York
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Almost everything you need for a good hostel stay”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

The reason I say almost is because the wifi is nkt free and while the property is wonderful and not at all in a bad location, it is further from the city center and train/bus stations then other accomodations. However the rooms are clean and spacious and it has one of the best hostel kitchens I've ever used!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of YHA York. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    141
    37
    5
    7
See reviews for
85
38
46
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a suite when we visited York during half term, we had our own shower room and washroom\toilet.
We have 3 children aged 3, 6 and 8, and they had bunk beds, which they loved.
It was a nice 10 minute walk down the riverbank to the city centre, a lot of people say the hotel is too far away from the city but it really isn't, if you have trouble with mobility then maybe it is a bit of a stretch.
The room was clean, quiet suited our needs.
The bar area is manned 24 hours, you can get coffees as well as alcohol.
The food was good and we had a buffet breakfast with a really good selection of cold and hot food.
It was a well furnished accommodation, and really contemporary, great for everyone and cheap as chips.
If you are a snob and used to staying in top hotels then it probably won't be for you, but if you want to be comfortable and stay somewhere clean then it's a gem.
Plus the staff there are lovely, there was a young girl working on the front desk, ( she had a nose piercing and was in her late teens, early 20's, just in case someone reads this), she was a lovely girl who chatted to us all and made us feel really welcome and comfortable.
Will defo stay again, as we visit York at least once a year.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you taking the time to let us knwo about your stay at YHA York. I am so pleased you and the family had such an enjoyable time - the children look very snug! We look forward to seeing you all again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The quadruple room was clean. The beds were comfortable. The ensuite bathroom was small. No soap, shampoo or towel is provided. There was some noise, as if the room were located over a noisy machine, which made it a bit difficult to sleep. There was a problem with heating. The staff were helpful though, providing a portable heater.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review YHA York. We are sorry that your experience of YHA York wasn’t a very positive one. We really appreciate all customer feedback to help us review our service and give us direction as to where improvements can be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Having found it near impossible to book anywhere in York for one night we booked the YHA. I must admit we were very impressed. It was very clean and only a small walk (10 minutes) into the center or a £7 taxi. If you are looking for somewhere clean and central then this is perfect. If you are looking for soemwhere flash then you are looking at the wrong place as this is not that. The breakfast was also fine, for the money and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyndlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us now about your recent stay at YHA York. We are so pleased to hear you had such a good time and hope you enjoyed exploring York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Very disappointing had read good reviews so was expecting better! Very cold in public areas room was very cold could not turn the radiator on were disturbed in the night by drunks banging on the door very noisy in the corridor outside. The breakfast was terrible, the juice was watered down so much it could hardly be classed as juice, hash browns were vile sausage was disgusting the toast was burnt what bit there was and when we asked for more we were told there was no more, hardly any coffee left only got half a cup which was stone cold only good bit was the croissant for £5 its a rip off! The fire alarm went off twice during breakfast we were then chastised by reception for checking out late hardly our fault! Would much rather stay in a warm comfortable welcoming premier inn with a good breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tizwazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review YHA York. We are sorry that your experience of YHA York wasn’t a very positive one. We really appreciate all customer feedback to help us review our service and give us direction as to where improvements can be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Had a room for 3 adults, room very clean, unfortunately nowhere to sit except on beds, heating did not work over a 2 day stay even after reporting it 3 times. Room very cold, especially for people not used to cold weather.
Exhaust fan in shower kept switching on and off for 30 minutes after shower was empty.
Quite noisy people staying in adjacent rooms, heard the doors slam 19 times in about 5 minutes.
Next time will stay in a hotel or B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredoz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review YHA York. We are sorry that your experience of YHA York wasn’t a very positive one. We really appreciate all customer feedback to help us review our service and give us direction as to where improvements can be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Accommodation
It is not easy booking accommodation, food and storage for 80+ cyclists, but the YHA at York hit the spot. The YHA has just had a refurbishment that cost over £1 million and it showed. The YHA is situated in extensive grounds with loads of parking and about a mile away from the centre of York. The reception/eating/meeting area is a large, light area with loads of natural light coming through the floor to ceiling windows. However, it was quite hot even with the windows open. They also have a games room which also has a couple of computers. They also have WI-FI and as we have a group membership it is free to use. The bar prices are very reasonable as well and they stock local ales, which was a hit with most of the male cyclists. Rooms are also large with the standard YHA Bunk Beds in the rooms. My room was in the annex and accommodated 4 people and also had an en-suite and separate toilet. Not all rooms are en-suite and share a shower and toilet between rooms. There is a small kitchen in the annex so you can make a hot drink if required. The main self catering kitchen is situated in the main building and is well equipped with two full kitchen. It also has loads of cooking utensils and crockery. We only used the kitchen for hot drinks before, during and after the cycling event as we had opted for the breakfast and dinner option. Which I will come to in a sec. we did have a few issues with the accommodation, such as lights not working in the en-suite and not being able to close the windows, but once the staff had been made aware of the problems they fixed them immediately. The shower was amazing, even better than the 4 star hotel we stayed in on the Saturday night. See post "Chillax after cycle enduro" I would definitely stay here again.
Food
The meal on our first night-Thursday consisted of salad, carrot soup(which was gorgeous) Mains- Pasta, bolognaise, baked potato and a vegi option. Pudding was rice pudding with apple and cinnamon. I am not a fan of rice pudding and asked if there was an alternative- The chef found me some lovely chocolate cake. He apologised as it had not been frosted. I think he had only just made it. Frosting or not, it did not tough the sides.
The main course on the Friday was just as well cooked and flavoured and again the sweet had a chocolate theme.
Breakfast- Breakfast on Friday morning was hectic to say the least. There was only one girl(Sam) serving 80+ cyclist, all wanting to be fed at 7.30 as the enduro started at 8.30. The tea and coffee kept running out as she could not keep up with the demands of our party, but this is no fault of hers as she was on her own trying to make sure we were fed and watered. (Staff had let her down). I must say she did a sterling job and always with a smile on her face. The food again was really nicely cooked and not greasy. Breakfast on the Saturday was a more relaxed affair as we did not all need feeding at once.
Seating Arrangements- I was a little disappointed on Friday night to discover that half of the dining room had been locked and we could not use it. On speaking to Andrew, he advised me that it had been booked for a private party and had been paid for. I had 80+ hungry and tired cyclist to get fed and watered and as half of the dining room was out of bounds it was difficult as most could not find a seat. a few of them did wander in to the out of bounds area and I was asked to speak to them. I do think the YHA should not have done this, but the situation was handled well by the staff. a compromise was found. All in all a reasonably happy bunch of cyclists.
Beware- We did have a car broken in to and 2 bikes were stolen and all of the cars did have their windows wiped as if they had been looking for other stuff. It was all on CCCTV, but they could not compete in the event

Room Tip: Don't leave valuables in the car. Ask for rooms in the annex they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Botica1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria P, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you very much for the great review. We are glad that you were so pleased with the team and the service you have received. Hopefully we will see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
2.1 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,089 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Novotel York Centre
1.9 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA York

Property: YHA York
Address: 42 Water End, Clifton, York YO30 6LP, England (Formerly York International Youth Hostel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA York 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
York is soaked in history and packed with fantastic attractions. The Romans, Anglo-Saxons, Vikings and Normans have all left their mark. Our newly refurbished YHA provides superb modern accommodation within walking distance of the city centre, making it the ideal base for exploring this very special City. YHA York at a glance: Free Wi-Fi in social areas at YHA York! £2 million renovation Walking distance of the city centre New cafe bar 32 rooms with en suites State-of-the-art seminar/education facilities As part of our refurbishment, YHA York now boasts a large number of new en-suite bedrooms, a cafe bar with garden views and meeting/activity rooms. So, whether you're looking for a cheap weekend break, a bed for a night or a family getaway, YHA York has everything you need! This hostel provides disabled access and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your YHA York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York International Youth Hotel Clifton
YHA York Clifton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing