We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel few niggles ”
Review of YHA York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA York
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hostel few niggles ”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

This hostel is a great place for families. We stayed in a family room with our two young kids. They loved the bunk beds. Clean and tidy with toys in the cafe for the kids and reasonably priced very good quality food. My niggles are small but as others have experienced the fire alarm went of about 6pm. It seems that steam sets of the alarm(from notices on doors to showers). Why that would be I have no idea. There is no public baby changing facilities, but that could easily be rectified by putting a fold out changing table in the disabled toilet. We would certainly go back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tnp75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAYorkManager, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are always looking at ways we can improve our service so thank you for the recommendations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    127
    36
    5
    7
See reviews for
73
34
45
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Beautiful youth hostel.
Our bedroom was immaculate. Everything was such good value for money. With every adult meal children eat free. There's a bar and the drinks are reasonably priced.
It's a short walk from the town or a 5 minute bus journey.
The people who work there are friendly and helpful. We will be returning very soon.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deliasmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAYorkManager, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
What a great review, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My husband, teenage son and I stayed here for one night in a family room. The room itself was spotlessly clean, the bed linen was fresh and the bunk-beds were very sturdy and comfortable. Each bed also had its own plug socket, small shelf and light, which were was convenient for charging phone overnight. The YHA communal areas were very modern and clean and the reception staff were extremely helpful and also knowledgeable of the area. The YHA is located about a 15 minute walk along the river from the centre of York. We walked it several times, as the weather was lovely but at night we opted for a taxi which cost £4.50 (cheaper than the bus for 3). In the evening, we only ate a bowl of nachos (very nice), before going into York for our main meal but all the food looked very good and was very reasonably priced. The YHA was very busy in the evening but we were not at all disturbed during the night. Unfortunately, the fire alarm went off at 7 am - not the lie-in we were expecting! Got to breakfast quite late, so had to wait a few minutes for some items from the cooked breakfast selection to be replenished but it was good value, at under a fiver per person. This included unlimited tea/coffee. All in all would highly recommend an overnight stay here and will definitely use other YHA accommodation in the future!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKW18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAYorkManager, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review YHA York. We are really pleased you had such a great time; if you are going to use YHA's regularly it would be really beneficial to sign up to the membership to get discounts on future stays plus lots of other great deals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed here about eight hours on 12 January 2014. My visit was short but nice. I was in a courtyard room on my own. I had a nice loo and a shower. The beds were comfortable and come with individual reading lights. The kitchen is nice. The staff were helpful when I lost my key card to the room. It was found in the kitchen. I also liked the close distance to a foot path. The lounge was also very nice. There is also a bus stop across the road.
I would say this is a nice place to stay.
I would have stayed longer. The reason is that a friend invited me to stay with her. She came to collect me that same evening.
Yours truly,
Cate

Room Tip: I liked the court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAYorkManager, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
A short but sweet stay! thank you for the great review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Really impressed! Friendly staff and lovely rooms beds were very comfortable couldn't fault it. Didn't have any food so can't comment on that showers were. Lovely and hot and powerful and the whole place was immaculate!! Will defiantly be coming back. Would only say. A coat hanger or a few would be ideal in each room

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAYorkManager, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thanks for telling us about your stay at YHA York. We are glad you had such a great experience. Next time you visit you must try our new metro menu! Look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We chose to stay in the hostel as part of a weekend celebrating my birthday with a group of 8 friends. We chose two separate rooms that slept 4 with two bunk beds! Rooms were very clean and comfortable. The whole hostel has been refurbished and has excellent facilities. Great location a brisk 10 minute walk along the river to the middle of York

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aneur46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The York YHA was highly recommended and certainly didn't disappoint. Very modern, well set out with very functional accommodation and a very good café serving breakfasts. All the staff were very keen enthusiastic and so helpful. Budget accommodation I will definitely be using again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAYorkManager, Manager at YHA York, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thanks for spreading the great word about YHA York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
2.1 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.2 mi away
Beechwood Close Hotel
Beechwood Close Hotel
#2 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA York

Property: YHA York
Address: 42 Water End, Clifton, York YO30 6LP, England (Formerly York International Youth Hostel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA York 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
York is soaked in history and packed with fantastic attractions. The Romans, Anglo-Saxons, Vikings and Normans have all left their mark. Our newly refurbished YHA provides superb modern accommodation within walking distance of the city centre, making it the ideal base for exploring this very special City. YHA York at a glance: Free Wi-Fi in social areas at YHA York! £2 million renovation Walking distance of the city centre New cafe bar 32 rooms with en suites State-of-the-art seminar/education facilities As part of our refurbishment, YHA York now boasts a large number of new en-suite bedrooms, a cafe bar with garden views and meeting/activity rooms. So, whether you're looking for a cheap weekend break, a bed for a night or a family getaway, YHA York has everything you need! This hostel provides disabled access and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your YHA York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York International Youth Hotel Clifton
YHA York Clifton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing