We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vineyard tour and tasting with lunch for two”

Carr Taylor Vineyard
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Westfield
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vineyard tour and tasting with lunch for two”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were very disappointed with the tour and tasting. The tour lasted too long. We did expect to taste wine but because of the poor harvest last year there wasn't any. We tried two sparkling wines and some really sweet wine. The buffet was nice. Nice time we go somewhere we will read tripadvisor first.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    99
    21
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sour Grapes..!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just come back form a weekend in Hastings, where we stayed in a B&B so we could fully enjoy a days wine tasting at Carr Taylor. B&B cost £100 a night for 2 people, taxi there and back cost £25, not to mention the actual cost of the wine tasting, and I wish I had just gone to my local!

There was hardly any variety of wine to taste (SOLD OUT - bad harvest last year; although if they offer wine tasting throughout the year, you would assume they would ensure they held enough back!!)
The glasses were dirty and were not changed between tasting samples and the measures of all five samples we were offered, hardly amounted to a small glass of wine in total.

The guides "chat" was, as stated in another review, not entirely appropriate but did his best to entertain. Having never been on a wine tour, I wasn't sure what to expect, but in the guides own words "its not exactly palatial"; in fact the place is a health and safety nightmare!

Would NOT recommend!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 123MJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southsea, Hampshire, England.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The staff were very friendly, but found the guide's comments a little bit racist and sexist at times. The first thing he said was that the excursion was not a wine tasting visit but a wine tour and proceeded to say that there was no wine except fruit wines and sparkling wine. It actually states that the excursion is wine tasting on the voucher. We travelled 2.5 hours for this excursion and decided to stay overnight in case we drank too much wine - that's a joke! If we had known that there was so little wine we would have driven back home and saved the cost of the B&B.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A lovely interesting afternoon”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Four of us had a very interesting afternoon guided by Dave (with the hat) and were able to sample some lovely fruit wines. Owing to a universally poor harvest here and in Europe last year there were no regular wines available but, by 2014, I'm sure there will be. There is plenty of parking, the staff are very friendly and helpful. Dave is very knowledgeable and amusing. We learnt a great deal. Needless to say, this is a working vineyard so don't expect luxury surroundings but, if it's wine you're interested in, then this is a must visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mummybear1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“a pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This was a xmas gift for my wife and not really my bag at all. ,firstly I must say of the 4 vineyards included on the voucher Carr-Taylor were the most helpful and accommodating by a country mile. On arrival I was a little concerned by the apparent run down appearance of the premises. However, this was made up for the tour guide (the mad hatter) who was interesting and entertaining in his tour. The wine tasting itself was both pleasant and instructive. Lunch was both plentiful and tasty without being pretentious. Importantly we found the wine to very pleasant, and we were more than happy to buy ourselves half a dozen bottle of the white. All in all it was a pleasant surprise and a lovely way to spend a morning.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaulClaydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carr Taylor Vineyard also viewed

 
Bodiam, East Sussex
 

Been to Carr Taylor Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing