We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely! ”

Carr Taylor Vineyard
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Westfield
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Essex
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely! ”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile


We had a wonderful time visiting this family vineyard.
The tour was really good and interesting. Everyone was able to ask lots of questions which was good.
The wine tasting was good and most importantly the wine was fantastic!!

We was so impressed with lunch. They put on a delicious spread of cheeses, salad, pate and french bread and we had gorgeous weather so we were lucky to eat in the garden. Just glorious!
They gave you a glass of wine with your lunch which was nice and We also bought a couple of bottles extra to sit and enjoy in the sun.

This is still clearly a very family run establishment and the passion for their wine is very obvious.
I would highly recommend a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    93
    21
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"You heard it on the grape vine" - it was FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I won a quiz and my prize was a tour around Carr Taylor Vineyard, and what a prize it was.
It was such a lovely experience and we had such a great time. Our tour guide Rowland was lovely - a perfect host and was very clear with his tour. He answered all our questions with great depth and knowledge. The wine tasting was superb - we tried all the wines and were told everything we needed to know about them.

I would most definitely go back and take my family as it was such a fantastic experience.
It also helped that it was a beautiful sunny day and we got to sit in the court yard before and after surrounded by lovely surroundings. Thank you everyone at Carr Taylor and we will see you soon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Royah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A good day out”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Some friends and we went here yesterday with a Travelzoo voucher. It was a great day out - David our guide was friendly, very amusing, informative and full of knowledge about wine, tasting etc. He introduced us to his sight/sniff/slurp philosophy which worked well. There were 3 wines in the tasting, a white (1066) and two sparklers (Brut and Rose), as well as fruit wines. The buffet - with a glass of 1066 - was superb. If you want to see how quality English wine producers go about their business this is a trip to go on!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great tour including lunch”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Great guided tour with fun informative guide followed by tasting of 5 wines and wonderful buffet. A great way to spend a few hours. Small shop selling a variety of wines and other things. Really worth going to. Need to book in advance for tour and lunch. Would definitely recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kimbruce12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing wine tour and tasting”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were bought a buy-a-gift voucher for a vineyard tour, wine tasting and lunch and booked this at the Carr Taylor Vineyard near Hastings.

We were very disappointed with the tour and wine tasting. The tour consisted of the pointing out of two different vineyards and standing next to some wine vats. The tour guide did not seem to know much and could not answer any of the questions that other people on our tour asked (questions that were later answered by a lady working in the shop).

The wine tasting was very poor – we thought we were going to come away with a knowledge of different wines, however, no information was provided regarding the wine we tasted. Due to there being bad weather for grapes last year there was no still white wine available, and so all there was to taste was a Rose ‘champagne’ (which was very nice and we bought some) and we were then given a choice of one of two fruit wines, the sample of which was poured straight into the same glass.

The ploughman’s lunch was very nice, although the small glass of wine we got with the lunch was barely drinkable, and was poured from a bottle with no label.

All the vineyard buildings looked very sad and scruffy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark and Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carr Taylor Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Carr Taylor Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing