We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant outing”

Carr Taylor Vineyard
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Westfield
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kent
Level Contributor
198 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Pleasant outing”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Let's face it 99% of the visitors on this tour either had a voucher or deal of some sort; I'd bet virtually nobody pays the full price themselves. As it is you get about an hour tour, which amounts to a few views over the vineyards with some chat about the varieties and growing methods, an overview of the bottling and other equipment and a talk on how the sparkling wine is made followed by a tasting of some of the products.

The wine is OK, but if it's wine you are after then the prices are a tad high for blends of somewhat obscure varietals. The lunch is a buffet style Ploughmans and so is as generous as you want. Even so at the height of summer I might have expected some strawberries as well.

So, for a deeply discounted day out you bought or as a gift it's OK, but the vineyard isn't the smartest (you'll have to travel a bit, maybe abroad for that), the wine isn't cheap but it's OK, and the food isn't exceptional.

We were pleaded enough to have received the tour as a gift, but had we paid full price I would have felt a bit short changed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Elliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    90
    21
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
435 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Fantastic Vineyard Tour with Excellent Guide and a Fab Lunch”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It was an absolute delight to take this walking tour around a working vineyard. It was like being transported back in time walking around the vines and through the buildings where the production and bottling takes place.

Our tour guide was "David With The Hat" and he made this tour so interesting imparting his knowledge and funny little stories. He made us all feel so welcome, it was almost like he was showing us around his own pride and joy!

The "tasting" of wines was very informative and it really has persuaded me to start buying English wine rather than imported. The sparkling wine is better than French Champagne any day of the week!! (Sorry if you're French)

We had a lunch booked at the vineyard on this tour and there was so much food that if you had a really good appetite you still wouldn't have run out of food. Delicious cheeses, pates, salads and French bread were washed down with the magnificent wines produced on site.

The vineyard shop is well stock not only with wine but superb conserves and many other edible delights.

Please go and enjoy the hospitality of this venue/attraction - you won't regret it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely! ”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile


We had a wonderful time visiting this family vineyard.
The tour was really good and interesting. Everyone was able to ask lots of questions which was good.
The wine tasting was good and most importantly the wine was fantastic!!

We was so impressed with lunch. They put on a delicious spread of cheeses, salad, pate and french bread and we had gorgeous weather so we were lucky to eat in the garden. Just glorious!
They gave you a glass of wine with your lunch which was nice and We also bought a couple of bottles extra to sit and enjoy in the sun.

This is still clearly a very family run establishment and the passion for their wine is very obvious.
I would highly recommend a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"You heard it on the grape vine" - it was FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I won a quiz and my prize was a tour around Carr Taylor Vineyard, and what a prize it was.
It was such a lovely experience and we had such a great time. Our tour guide Rowland was lovely - a perfect host and was very clear with his tour. He answered all our questions with great depth and knowledge. The wine tasting was superb - we tried all the wines and were told everything we needed to know about them.

I would most definitely go back and take my family as it was such a fantastic experience.
It also helped that it was a beautiful sunny day and we got to sit in the court yard before and after surrounded by lovely surroundings. Thank you everyone at Carr Taylor and we will see you soon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Royah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A good day out”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Some friends and we went here yesterday with a Travelzoo voucher. It was a great day out - David our guide was friendly, very amusing, informative and full of knowledge about wine, tasting etc. He introduced us to his sight/sniff/slurp philosophy which worked well. There were 3 wines in the tasting, a white (1066) and two sparklers (Brut and Rose), as well as fruit wines. The buffet - with a glass of 1066 - was superb. If you want to see how quality English wine producers go about their business this is a trip to go on!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carr Taylor Vineyard also viewed

 
Bodiam, East Sussex
 

Been to Carr Taylor Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing