We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistledown House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thistledown House B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

A fantastic little place stay with a range of different animals roaming around, including some hilarious runner ducks. Breakfast was available whenever we wanted and it was fantastic, best sausages in Yorkshire?

A friendly welcome and we were looked after from start to finish. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hertsfoodie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
80
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Warm welcome from Val, Glynn and Max ( the most beautiful ginger cat ). Lovely spotlessly clean bedroom and en-suite. Comfortable bed, best nights sleep I've had in ages. Breakfast was excellent, couldn't have wanted for more and cooked to perfection at whatever time we wanted. Would thoroughly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank millieKingsLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Nicely positioned near York the wonderful B and B has my highest regards.

Thę welcome was lovely (by the owners, the pigs, ducks, ostriches?, goats, dogs, the peacocks and the friendliest 3 legged cat in the world!!)

This will sound cheesy but this place is magical, it has such a welcoming aura and I only regret I couldn't stay another night


The only downside ( and I hope the owners read this, the place was so nice I felt like I didn't want to bring it up!!) was that the shower was slightly blocked from the previous tenants and the water rose slightly.


Put this aside though, I whole heatedly recommend this place :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maio84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Lovely, friendly welcome at this B n B! Set in beautiful surroundings with nice views. Breakfast was excellent, with choice of what we wanted and at what time! Rooms were of a high standard, very clean and beds were comfortable. Very handy for York City Centre, took us about 15minutes by car. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 61anon61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudenaarde, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

My wife and I only spent one night at Old Granary house, as a stop-over of our trip back home.
The warm welcome of Val and Glyn made us feel as if we were home already.
The room and bathroom were spacious and immaculate and giving a relaxing vintage feel.
Unfortunately since we had a ferry to catch we only had a short time to enjoy the breakfast which was beautifully cooked to order by Val.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Very cosy place always well maintained. Rooms small but very comfortable, the owners very friendly and helpful. Breakfast outstanding all ingredients bought from local farm shop and cooked to perfection. Nice location, half way between York and Harrogate . Great parking and lots of animals to make friends with.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Glyn and Val were perfect hosts for our week long stay. The granary is a beautiful building in a beautiful location. Our room was perfect in every way, immaculatley clean with a big comfortable bed. Plus Vals breakfasts are extremely tasty!! Excellent value for money - we would have expected to pay much more for a B&B of this high quality! Ideal location for exploring York and surrounding areas. We would highly recommend - Thank you so much guys for a lovely stay x

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onlymehete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Green Hammerton
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Wetherby
Days Inn Wetherby
#1 of 3 in Wetherby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Bridge Hotel and Spa
4.7 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
5.0 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Bay Horse Inn
The Bay Horse Inn
#2 of 2 in Green Hammerton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistledown House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistledown House B&B

Property: Thistledown House B&B
Address: Thistledown House Skipbridge Farm York Road | York Road, Green Hammerton YO26 8EZ, England (Formerly Old Granary House B&B)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Green Hammerton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Green Hammerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistledown House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Odigeo so you can book your Thistledown House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Granary House Bed And Breakfast
Old Granary House Hotel Green Hammerton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing