We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thistledown House B&B
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Noir(Clifton)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
129
21
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
129
21
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspark and ridethistledown houseblack labradorfriendly labradorchristmas shopping in yorkdelicious cooked breakfastfull english breakfastmr and mrswarm welcomestayed here for one nightbreakfast was amazinga wonderful staynothing too much troubleno hesitation in recommendingtattie sconewhen visiting yorkfamily room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Centrally located for York, Harrogate and Knaresborough, this Bed and Breakfast is ideal. We stayed here for visiting the Great Yorkshire Show 2013 so that we could be at the show early to miss the traffic! It is about a 15 minute drive to the showground from here. Accommodation is just what we needed, en suite, clean and tidy, with extras such as shower gel, tea, coffee and biscuits. Comfortable and cosy beds, and a fantastic breakfast. Highly Recommended! Ideally located just off the A59.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hruth25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My wife and I chose The Old Granary House as is was close to an event we were attending,
We were greeted by the owners Val and Glyn Wiggins to be shown to an excellent en-suite
room overlooking the lake. Glyn operated a very efficient Taxi service, while Val served us
with breakfast, all freshly cooked to our choice.This b and b is the only one we would choose
on our future visits to York.Well done to all concerned a the Old Granary.

Room Tip: All rooms offer excellent views etc.,
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianL655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

All I can say is that it's worth every penny. Val is a great hostess and without fail the b&b has a great location and top notch breakfast.
We stayed here while we visited York for the weekend. Parked our car and caught the train for £8 so good deal overall.
Room was just what we wanted and peace and quiet. Val always there if you need her.

We have zero bad points. I would stop here again if I visit the area.
Thanks val

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wozzer1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Old Granuary House because of not being able to get in for our 1st choice............boy! didn't we get the best deal.
Val & Glyn were fantastic; warm and friendly; extremely helpfull and knowledgable of the area.
Room was clean and comfortable; best night's sleep away from home ever.
Breakfast was superb with real country locally sourced materials...........delicious!!!!!!!!!
Nearly forgot the welcoming committee out in the paddocks..........Peacocks; Ducks; Donkies.....particulary "Wobbly"; 3 legged cat and a host of others............as animal lovers they made it all the more of a pleasurable stay.............we will be returning.

Thank you Val & Glyn

Room Tip: All the rooms have great outlooks.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We wanted a weekend in York in late September but the B and Bs in the town all seemed over priced for the location so we thought we'd be sacrificing location by staying 20 minutes out. This was not the case!
From the second we arrived we felt welcome and looked after. The owners had a lovely and extremely rare balance of being interested in us but knowing when to leave us be. They really could not do enough for us.
Rooms were clean, tidy, well decorated and well equipped and importantly, since we got our first frost that weekend, warm.
We came away with a very high opinion of Yorkshire hospitality and would definitely stay again if we're back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews