We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thistledown House B&B
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Having spent a night at the newly opened old granary which is now under new management ,we had a lovely room with a very nice breakfast tray a nice comfy bed, followed by a lovely breakfast we would gladly recommend it to others wanting a nice very welcoming place to stay. Mr and mrs Nixon will make you very welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elbowrubbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here on new years eve just to have a night away from home, it was lovely! The room was very 'shabby chic' in style and very clean. The breakfast was also lovely.
Val and Glynn made brilliant hosts with a good sense of humour.

On the night we ate at The Victoria and I would highly recommend it

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights october half term. 2 adults 1 child. Our room was very quirky, rustic but very comfortable. The beds and bedding were lovely quality. Breakfast was delicious. Val was most accomodating even when we made specific requests for breakfast on day 2.
The animals and bird life surrounding the property was a lovely suprise to see each morning.ie goats,donkeys,pigs,peacocks.
Many thanks to val and Glynn for a most welcoming stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainycity111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We only booked for 1 night as we were re-visiting the National Railway Museum but really wished we were staying for longer. The b & b is lovely and the delicious cooked breakfast kept us going for the rest of the day. Val and Glyn are very friendly and helpful. It is a short drive to Rawcliffe Bar Park & Ride, which is a quick and easy way to get into York and back. £2.60 return - Oct.2013) So much more we could have done in York given more time - a beautiful city to visit - plus many other places to get to from this b & b. Hope to go back again sometime.
Can highly recommend the carvery at the Anchor Inn at Whixley.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suffolkmawther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here overnight on our way further north. The Old Granary House provided great accommodation just a few miles outside York. Other reviewers have commented on the comfortable beds, and we would certainly agree with them. Hosts Val and Glen are warm and friendly and made us very welcome. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and superbly cooked. The B&B is adjacent to a Caravan Club site, which is very small and didn't disturb us at all. There's a quirky little 'shop' in the grounds full of all sorts of strange things. We also met the house pets - 2 lovely cats, one of which only has 3 legs but both love being made a fuss of, and a peahen with 2 chicks.

Room Tip: Our room opened onto the patio, which is an obvious congregating point for smokers (and late-night t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

This friendly B+B has the most comfortable beds, lovely clean comfy rooms in a rural setting. The owners are friendly and very empathic towards guests hospital visiting.
This is my second stay and I am not disappointed: it is as good as I remember

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanelizabethpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 days after our wedding - the hosts are lovely, breakfasts really good (though we didn't feel there was a great deal of choice - maybe by getting some bits written down it might make it clearer) and brilliantly located for York and Harrogate amongst others. Peaceful nights sleep. We stayed in the superior room, the only thing I would say is that staying in that room I'm not sure it is complete value for money at £95 a night, but I think we've been spoiled by other b&bs we've stayed at which are cheaper but go that little bit further.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjayco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Thistledown House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistledown House B&B

Address: Thistledown House Skipbridge Farm York Road | York Road, Green Hammerton YO26 8EZ, England (Formerly Old Granary House B&B)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Green Hammerton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Green Hammerton
Price Range: £68 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistledown House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Thistledown House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Granary House Hotel Green Hammerton
Old Granary House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing