We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property & lovely people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thistledown House B&B
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful property & lovely people”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A beautiful B & B in a unique setting with super friendly people. The breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day. Stayed for our wedding and had a lovey time. Brilliant for travel A1, Harrogate & York all with in easy reach. Very clean and accommodating. Would highly recommend and will visit again.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent according to your requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurlyShirls2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
83
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Under the new ownership and management of Eric and Lesley whose hospitality was excellent. I stayed in the large ground floor bedroom which had the most comfortable bed, French doors opening onto the gardens and a beautiful and very deep French bath. Suffice to stay I did not want to leave. I was made to feel very welcome and left with my next stay booked in my diary.
Thank you Eric and Lesley for making our stay perfect Julie B

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia4991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the Old Granary last week. Had a lovely stay under what I assume was the new management. A very welcoming place. Breakfast was excellent. Rooms were clean, tidy and very accommodating. Nice and close to York and Harrogate. I will definitely be revisiting.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AudreyCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericg97, Manager at Thistledown House B&B, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We thank you and indeed all the people who have given us a review since we started our business in April.
We could never have imagined the wonderful people we would meet and have the privilege to welcome into our home but a few months down the line we find ourselves in this happy situation.
It is made all the more special by being affiliated with Skipbridge Country Weddings which allows us to have wedding guests and enjoy the happiness that only weddings can bring.
We have one message for you....Haste ye back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My husband and I have just spent a long weekend at the newly opened old granary b&b which is under new management now. It was superb. The double room we stayed in was lovely and clean and had such a nice view and so nice and peaceful.There was a lovely tea and coffee tray in our room. The cooked breakfast was lovely. The new owners are such a nice couple and very friendly. I would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Having spent a night at the newly opened old granary which is now under new management ,we had a lovely room with a very nice breakfast tray a nice comfy bed, followed by a lovely breakfast we would gladly recommend it to others wanting a nice very welcoming place to stay. Mr and mrs Nixon will make you very welcome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elbowrubbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here on new years eve just to have a night away from home, it was lovely! The room was very 'shabby chic' in style and very clean. The breakfast was also lovely.
Val and Glynn made brilliant hosts with a good sense of humour.

On the night we ate at The Victoria and I would highly recommend it

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights october half term. 2 adults 1 child. Our room was very quirky, rustic but very comfortable. The beds and bedding were lovely quality. Breakfast was delicious. Val was most accomodating even when we made specific requests for breakfast on day 2.
The animals and bird life surrounding the property was a lovely suprise to see each morning.ie goats,donkeys,pigs,peacocks.
Many thanks to val and Glynn for a most welcoming stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainycity111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Green Hammerton
5.0 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Wetherby
Days Inn Wetherby
#1 of 3 in Wetherby
1,806 reviews
4.7 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Bridge Hotel and Spa
7.3 mi away
Mercure Wetherby
Mercure Wetherby
#3 of 3 in Wetherby
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistledown House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistledown House B&B

Property: Thistledown House B&B
Address: Thistledown House Skipbridge Farm York Road | York Road, Green Hammerton YO26 8EZ, England (Formerly Old Granary House B&B)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Green Hammerton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Green Hammerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistledown House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Thistledown House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Granary House Hotel Green Hammerton
Old Granary House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing