We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”
Review of Harmony House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harmony House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have stayed twice at Harmony House, in the annex and in the Tulip room. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable. The food is excellent and the welcome from both Hilary and Paul is delightful. We would not hesitate to recommend this house to anyone looking for a great place to stay when visiting York.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen22400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simplycooking, Owner at Harmony House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review. I hope we will see you again soon. Apologies for the delay to respond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

Thank you for a wonderful stay! The bedroom was luxurious and had everything you could ever need, even home made cake and cookies! The bedroom we stayed in looked out over a river and field with sheep in, pure heaven for a country break. Near some lovely pubs and so easy to get in to York from. Hilary was so welcoming and we did a cookery course which was fantastic. We will definitely be back, thank you again for a really lovely relaxing weekend!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5_Clare_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary F, Owner at Harmony House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

thank you so much for your review. it was a pleasure having you and really pleased you enjoyed both the cookery course and the accommodation. It would be lovely to see you again if you in the York area and I hope you had a super Christmas Hilary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The accommodation was wonderful, like home from home. The attention to detail re guests comfort was second to none. The food was excellent, the hospitality amazing. It felt as though we were long standing friends of Hilary and Paul even though we had just met. We would have no hesitation in recommending Harmony House to anyone and will certainly look forward to a return visit. Vanessa Ballance

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessaballance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary F, Owner at Harmony House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

thank you for your review Vanessa. You were a joy to have staying with us. We love it when people spend the evenings together around the fire in the lounge after a day out , and make use of the facilities. I hope you had a great Christmas and come back to see us again with your fun and laughter. Hilary x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Had one night here and will visit again. Made very welcome with tea and scones in the guest lounge. Very comfy room and bed, refurbished shower room which was lovely and warm. Breakfast great. Plenty of choice and evidence of home cooking throughout.

A bit out of the way so would suggest you order a meal from Hilary and bring a bottle of wine to go with it. We drove to a local pub but the food was not great. Feel sure Hilary would do much better.

They also have 4 bed self catering where you can also order breakfast and food. Think that would work very well for a family.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank VonRob1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simplycooking, Manager at Harmony House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thank you very much and you are welcome. I hope the rest of your break was enjoyable and what you were expecting. We would love to see you again and if you would like a meal, please do get in touch. With best wishes Paul and Hilary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Wonderful bed and breakfast. This is our second visit to Harmony House. This time our children came with us, and Hilary cooked a lovely meal for us all on our first night to celebrate my husband's birthday. My son and I attended one of Hilary's cooking courses on our second day. It was really enjoyable and the food was great. I've cooked one of the dishes at home this week and will try another one next week. Paul and Hilary are most welcoming and attentive hosts, the accommodation is excellent and the house is situated in a lovely location. I thoroughly recommend a visit to Harmony House.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christined485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simplycooking, Owner at Harmony House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you very much. It was lovely to see you both again and meet the children. It was great you could spend a family weekend together and enjoyed the course and meal. Hope to see you soon. Hilary and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had a very relaxing, amazing 4 night stay at Harmony House. Paul and Hilary are very genuine, lovely people who went out of there way to make our stay as stress free and as enjoyable as possible.The room was lovely, Hilary had thought of everything. It was great to come back from a long day sight seeing to one of Hilarys beautiful evening meals. They both so much deserve the excellent reviews. Well done, you must both be very proud. Will definitely stay at Harmony House again, why would we choose anywhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacHampshireEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary F, Owner at Harmony House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Wow Thank you so much for this. What a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again sometime. Give my regards to Emsworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My husband and I had planned a short break away to York and wanted to stay just outside the City itself. One of my searches for B&B was Harmony House. After reading excellent reviews we booked a 3 night stay in the wonderful King room en suite over looking the green.

The owners Paul and Hilary made our stay most enjoyable and nothing was to much trouble. We had a wonderful home made supper the first evening and the breakfasts had everything you could ask for and more.

We would definitely stay at Harmony House again without hesitation and would recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: Room over looking the green
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ju1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary F, Owner at Harmony House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

My apologies for the delay in replying and thanking you for the lovely review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and if we can be of any help in the future please do give us a ring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillingfleet
6.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
5.5 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
5.3 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
3,034 reviews
12.8 mi away
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B
5.2 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#19 of 194 in York
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony House

Address: Harmony House The Green | Stillingfleet, Stillingfleet, York YO19 6SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Stillingfleet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stillingfleet
Price Range: £79 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmony House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony House B&B overlooks the wild flower meadow in the centre of the quiet rural village of Stillingfleet. York and Selby are both about 6 miles away, yet Harmony House benefits from a peaceful country setting.Some parts of Harmony House date back to the 17th century yet has been renovated to accommodate a modern day lifestyle. It is the perfect antidote to City Life for both business and holiday guests alike. If you book your room direct with us and not through a third party channel we can always offer a more competitive rate. You will find all our rooms are ensuite and have complimentary hot and cold drinks, mini fridge, fresh milk, flat screen TV and free WIFI. We now how important a break away is to us so strive to make your stay as comfortable as possible. A full English breakfast with locally sourced ingredients or lighter options such as eggs Benedict or smoked haddock is cooked to order in the morning. We are happy to provide a midweek evening meal or weekend cold snack. Hilary was trained at the Cordon Bleu school of cookery and has a small cookery school attached for small groups of friends or family. We cannot accommodate children in the hosue but have a family 2 room annex with a small kitchen where we can provide a DIY cereal and toast breakfast. There is a local bus 422 which travels to York hourly except sundays, or the McArthur Glen outlet park and ride is 10 minutes away. We are close to Naburn Lock & Marina, Cawood, Escrick and Elvington airfield . Access to York racecourse & York University is easier being on the south side of York. Sustrans 65cycleway Sherburn Aero Club and Squires are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Harmony House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing