We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Break”
Review of Forresters Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Forresters Arms
Ranked #1 of 3 Kilburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife and I together with 2 friends stayed for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time here. What a wonderful welcome and as it was my wife's Birthday the staff went that extra mile to make sure it was an enjoyable experience. The atmosphere and friendly approach by Nigel and his wife and staff made this a break to remeber. I would thoroughly recommend The Forresters to anyone wanting to get away from it all and enjoy good food and wine in a super 'olde worlde' environment. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imatnostell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night during Easter weekend, and had a thoroughly comfortable stay. Room 3 is slightly on the small side, but I expected this for the price we paid. It was also over the entrance to the bar downstairs and although we did hear some noise after going to bed, it didn't disturb us too much.
The bar is well stocked and appears to be well looked after, with real ales and nice wines.
Although I did feel the food was ever so slightly on the expensive side, there was plenty of it and it was very tasty so that made up for it.
Breakfast was tasty and all food sourced locally. All in all, a pleasant place to stay for a quick getaway and I would return/recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank emmahughes2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My wife and I called in for lunch prior to visiting the Mouseman factory. We were immediately made to feel very welcome and a warming log fire was burning in the grate to keep the days chill away. The food was wholesome, plentiful and good; especially the chips! The honeycomb ice cream was some of the best ice cream my wife and I have ever tasted.
The real ale 'White Horse' is highly recommended.
Overall we went away feeling satisfied and full and would recommend this pub to anyone

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STUART H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stopped over for a family 2 night break,a super warm welcome,great food and super friendly staff.
The steaks are cooked to perfection as is all the food,the breakfast's are the best i have ever had.Nothing is to much trouble you only have to ask,great sleep and the children were made to feel very welcome by the owners,staff, guest's and locals.
They have guest beers which are all kept perfect but the White horse blonde is the best.
Try for yourself and if you agree leave me a like.
It must be good as this is our 7th time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobitEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We needed an overnight stay in Kilburn, as we had arranged to pick up a lamp from the wonderful "Mousie Thompson" workshops in the village. The Forresters Arms is right next door to the showroom and workshops so was ideally placed for our purpose.
An old pub, going back several hundred years, it incorporates the old stable block into its restaurant area. The bar is liberally furnished with examples of Mousie's beautiful craftsmanship.
Open fire, real local ales and a decent pub menu and the bustle of local regulars made for a warm friendly atmosphere.
The fish pie and game casserole were excellent.
Our room was bright and comfortable with a modern well equipped en suite.
Good local walks were well described in the guest pack.
The historic church, the White Horse carving on the nearby hillside, and the Mousie tearoom and showroom are all well worth a visit

Room Tip: you have to negotiate stairs for most rooms, so if mobility is a problem, best to phone and have a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Arower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Exactly what we wanted for a relaxing 2 night break last week. Comfortable room, well kept beer (especially the White Horse) and good food (including a freshly cooked breakfast that set us up nicely for the day). We chose this pub as it is dog friendly, and our Vizsla was made genuinely welcome by the helpful owners, and by the friendly locals in the bar. Scenic walks straight from the door, with laminated maps provided in the room (tip - if doing the 8 mile walk, the footpath at Hood Grange runs inside the farm fence. We mistakenly thought it ran on the outside so strayed 3 feet onto the edge of an empty grassed field - the farmer was not a great advert for Yorkshire hospitality - think Farmer Palmer from the Viz and you'll have the idea! Will definitely stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

4 of us spent a wonderful weekend here, rooms were comfortable and warm. The star of the stay though was the food in the evening, all four of us had wonderful and meals the Steak and Blue cheese pies were stunning...and the portions meant I had to take another notch off the belt.
Would recommeded

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank eddieps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilburn
6.7 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
1,713 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
903 reviews
5.4 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Fauconberg Arms
Fauconberg Arms
#2 of 3 in Coxwold
297 reviews
2.2 mi away
Byland Abbey Inn
Byland Abbey Inn
#3 of 3 in Coxwold
84 reviews
2.6 mi away
Newburgh House - Coxwold
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forresters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forresters Arms

Address: York Rd, Kilburn YO61 4AH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kilburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kilburn
Price Range: £65 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forresters Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilburn is located around 20 miles north of York centre. It is ideally located for walkers participating in the Cleveland Way. They can look forward to roaring log fires and an excellent selection of real ales, and an extensive menu incorporating local produce.Renovations to the Forresters Arms have been recently carried out where care has been made only to enhance the quintessential Old Country Inn charm that the Forresters bed and breakfast has become famous for. Surrounded by immense natural beauty in the North Yorkshire Moors National Park, also known as Herriot Country. The B&B nestles below the famous White Horse, a unique landmark of North Yorkshire, believed to be the largest of its kind in England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Forresters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forresters Arms Hotel Kilburn
Forresters Arms Kilburn, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing