We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Tour of our Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of American D-day Tours

American D-day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: American Landing beaches guided tours in Normandy by an AmericanAir conditioned van seating 9. US sector of the beaches: Ste Mere Eglise, Utah, Point du Hoc, Omaha beach, US cemetery and off the beaten tracks...All year ! competitive prices !" You've got Allies here in Normandy !"
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Tour of our Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were fortunate enough to be included in Trevor Standefer's tour of the Normandy beaches on our first cruise stop at Le Havre. There were 8 of us, & he picked us up at the port in his comfortable van. Stopped at the German cemetery (which we later found is not included in most other tours), Point du Hoc, Omaha Beach, Omaha Beach museum, & the American Cemetery. Stopped for lunch at a wonderful restaurant where most of u had either the delicious quiche or their Salad of the Land. Trevor, who is half-American & half-French, was so knowledgeable about the history & events of the area & D-day....we would highly recommend his tour. Comparing notes with other passengers, it sounded as though we definitely picked the right tour for this stop! By the way, if you have problems walking distances, etc you won't need to try to keep up with group....easy to meet up with others & places to rest at most stops.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CLK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    2
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience - Excellent Tour Guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I booked this private tour of Normandy key sites through the recommendation of my son's past visit to the area. Trevor was exceptionally well versed in the D Day History and even shared personal experiences of his family during the Nazi occupation. We did the one day visit from Le Havre (where our cruise ship arrived) and saw the German Cemetery in Le Cambre, Omaha Beach, Pointe Du Hoc, a visit to a true hedgerow in the French country side and the American Cemetery at Omaha Beach. Do not skip the German Cemetery - it will give a greater perspective of what this meant to both sides and the contrast to the American Cemetery is worth the time. Guide met us right in our Cruise Ship Terminal (right on time) and whisked us straight to the sights. We had a truly wonderful visit in all respects and the guide provided the right amount of balance between providing us knowledge in the guided tours and also some personal space (very important in such an emotional and moving experience). Lunch was all arranged at at wonderful small French restaurant and very quick by French standards...great since we wanted to spend our time touring and not eating. Price included everything, no hidden charges and worth every penny spent. Thanks to Trevor for an experience we will never forget...the drawing of the order of battle in the sands of Omaha Beach was really special. We were safely returned to our cruise ship with time to spare. Retired Navy Commander.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaQP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent way to experience the Normandy landing sites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Trevor is an accomplished and knowledgeable expert on the Normandy landings. He has studied the history and met the veterans to learn their stories. The day is filled with information and he take the time to bring the history to life. Trevor makes each tour special for the guests on the trip. As half American/half French Trevor is easy to understand but he also has family ties to the area.

You will love this tour!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank phantidae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best tour guide!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband and I recently toured Normandy area with Trevor. He is excellent!!!!! Arrived promptly in his spotless, comfortable van to pick us up at our hotel in Bayeux. On our drive to Normandy, Trevor spoke non-stop about the history of the area and the timeline of the invasion. Trevor is extremely knowledgable and is a wonderful speaker. He keeps you interested the whole time! You can tell he loves his job and the history of the area. At each stop he gave us the history and information, then would give us a bit of time to explore the area solo to reflect on what we were seeing. We really appreciated having this time alone to soak in the history and experience. Along with seeing the well visited areas, Trevor would show us some things off the beaten path that didn't seem overwhelmed with tourists and had great history....this was great! We felt this tour was so personalized. I can not recommend Trevor highly enough and my husband and I agreed he was our favorite tour guide in France!!!! Thank you Trevor! Alison and Steven

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arf42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Fantastic Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

My family and I took the two day tour with Trevor and were totally engaged from start to finish on both days. I highly recommend his tours. My teenage sons had a great time and also remained interested throughout the tour. Trevor has many interesting stories to tell that you wont easily find in a tour guide book. The fact that he picks up, provides lunch and drops off, all as part of his tour price is a great convenience. The small size of his tours ensures that everyone can hear and can ask questions as needed. We stayed at a small Gite-de-France called Le Vermont and highly recommend that as well. You can stay there self-catered or as a bed and breakfast. The owner is very friendly and speaks English, French or Arabic.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank branchmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed American D-day Tours also viewed

 

Been to American D-day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing