We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”
Review of Wye Knot Stop

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llyswen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wye Knot Stop
Ranked #1 of 2 Llyswen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at the Wye Knot Stop. Sue and Martin were very helpful and accommodating - nothing was too much trouble - they even offered my husband some walking boots when we realised we had forgotten his! Lovely room with the most comfortable bed and great breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucysheps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
35
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helmdon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

After a very wet walk we stopped at the Wye Knot Stop Cafe for a much-needed cup of coffee and a toasted teacake. Despite our muddy walking boots we were made very welcome and enjoyed a cup of excellent coffee, certainly worth a detour if you are in the vincinity.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank infrequenttraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in the upstairs room. It was nicely furnished, clean and all the creature comforts you needed were there. The en-suite was clean and functional with nice fluffy towells! The atmosphere was comfortable, relaxed and welcoming and the breakfast was fab! Martin and Sue were kind, generous and helpful giving much needed advice reference local walks and activities in the area. The B and B is close to the Griffin Inn which was perfectly located for a good meal and a few after a long days busy activities. Martin and Sue have 2 dogs who were friendly and were so quiet you wouldnt know they were there! They both go out of their way to ensure that their guests have an enjoyable and comfortable stay and we definitely did. Value for money! Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I stayed here for one night on my own and was delighted with the comfortable room, with all amenities including a huge bath, free wi-fi, TV and a large, comfortable bed. The village of Llyswen is small, and on a main road, so one isn't exactly in the Welsh hills. The advantage is that there is a very god pub over the road, the Griffin, where I enjoyed an excellent meal.

Breakfast at Wye Knot Stop was along the usual gargantuan lines found in any a decent B&B, but with nice touches (four different jams each with its own spoon: the owners clearly expect you to try all four) and generous proportions of locally-produced food.

Lots to do locally and this B&B doubles as a lunch and tea shop offering plently of good fare. Thoroughly reccomended.

Room Tip: Only one large family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlespenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Spot on hospitality, food, location. Bonus of excellent music composed by the Patron. Stay there!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveAdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Our family room was spacious and very comfortable with a good-sized en-suite bathroom. Breakfast was great. Hosts were friendly and attentive and so welcoming of our children. We stayed while attending a wedding so weren’t really travelling in the area but very pretty scenery and there was lots of information at the B&B about attractions to visit and things to do.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsLCumbriaCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Wye Knot Stop is a cozy B&B in Llyswen. The room we stayed was very tidy and clean (comfortable even for families) with large bathroom available. For breakfast we had a variety of choices yogurt, cereals, fruits etc. the top of the list was the freshly made full “Welsh” breakfast from local products.
The hosts, Sue and Martin are very friendly, happy to help you and give you information about places to visit and things to do.
We had a lovely time and we are definitely planning to go back!
Thank you!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerZi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llyswen
0.0 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
594 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
460 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Radnor Barn B&B
Old Radnor Barn B&B
#1 of 7 in Talgarth
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ty Helyg Guest House
Ty Helyg Guest House
#2 of 43 in Brecon
115 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Wye Knot Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wye Knot Stop

Property: Wye Knot Stop
Address: Llyswen LD3 0UR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llyswen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llyswen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wye Knot Stop is a Cafe in the centre of the village of Llyswen some 8 miles from Brecon and the famous Brecon Beacons National Park, 8 miles from the renowed Book town of Hay-on-Wye and 11 miles from Builth Wells and the Agricultural Showground. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wye Knot Stop Llyswen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing