We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice lunch in a lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Llangoed Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Llangoed Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llyswen
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice lunch in a lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Have lunched and stayed at Llangoed hall many times,from the week it opened. It has a bad time with the last owner,but today I am pleased to say it has a new owner and it
Now looks back to its old self with the owner spending lots of money both inside and outside
The building. I was pleased today that Brian the M.D is back working there,as he makes a big
Difference to the atmosphere,of this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twp one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    111
    49
    30
    15
See reviews for
71
366
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent our anniversary here having spent our honeymoon at this beautiful hotel 18 years ago.We were warmly welcomed to a well appointed suite and enjoyed a complimentary sherry before dinner.Champagne and canapés were served in the drawing room where we made our selection from the interesting and locally sourced menu.Dinner was superb and we enjoyed attentive but not intrusive service. Coffee and petit fours at the fireside , listening to a pianist rounded off a lovely evening.A hearty Welsh breakfast set us up for an idyllic walk through the beautiful surrounding grounds.We really didn't want to leave!Ps, the Penhaligon toiletries were wonderful

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidtravllerWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

We've been visiting Hay-on Wye for about 15 years and only just found this wonderful hotel.
The service was superb and the food excellent. The restaurant was closed for a function so we ate great food off the lounge menu in front of a roaring fire.
The accommodation was spacious and comfortable and the setting was wonderful.
It's about 20 mins from Hay but well worth the extra drive.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Addicked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

Have now stayed here twice - on my wedding night and for weekend break soon after a return from Afghanistan. It is a special and very beautiful hotel with wonderfully attentive staff, clean and comfortable rooms and good food. Not a huge amount to do on the doorstep apart from a few walks so a car is essential. Somewhat expensive but none the less highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paparabbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southam, Warwickshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

This review is based purely on a quick lunch in the lounge yesterday.
A friend and I flew in by helicopter following a last minute booking. My chum, a hotelier and gourmet chef, ordered the local sausages and mustard mash and I ordered a toasted BLT.
The whole experience was flawless. Our food was utterly delicious ( I mean eye-wateringly lovely!), served by polite, friendly, well-trained staff. Everybody smiled.
The restaurant was busy, lovely Christmas decorations..the only thing missing was a Welsh Choir singing carols.
We LOVE Lllangoed to bits and will definately bring our ladies for a stop over.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterHolloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have spent a fantastic weekend at Llangoed hall and we cannot wait to return.
From the minute we arrived we were warmly welcomed by the friendly porter who couldn't do enough to help us check in and unload. Our room (State Delux) was BEAUTIFUL - bathrobes, slippers, fluffy towels, gorgeous toiletries and complimentary sherry, water, elderflower and oranges, overlooking gorgeous scenery. Our meal that evening was fantastic, superbly cooked and our host was charming! We were welcomed into the lounge with canapes, taken to the dining room once we had placed our orders and enjoyed a private dining experience as we were the only ones there. Fantastic wine list and after dinner we relaxed in the adjoining lounge area by the log fire with coffee and petit fours.
The next day we ate a beautiful welsh breakfast where our waitress couldn't do enough for us. The morning was spent walking, playing on the beautiful piano, followed by a lovely afternoon tea, leaving just enough room for a gorgeous meal from the lounge menu (available to eat in the lounge if like us, you are too full for the 4 course meal in the restaurant!) We then finished off the evening with liqueur coffees in the games room playing snooker and relaxing.
On our final morning we tucked into another beautiful welsh breakfast and packed up our room and sadly checked out, where again the lovely porter helped us with our luggage.
We can honestly say it was absoloutely amazing and have decided to return to llangoed hall every year just before Christmas in order to relax and prepare for the festive period. Little extras such as tea and coffee bought to our room in the morning, beds turned down whilst we were at dinner made us feel so at home, we didn't feel like we were in a hotel, it felt like our own manor house which is their aim.
We cannot praise the staff enough for ensuring our weekend was fantastic and the decor of the hall is stunning! Roll on our return in 2013!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Our fourth stay at this lovely hotel and if anything, the standards have improved. Robes, slippers, Penhaligon toiletries, sherry and fruit were all available in our large bedroom with adjoining lounge. We met with two other couples and stayed in state rooms overlooking the rear gardens. The hotel has been bought privately and it was great to see the original manager back again with other key staff. References to the Ashley family are still evident in the form of various photographs around the house. We had our evening meal in the restaurant which was excellent. Llangoed is such a quiet place and you really relax in the sumptious sofas in front of the open fire. I love it.

Room Tip: Push the boat out and ask for a state room. Rooms 5 and 6 are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady_from_Ludlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llyswen
8.6 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
8.7 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llangoed Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llangoed Hall

Property: Llangoed Hall
Address: Llyswen | Brecon, Llyswen LD3 0YP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llyswen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llyswen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Llangoed Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the banks of the River Wye amidst 17 acres of stunning landscaped gardens, this elegant Country House Hotel enjoys the full scenic beauty of the Welsh Countryside, within easy reach of the main A40 and the main town of Brecon. Enjoy the finest Welsh cuisine in the 2 AA Rossette award-wining restaurant, or just soak up the ambience by the blazing log fires. In the summer enjoy the views of the River Wye and the Black Mountains whilst relaxing with a drink on the outdoor terrace. The hotel also offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout and free parking. Dating from 1632, Llangoed Hall is rich in local history, a fact that is expressed in its numerous period furnishings and antique fittings and a distinguished collection of paintings and drawings from such notable artists as Whistler, Herman Dudley Murphy and James Cowie. Such refined splendour has contributed to the hotels enviable reputation for hosting weddings. From large lavish parties with a marquee, to smaller affairs with a just few close friends and family, guests can relax safe in the knowledge that there every need will be catered to. Indeed, with such a picturesque location, including breath taking views across the Black Mountains, it is hard to imagine a more perfect venue for that most special of days. Each one of the hotels twenty-three en-suite bedrooms has been individually designed and exquisitely decorated with a full refurbishment in 2013. As well as the classic room types we also offer graceful four-poster rooms and luxurious suites. Every room is complete with all the necessary creature comforts one needs for a relaxing, stress-free stay including a flat-screen TV, telephone, free Wi-Fi access, bathrobes and slippers, fresh fruit and mineral water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Llangoed Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llangoed Hall Hotel Llyswen
Llangoed Hall Brecon
Llangoed Hall Hotel Brecon
Hall Llangoed
Llangoed Hall Llyswen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing