We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What makes for a great stay.......?”
Review of Llangoed Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Llangoed Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llyswen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

A beautiful setting, superb accommodation, great dining and good company certainly helps......but without excellent staff all the rest means nothing.

We were catered for without the slightest ado. No task was too great and going the extra mile was seemingly the norm.

Each member of staff appeared well drilled and functioned effortlessly. Even the Chef took time to explain his work to us.

Well done and thank you......wish you could have helped out with the rugby !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toptykeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
There are newer reviews for Llangoed Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just returned from a lovely break in this hotel. We were ushered to our room 5 by one of the butlers who informed us of a party that was being held in the sitting room/lounge area and that it would be better if we remained in our room until after 5pm!! Not to worry as it was our Anniversary we opened a bottle of champers and dutifully stayed in the room!! We went down for pre-dinner drinks around 7.15pm as our table was booked for 8pm which was fine until we were led to our table which wasn't in fact in the beautiful dining room but in an ante room and not wanting to upset our Anniversary meal decided not to complain. We had ordered the tasting menu at £85 a head which to be fair was absolutely beautiful just a bit of a shame we hadn't eaten in the dining room. The breakfast was first class and the staff amazing.

Room Tip: Room 5 is lovely I can recommend it also the food is so wonderful and the chef to be commended
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heathherring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Last minute booking as we had been let down by another hotel. Warm welcome .
Gorgeous hotel and the room was excellent.
Unfortunately the restaurant was full but breakfast was very good. Local Welsh produce. We went walking which was lovely. Will try to go back there

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were a group of 10 who booked for the full afternoon tea. First impressions were a beautiful Hall, with lovely gardens, amazing setting. As it was a damp day we were met at the car and escorted inside along with umbrella, lovely touch. The Owner and Management Team have obviously a very good eye for detail the furnishings are outstanding, a real touch of class. Afternoon tea was prompted served, sandwiches and scrumptious cakes... First class. We asked if we could have a look at some of the bedrooms, and our host kindly obliged, taking all of us on a tour around. Staff were extremely welcoming and attentive... Well done, all of us thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon and can't wait to come back..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnEn1212207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were six people for a birthday lunch mid-week. We were greeted at the porch entrance, a nice touch, and shown into a very traditional and comfortable lounge. Drinks came promptly, as did the menus.There was a good choice. The dining room was beautifuly laid out with a large round table which gave us all ample space.The food was superb.Very creative, lovely flavours and real touch of artistry in the presentation. Service was excellent, friendly and unobtrusive.I wasn't paying but the menu price was very reasonable for three courses. A real find and we have already decided to go again. If you enjoy a good meal in traditional Country House surroundings you will find it hard to better this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mainwearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

From the driveway to the hotel, things looked great, the welcome and the standards in the drawing room could not have been better. Room 19 is unfortunately not altogether suitable for a lady because there is nowhere near a power point to use a hair dryer because there is no mirror nearby. The room is up two flights of stairs and for people who are older and disabled, not ideal.

Shame
, because it looks like its a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Unless your young, fit and don't need to use a hairdryer, don't stay in room 19!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart170649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My husband and I spent last weekend the 28th and 29th September here. What a beatiful place this is, set in its own land and the house is just glorious. If you are fond of attention to detail and expect the best then this is definitely the place for you from the reception you get when you arrive through to the staff led by the fantastic Bernard who is just a joy through to your departure. There is nothing that you could want for and nothing is too much trouble although they think of everything well before you do. The staff are always extremely polite but if you want to take your time and chat that is fine too. The food is excellent, very fancy though so make sure it is to your taste before you go, if you like the more simple fayre then perhaps not right for everyone. I have a dietary condition and found it a little too much sometimes for my delicate constitution but whatever I didn't manage my husband mopped up with glee. Would most definitely return if only to switch off and shut the world out.

Room Tip: Only stayed in one room obviously and it was state room, but I cannot imagine any of them are bad at...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llyswen
11.8 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
914 reviews
8.6 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
959 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
816 reviews
13.6 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,342 reviews
12.9 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llangoed Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llangoed Hall

Address: Llyswen | Brecon, Llyswen LD3 0YP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llyswen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llyswen
Price Range: £133 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Llangoed Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the banks of the River Wye amidst 17 acres of stunning landscaped gardens, this elegant Country House Hotel enjoys the full scenic beauty of the Welsh Countryside, within easy reach of the main A40 and the main town of Brecon. Enjoy the finest Welsh cuisine in the 2 AA Rossette award-wining restaurant, or just soak up the ambience by the blazing log fires. In the summer enjoy the views of the River Wye and the Black Mountains whilst relaxing with a drink on the outdoor terrace. The hotel also offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout and free parking. Dating from 1632, Llangoed Hall is rich in local history, a fact that is expressed in its numerous period furnishings and antique fittings and a distinguished collection of paintings and drawings from such notable artists as Whistler, Herman Dudley Murphy and James Cowie. Such refined splendour has contributed to the hotels enviable reputation for hosting weddings. From large lavish parties with a marquee, to smaller affairs with a just few close friends and family, guests can relax safe in the knowledge that there every need will be catered to. Indeed, with such a picturesque location, including breath taking views across the Black Mountains, it is hard to imagine a more perfect venue for that most special of days. Each one of the hotels twenty-three en-suite bedrooms has been individually designed and exquisitely decorated with a full refurbishment in 2013. As well as the classic room types we also offer graceful four-poster rooms and luxurious suites. Every room is complete with all the necessary creature comforts one needs for a relaxing, stress-free stay including a flat-screen TV, telephone, free Wi-Fi access, bathrobes and slippers, fresh fruit and mineral water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Llangoed Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llangoed Hall Hotel Llyswen
Llangoed Hall Brecon
Llangoed Hall Hotel Brecon
Hall Llangoed
Llangoed Hall Llyswen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing