We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely coming back again.”
Review of Llangoed Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Llangoed Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llyswen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was a last minute booking after seeing an internet offer for the hotel. I had a business meeting the following day so was travelling on my own. When I arrived I had been upgraded to the most beautiful room. Llangoed Hall has a country house atmosphere, which is both spectacular and relaxed. The Hall is set in rolling fields with an easy to reach walk to the River Wye nearby. The view from my room was over rolling fields, and I had the most amazing bathroom. There are two enormous sitting rooms, both of which had blazing fires, and I didn't feel at all uncomfortable on my own. There was a huge range of books and magazines, and I could quite happily have curled up with a book and stayed there for a week. After eating an amazing dinner in the restaurant (reviewed separately) I luxuriated in a huge bath and climbed relaxed and happy into bed.
The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The setting is beautiful. Definitely a place to visit, but one night is not enough!

The hotel is in easy reach of Brecon and Hay on Wye so there are lots of things to visit and see nearby. I shall definitely be coming back with my partner.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKcritical_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Took my wife October last year for a 2 night break (booked through Secret Escapes). Oh boy what a place. The drive in from the main road is imposing, seeing the hall in the grounds. Inside, it was like setting foot in Downton Abbey, just full of character. We had cream tea the first afternoon with champagne by a roaring log fire which was heavenly. Second night we had an evening meal in the restaurant and the food was a real treat.
The room we had (7) was huge, a 4 poster bed and massive bathroom. Just perfect.
Staff were just so helpful.
I'd recommend everybody to go there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Spent a wonderful break at this truly lovely hotel hidden in the Black Mountains. Only wish we had more than a night here. It is a real gem of a place, you feel you are guests at a country manor where nothing is too much trouble. Our room was classic and fabulous with wonderful views and a huge bathroom with roll top bath.
Sadly we did not dine here on this occasion, so we definately need to go back. However breakfast was very fresh and local, cooked to order with plenty of choice, served in a the lovely dining room with light streaming through the windows. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Llangoed Hall is a beautiful hotel located just outside Llyswen in the Brecons. My husband and I went there to celebrate our birthdays and our 45th wedding anniversary. It was like stepping into another world. It is beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean and staffed by a team of very friendly people who cater for your every need. We had a beautiful spacious room; there was fresh fruit laid on a table along with a decanter of sherry, sparkling water and fruit drink all with crystal glasses.
We had tea served in our room after a long drive and that was graciously done. We dined in the hotel and the food was excellent. When we came down we were shown to a comfortable seating area where had pre dinner drinks whilst looking at the menu, and delicious canapés were brought to us. We were never rushed or pressed into making a quick decision to choose from the menu, in fact relax was the order of the day. I've yet to meet more friendly staff anywhere. Breakfast is also an enjoyable experience. The grounds are immaculate and offer walks; there are also longer walks for the more energetic! In all this was lovely in every way and we look forward to going again.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marijke12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My wife and I had 2 nights here in February. As we drove up we were welcomed bythe car and the luggage carried to our room. A decanter of sherry waiting in the room was a nice touch on arrival. Next to the front door was a selection of boots that we could borrow so that we could go for a walk along by the river, the scenery and views are lovely. When we came down for dinner we were made to feel like Lord and Lady; choosing from the menu next to a roaring log fire. The chef came and talked us through the menu. The food was quite expensive (£16 for a starter and the same for the desert), almost as much as you would expect in a Michelin star restaurant, however it was nicely presented and was cooked to perfection, service was exemplary. The room service menu is much cheaper as an alternative. If you wanted something altered to your taste this was no trouble at all.
The restaurant was very quiet and there were only 2 other couples eating, with it being so quite you could overhear everything that was said, likewise for breakfast, so we felt we had to speak very quietly so as not to be overheard or sound too loud, a little background music might have helped.
The hotel is quite remote so a bit far if you wanted to walk to the local pub in the evening but we were quite happy staying in for the short time we were there.
Overall it was hard to find any fault with the hotel and the service was as good as it could get.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Our family spent a very enjoyable night at Llangoed. This is an impressive hotel indeed. I have visited the hotel on many occasions over the past 20 years. It has always been a 5 star experience but it is clear that significant investment has been made which has taken the hotel to a new level. We had two state rooms - a bargain at £250 including breakfast for both. Dinner was outstanding but perhaps a little pricey. The wine list superb. It is worth visiting just for the breakfast! There is no Spa or fitness centre but there is a snooker table! The environment in mid Wales is stunning and a complete retreat. The staff are top class.

Room Tip: The North Wing is the newest part. Although no view the quality of rooms is excellent. I would look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FfosFelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We had two separate lunches here for friends and family in December 13 to celebrate our wedding which took place earlier in the month. Many of our guests stayed over and we all had the most wonderful time. The service is wonderful, the organisation was professional and stress free, the staff are lovely, food is stunning and the rooms are fabulous and location is stunning - just perfect.
We went back for Sunday lunch yesterday and again - perfect. Quality food and service in a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere. It really is a 'must go to' and a fabulous wedding venue.
We will be booking for the afternoon tea soon

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llyswen
11.8 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
920 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
473 reviews
8.6 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
824 reviews
13.6 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,349 reviews
12.9 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llangoed Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llangoed Hall

Address: Llyswen | Brecon, Llyswen LD3 0YP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llyswen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llyswen
Price Range: £140 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Llangoed Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the banks of the River Wye amidst 17 acres of stunning landscaped gardens, this elegant Country House Hotel enjoys the full scenic beauty of the Welsh Countryside, within easy reach of the main A40 and the main town of Brecon. Enjoy the finest Welsh cuisine in the 2 AA Rossette award-wining restaurant, or just soak up the ambience by the blazing log fires. In the summer enjoy the views of the River Wye and the Black Mountains whilst relaxing with a drink on the outdoor terrace. The hotel also offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout and free parking. Dating from 1632, Llangoed Hall is rich in local history, a fact that is expressed in its numerous period furnishings and antique fittings and a distinguished collection of paintings and drawings from such notable artists as Whistler, Herman Dudley Murphy and James Cowie. Such refined splendour has contributed to the hotels enviable reputation for hosting weddings. From large lavish parties with a marquee, to smaller affairs with a just few close friends and family, guests can relax safe in the knowledge that there every need will be catered to. Indeed, with such a picturesque location, including breath taking views across the Black Mountains, it is hard to imagine a more perfect venue for that most special of days. Each one of the hotels twenty-three en-suite bedrooms has been individually designed and exquisitely decorated with a full refurbishment in 2013. As well as the classic room types we also offer graceful four-poster rooms and luxurious suites. Every room is complete with all the necessary creature comforts one needs for a relaxing, stress-free stay including a flat-screen TV, telephone, free Wi-Fi access, bathrobes and slippers, fresh fruit and mineral water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Llangoed Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llangoed Hall Hotel Llyswen
Llangoed Hall Brecon
Llangoed Hall Hotel Brecon
Hall Llangoed
Llangoed Hall Llyswen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing