We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate luxury”
Review of Llangoed Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Llangoed Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llyswen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My twelve year old daughter and I shared a lovely room 5, with beds made up as a twin, on a quiet Sunday night. The room had great views of the countryside and was beautifully decorated in a mauve Laura Ashley colour scheme which was very restful. We appreciated the fresh fruit bowl and drinks provided: still and sparkling water, cranberry pressé and a decanter of sherry. Morning coffee was brought to our room with a newspaper - what a nice way to start the day. The bathroom had an excellent shower and all the toiletries we needed, together with fluffy towels, bathrobes and slippers.

Food was excellent: we enjoyed an afternoon tea, room service sandwiches and an excellent breakfast featuring eggs from the hotel's own hens during our stay. My Coronation chicken sandwiches were notably good. One thing I found unusual was that the hotel does not have a bar, but the friendly staff will take drinks orders and bring them to you in the morning room. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful, served in the pleasant light blue dining room while I read my complimentary newspaper.

The whole house and gardens were wonderful - like a National Trust stately home where you were allowed (and encouraged!) to sit on the chairs. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and the hotel is very handy for Hay-on-Wye. I would love to go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank invinoverity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights as the first stop in a tour of Wales. And what a find! Everything was perfect. The room was beautiful with a magnificent view of the gardens and beautifully appointed. The staff were excellent, all incredibly courteous - although not many Welsh amongst them! And after a fabulous nights sleep, the breakfast was the best we'd had. And throughout the hotel was a beautiful scent of fresh flowers.

Simply perfect.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank SurreyTweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It is not often that you find a hotel where it is a struggle to find a fault. Llangoed Hall is such a hotel. The setting is beautiful, the service second to none, the staff delightful, the rooms elegant, charming and tasteful. Of course let us not forget the food which is simply superb. If you have ever wondered what it would be like to live in a manor house with a butler, try this for a few nights. You will wonder no more! Brian and his team are amazing, nothing is any trouble at all.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are beautiful, though some smaller than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

From the moment we arrived in the Courtyard you are met by the sight of a beautiful old building with two vintage cars parked at either side of the entrance. Within minutes you walk into an ambience of another generation of family treasures and antiques in very comfortable surroundings. The extensive Gardens and Lawns are well laid out with the opportunity to play Tennis, Croquet and Chess or a leisurely walk to the River. The service throughout was excellent with all staff extremely helpful while the restaurant gourmet dinner and the afternoon tea addedto bthe enjoyment. What an ideal place for a Wedding. The only disappointment was that in a building that has been improved enormously with a spend of millions there was no air conditioning.

Room Tip: Try for a Room overlooking the Rear of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mervyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a delicious Sunday lunch here, in beautiful surroundings .
The house is well appointed and the pictures of the bedroom look stunning. It's a very comfortable hotel with gracious public rooms.
The luncheon was divine in the most beautiful blue dining room I've ever been in.
All together a marvellous experience and well worth a visit.
It is expensive but your worth it...!!!,

Room Tip: All the bedrooms are very pretty and beautifully decorated as it was once owned by Laura Ashley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Beautiful setting. The welcome was warm and friendly.Beautiful decor and interesting furniture.
Excellent food - of high quality. Service made you feel very special.. Wonderful experience.
All staff so friendly and polite.
Soon to return, and looking forward to it. Ideal hotel to meet up with friends.

Room Tip: Room 8 .Wonderful and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiaJones12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I attended a Wedding at the Llangoed Hall, arrival to departure I was bewitched, the setting is superb, the staff are unobstrusive, helpful, polite and well trained, the food was excellent. It could not have bee a better weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llyswen
8.6 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
993 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
484 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,367 reviews
8.7 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
833 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llangoed Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llangoed Hall

Address: Llyswen | Brecon, Llyswen LD3 0YP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llyswen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llyswen
Price Range: £99 - £524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Llangoed Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the banks of the River Wye amidst 17 acres of stunning landscaped gardens, this elegant Country House Hotel enjoys the full scenic beauty of the Welsh Countryside, within easy reach of the main A40 and the main town of Brecon. Enjoy the finest Welsh cuisine in the 2 AA Rossette award-wining restaurant, or just soak up the ambience by the blazing log fires. In the summer enjoy the views of the River Wye and the Black Mountains whilst relaxing with a drink on the outdoor terrace. The hotel also offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout and free parking. Dating from 1632, Llangoed Hall is rich in local history, a fact that is expressed in its numerous period furnishings and antique fittings and a distinguished collection of paintings and drawings from such notable artists as Whistler, Herman Dudley Murphy and James Cowie. Such refined splendour has contributed to the hotels enviable reputation for hosting weddings. From large lavish parties with a marquee, to smaller affairs with a just few close friends and family, guests can relax safe in the knowledge that there every need will be catered to. Indeed, with such a picturesque location, including breath taking views across the Black Mountains, it is hard to imagine a more perfect venue for that most special of days. Each one of the hotels twenty-three en-suite bedrooms has been individually designed and exquisitely decorated with a full refurbishment in 2013. As well as the classic room types we also offer graceful four-poster rooms and luxurious suites. Every room is complete with all the necessary creature comforts one needs for a relaxing, stress-free stay including a flat-screen TV, telephone, free Wi-Fi access, bathrobes and slippers, fresh fruit and mineral water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Llangoed Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llangoed Hall Hotel Llyswen
Llangoed Hall Brecon
Llangoed Hall Hotel Brecon
Hall Llangoed
Llangoed Hall Llyswen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing