We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Wye Knot Stop(Llyswen)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tower Hotel(Talgarth)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
The Swan at Hay(Hay-on-Wye)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhydspence Inn(Whitney-on-Wye)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Cedars Guest House(Builth Wells)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$287
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (703)
Filter reviews
703 results
Traveller rating
451
136
61
37
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
451
136
61
37
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslaura ashleyafternoon teadecanter of sherrythe rivercountry housespecial occasionmichelin starbeautiful buildingcream teatasting menufour poster beddownton abbeysconesbilliard roommorning rooma la carte menupublic rooms
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 703 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our third visit- always very relaxing and enjoyable. Definitely seeing improvements all round - more staff, exquisite food, all adding to an already wonderful experience. Already planning our next visit in the autumn.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Events Manager at Llangoed Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

What can I say but thank you - it is always a pleasure to have you staying with us and we very much look forward to seeing you again in Autumn.

Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice hotel in lovely location a short walk from the Wye River. Welcoming and excellent staff, nice room and easy parking, but visit let down by disappointing restaurant meals. Staff 5 stars, hotel 4 stars, restaurant meals 2 stars.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PeterG1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Events Manager at Llangoed Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are all quite shocked and disappointed that you didn't enjoy your experience in the restaurant as on the whole, as you can see from other reviews on this forum most of our guests rate the food as amongst some of the best meals that they have eaten.

That said we don't always get it right and it is important that we continually review our menus and service to ensure that each and every guest has an exceptional experience.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention and of course it is encouraging to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and the team looked after you well.

Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has thought of everything, from fresh robes and lovely toiletries, to free sherry and fruit in our room. They even have kennels for dogs (ours stayed in for 2 nights), and wellies to borrow.
The food was outstanding, our room was beautifully spotless and the walks were lovely. We will return! I’ve never felt so relaxed in this country, I usually need to escape abroad to switch off, but I felt incredibly relaxed during my stay.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank hana p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Events Manager at Llangoed Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wow.....what a fantastic review ....thank you so much !

We are so pleased that you were able to " get away from it all " and relax and enjoy your stay with us and what a fabulous place to walk your dogs as well.

We look forward to seeing you again soon, hopefully.

Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a night in this (to us local) highly regarded hotel, and from the moment we arrived the experience was superlative. Chris, the engaging doorman, greeted us cheerily and carried our bags inside. Our room was sumptuously furnished with very good taste, lovely four poster bed, a small sofa, a couple of arm chairs, bottles of mineral water, some grapes and a decanter of sherry (!)

In the restaurant we had the six course taster menu that was very well judged, prepared and served. Too often the multi course taster offering is an excuse to get rid of unpopular menu items or to serve minute portions of slightly exotic dishes; not in this case. The portions were substantial and very well prepared, and the whole dining ambience was cosy, refined and intimate.

After a good nights sleep we came downstairs to face breakfast! Still feeling full from the night before we were nonetheless tempted into overindulgence by the delicious offerings. The cooked food was locally sourced and of the highest quality, the bread butter and marmalade similarly so. Once again we rolled out well satisfied!

Good staff are the heart of a good hotel and Llangoed Hall is very fortunate in its people. Every one we met was charming, helpful and considerate. Coupled with a beautiful building set in a landscape that is timeless, furnished in excellent taste and with a highly regarded and valuable art collection, this is a truly iconic hotel. Such quality does not come cheap, obviously, but the memories will last long after the bill has been forgotten.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Events Manager at Llangoed Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us and our trip advisor forum and also for the excellent five star rating.

We ourselves on exceptional service and quality from beginning to end as you describe in your review.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and so happy to be part of your memories for the future.

Hopefully we see you again very soon as you are local, perhaps just pop in for Afternoon Tea or Sunday lunch as special treat.

Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Took my mother for Sunday lunch and had the fixed menu The setting is lovely adjacent to the river. The service and food were delightful. We will return, hopefully in the summer when you can walk around the gardens.

Stayed: October 2017
2  Thank KTAKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Events Manager at Llangoed Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Your review is very much appreciated and I hope your mother enjoyed her lunch as well.

The gardens are beautiful right now, so perhaps come and see us soon for afternoon tea or lunch ?

Looking forward to welcoming both back to Llangoed Hall soon.

Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews