We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food served in elegant surroundings”

Llangoed Hall Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Llyswen
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Crickhowell, Powys
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious food served in elegant surroundings”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This was a birthday luncheon and we were 10 in party. We were served with delicious canapes after ordering from a very interesting but not too large menu. The dining room is very elegant with beautiful china, glass and linen. The service was impeccable but not intrusive and the food was truly excellent. Quality wines were available at realistic prices; we will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jebcwmdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    8
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed Golfers”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We recently had a Christmas lunch with a group friends and were disappointed with the quality of cooking. The soup was very nice but was nearly cold, the Brussel sprouts were raw not al dente and the tarte Tatin was burnt! When guests complained the waitress just conveyed an "apology" from the chef. Not good enough.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive for lunch”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The ambience does not disappoint it is warm and welcoming. However there is a price to pay for this. Only one elderly couple were eating in the dining room when we sat down for lunch and only one more couple came after we left. The set menu was no longer available and so a la carte was the only choice. Main courses were £30+ deserts £16+. Bread freshly baked included. The portions were very pretty but the size of a starter. Not filling, the duck breast only a few strips, hardly a breast between three of us. They are aiming for a Michelin Star we were told. We went away disappointed. It was so empty and cannot sustain charging those prices with so few takers. This was a Friday lunch time in November when the colours of Autumn were fabulous. Pity. This was our third visit and probably our last.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We were fortunate to be invited to join family members, who had spent the morning planning wedding arrangements, for Sunday lunch. We were welcomed by name on arrival and immediately we felt valued guests. The fairly recent changes in management have clearly worked very well. Disregard the old advisor comments that do not represent the situation that now exists. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble - though perhaps being part of the wedding arrangement party helped. Staff are clearly proud of what has been achieved. We were lucky enough to have a guided tour of the bedrooms that will accommodate wedding guests for the big day next year - something we now very much look forward to. For a fairly standard Sunday lunch some might think the price a little expensive but it is good value with service that is attentive throughout the meal without being too intrusive. The food was of good standard with some nice touches. If we lived closer than the 100 miles that is the case we would no doubt find ourselves eating at Llangoed Hall quite frequently.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Utterly exquisite !!”
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Wow what can I say. I was lucky enough for my boyfriend to book me into Llangoed Hall - the ex hone of Laura Ashley's father for a romantic birthday meal.... I loved every second of it!!! The grounds are stunning, the building out of this world, the decor amazing, the service 10 out of 10 and the food utterly and exquisitely fabulous!! It was excellent value for money as it was a truly special experience from the door opening to be greeted personally by our name, to the leather hunter boots in the foyer in case of rain. The helicopter outside waiting for the rich!!! The encyclopaedia of wine to choose from!! The perfect setting in perfect company. I recommend Llangoed Hall to those who enjoy fine food, fine wine in surroundings to die for... Magical.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa_Rich35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Llangoed Hall Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Llangoed Hall Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing