We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely hotel but don't rely on getting much sleep!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peterstone Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Peterstone Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanhamlach
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel but don't rely on getting much sleep!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

Peterstone Court is in a great location for exploring the Brecon Beacons. The rooms are very nicely decorated and the bathroom and bedroom had everything we needed. The staff we all very friendly and helpful. We also made use of the spa which was nice enough and the treatments were good value.

However, there was one major downside for us and that was how noisy the hotel is. It's an old building and so you don't expect the soundproofing to be perfect but we could hear EVERYTHING from the room above us as well as the rooms either side.

We asked to be moved to another room for our second night and, to be fair, they tried to accommodate our request but there wasn't another room available. We also mentioned the problem at check out but the receptionist just apologised and said that we looked tired! Not particularly the response we were looking for. When you are paying almost £200 per night for a room, you expect to get a decent night's sleep and so we were left feeling quite disappointed.

We also ate in the restaurant which was fine but not great. The Griffin at Felin Fach is better for food.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonSandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    198
    60
    37
    30
See reviews for
153
474
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

After a few initial hiccups and upset, caused by what I feel is fair to describe as a breakdown in communication, the wedding day went without a hitch! The new wedding co-ordinator is absolutely excellent and helped to ensure our perfect day was indeed just that! The staff in general are fantastic and help to make proceedings seamless! As a bride I would suggest you try to avoid certain members of the senior management as they have little sympathy for the stress involved in organising a wedding. However in spite of this I cannot recommend the venue highly enough! The staff really are a credit to Peterstone! Thank you very much, our families had a wonderful weekend! .... If you are unsure about a wedding venue don't hesitate to book Peterstone, I am very particular and I can confirm the day went without a single problem!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelAide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

This hotel is very comfortable and warm, I have stayed here before in different rooms and all are individual style with all the facilities you need when on weekend break or business trip. Good quality bedding and nice touch with bathrobe and sleepers, the bathroom has very good toiletries.
I ate in the restaurant and had the steak and chips, cooked perfectly and the chips were best I have had. Breakfast has a good choice of continental and cooked options, the welsh rarebit is well worth trying. Hotel displays the local produce suppliers list, which is reassuring.
Plenty of parking and there is a sauna and fitness room.
Complimentary canapés with evening drinks was another nice touch.
Phone connection and 3G not very good, depends what service you are on.
Hotel is set in very scenic and peaceful surroundings and easy to find.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrycrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Booked as a surprise for my girlfriend and we were both very impressed. The staff were very friendly and we even got a free room upgrade. Would recommend for a relaxing break.
Will defiantly go back.......

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
curlynirvana
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

The Rooms were beautiful, the scenery was stunning and the staff were more than helpful. The only reason I don't give it an excellent was that the evening we arrived there was no hot water, this was resolved by the morning. I notice that this has been an issue for a couple of travellers in January.
Spa was lovely. despite the hot water issue, I would definately go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curlynirvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Staying in Wales for a couple of weeks over a 65 birthday Celebration. I thought it would be nice to go out as a surprise on my Husbands Birthday for Sunday lunch. We arrived at 12.45pm at Peterstone Court Hotel Restaurant and were warmly greeted by to people at the reception desk. One of them took our coats away to be hung up and the other person showed us into the lovely old lounge for pre-dinner drinks and to look at the menu. I told the young foreign gentle man taking our full three course order that the dessert required a candle on one please. He went away with our choices leaving us with our drinks totally relaxed and laughing with him at his charm. We were given the best table and the food was delicious. The service was impecable and the dessert came with a chocolate Happy Birthday written on the glass dish it was served on. We were also given two glasses of complementary fizz which was a really nice touch and made us feel very special. The bill was terribly reasonable for such a wonderful experience and leaves a very fond memory which I felt should be shared! After eating our lunch, we walked around the grounds and down along the River Usk with our small dog. It was a beautiful day and all the snowdrops were out in full bloom.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValentineWelwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a fantastic hotel, we enjoyed everything about our stay here. The room was large, bright and comofrtable. A cosy bar and lounge area. Excellent food both at breakfast and evening meal. All staff were friendly and helpful, the jacuzzi and sauna were lovely.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanhamlach
3.1 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
8.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
9.4 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cwmtaf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peterstone Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peterstone Court Hotel

Property: Peterstone Court Hotel
Address: Llanhamlach, Llanhamlach, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7YB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon > Llanhamlach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanhamlach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Peterstone Court Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Peterstone Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peterstone Court Brecon
Hotel Peterstone Court
Peterstone Court Hotel Llanhamlach, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing