We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peterstone Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanhamlach
Certificate of Excellence
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“...”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at Peterstone Court for one night, in one of the 'best' rooms, on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis.

Room 202 is beautifully decorated, incredibly spacious and the selection of toiletries, hot drinks and homemade biscuits were excellent.

My wife made use of the spa which offered a variety of treatments - all of which were very good value for money.

The food was excellent and the dinner allowance was very generous, in that you could pretty much order anything on the menu without having to pay extra. Breakfast was particularly good...the bacon and sausages were some of the best we'd ever had!

Although we enjoyed our stay, a couple of things disappointed us. Firstly, there was no hot water in our room and, although the hotel quickly offered us use of an alternative bathroom, this was not ideal - dashing across the public landing in your dressing gown and slippers is not much fun! Secondly, the bar closed before midnight. It was a Saturday night and we were there to celebrate a 60th birthday...given the cost of the rooms, you'd expect the bar facilities to be open to residents beyond this time. However, as mentioned in a previous review, you can hear all of the comings and goings at the hotel from the rooms, so I imagine that this early closure is to avoid any complaints about noise.

All in all, we had a lovely, but very expensive, night at Peterstone Court. Not quite value for money...but almost!

Room Tip: If you like to shower, make sure you ask for a room with one! Room 204 (which we were offered the u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daidrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    209
    64
    38
    31
See reviews for
161
505
17
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We got engaged whilst staying at Peterstone Court, and returned a year later as part of our honeymoon break, this place is stunning. The staff remembered us, the service is excellent, the perfect balance between professional and friendly. We ve stayed in two different rooms, both were huge with great views and very well equipped. The food is out of this world, again excellent speedy service. The hotel is spotless, warm, friendly, inviting, with open fires, a spa and views to die for. We cannot recommend Peterstone Court highly enough.

Room Tip: Room 207 has spectular views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_May82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

Peterstone Court is in a great location for exploring the Brecon Beacons. The rooms are very nicely decorated and the bathroom and bedroom had everything we needed. The staff we all very friendly and helpful. We also made use of the spa which was nice enough and the treatments were good value.

However, there was one major downside for us and that was how noisy the hotel is. It's an old building and so you don't expect the soundproofing to be perfect but we could hear EVERYTHING from the room above us as well as the rooms either side.

We asked to be moved to another room for our second night and, to be fair, they tried to accommodate our request but there wasn't another room available. We also mentioned the problem at check out but the receptionist just apologised and said that we looked tired! Not particularly the response we were looking for. When you are paying almost £200 per night for a room, you expect to get a decent night's sleep and so we were left feeling quite disappointed.

We also ate in the restaurant which was fine but not great. The Griffin at Felin Fach is better for food.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonSandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

After a few initial hiccups and upset, caused by what I feel is fair to describe as a breakdown in communication, the wedding day went without a hitch! The new wedding co-ordinator is absolutely excellent and helped to ensure our perfect day was indeed just that! The staff in general are fantastic and help to make proceedings seamless! As a bride I would suggest you try to avoid certain members of the senior management as they have little sympathy for the stress involved in organising a wedding. However in spite of this I cannot recommend the venue highly enough! The staff really are a credit to Peterstone! Thank you very much, our families had a wonderful weekend! .... If you are unsure about a wedding venue don't hesitate to book Peterstone, I am very particular and I can confirm the day went without a single problem!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelAide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This hotel is very comfortable and warm, I have stayed here before in different rooms and all are individual style with all the facilities you need when on weekend break or business trip. Good quality bedding and nice touch with bathrobe and sleepers, the bathroom has very good toiletries.
I ate in the restaurant and had the steak and chips, cooked perfectly and the chips were best I have had. Breakfast has a good choice of continental and cooked options, the welsh rarebit is well worth trying. Hotel displays the local produce suppliers list, which is reassuring.
Plenty of parking and there is a sauna and fitness room.
Complimentary canapés with evening drinks was another nice touch.
Phone connection and 3G not very good, depends what service you are on.
Hotel is set in very scenic and peaceful surroundings and easy to find.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrycrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Booked as a surprise for my girlfriend and we were both very impressed. The staff were very friendly and we even got a free room upgrade. Would recommend for a relaxing break.
Will defiantly go back.......

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
curlynirvana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The Rooms were beautiful, the scenery was stunning and the staff were more than helpful. The only reason I don't give it an excellent was that the evening we arrived there was no hot water, this was resolved by the morning. I notice that this has been an issue for a couple of travellers in January.
Spa was lovely. despite the hot water issue, I would definately go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curlynirvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanhamlach
3.1 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
456 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
8.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
580 reviews
9.4 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
15.8 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peterstone Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peterstone Court Hotel

Property: Peterstone Court Hotel
Address: Llanhamlach, Llanhamlach, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7YB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon > Llanhamlach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanhamlach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Peterstone Court Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peterstone Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peterstone Court Brecon
Hotel Peterstone Court
Peterstone Court Hotel Llanhamlach, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing