We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peterstone Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanhamlach
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very dissapointing”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Front of house staff charming but suffers from behind scenes bad management. food mediocre, portions inconsistent and not as described. Breakfast particularly awful - have had better on motorway services. Rooms clean but shabby chic type antique furniture does not equal comfort. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pip378964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterstoneCourt, Front Office Manager at Peterstone Court Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Firstly I would like to say thank you for your feedback. Although this review emphasises that your stay was not an enjoyable one, your criticism has been taken in a positive and constructive manner by the staff. I am sorry to hear that you found our quality of food ‘mediocre’. All of our seasonal produce is fresh and of the highest of quality, with a large percentage of meat travelling only 7 miles down the road from our family farm, Glaisfer Farm. We are also extremely proud of our breakfasts and the level of service that is offered, so apologise for the fact that your experience was negative one. As your complaint was not mentioned at the time, we were unaware and therefore unable to correct any problems you may have had. Our rooms are all individually decorated, with both beautiful antique and modern furniture being purchased to keep in context with the House. Items that need attention are then re-upholstered and maintained, as comfort is a priority to guests. We will look into this and amend accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    214
    66
    38
    32
See reviews for
164
518
17
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We have just returned home from a one night stay at this lovely hotel. We booked a Spring Great Escape which is amazing value diner bed and breakfast. We had the Usk room on the second floor at the front of the building, overlooking fields of lambs. Our room was huge and very comfortable and we were able to settle in very quickly. We used the gym, sauna and jacuzzi and Moroccan relaxation room, all located in the basement Spa. The gym is small but has at least 11 cardio and weigh machines plus a small room with free weights. The Spa staff were welcoming and pleasant.

Dinner was huge and lovely- 3 courses Pressed Pork, then Roast Beef (me) Leg of lamb (husband) and Saffron Pear and ice cream (me) Orange Posset (husband). We couldn't move afterwards. Mains were served with cauliflower cheese, carrots and kale and red cabbage.

Breakfast was equally lovely with a choice of hot foods and a cold table you could help yourself to.

Overall the hotel is very comfortable and welcoming, excellent value and its a pleasant change to stay in a old building with uneven squeaky floors and a gap under the bedroom door.

Would we stay again - yes, even though we only stayed 1 night, it was very relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KE6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterstoneCourt, Front Office Manager at Peterstone Court Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
We really appreciate your feedback, so thank you for taking the time to write this. Its great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and hope to see you again in the future. Keep an eye out for our Special Offers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We had a fabulous two nights enjoying outstanding food, beautiful mountain walks and quite amazing value for money in this smashing little hotel.

Don't hesitate to book up. We'd love to go back as it hit the mark perfectly.

Our thanks to the talented chef and all the lovely staff

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tandfwalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterstoneCourt, Front Office Manager at Peterstone Court Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. All the staff here at Peterstone Court are very touched by your kind feeback, and we would love to see your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in March with husband and the dog. Booked via Late rooms and got a good deal, when we arrived offerred an upgrade to a lovely room on the second floor but unfortunately our dog does not manage steps so we settled on a room in the Stables block. Be aware there is no lift.
The rooms in the stables are good if you are travelling with a dog as they open to grassed areas and although there is stairs it is possible to leave the dog downstairs if you require. The room is set up with bathroom downstairs, up about 10 stairs to bedroom and then a few steps to a mezzanine level where there is desk and chairs and coffee facilities.
The room is well decorated, with large bed and flat screen TV.
We did eat in one night and had a good meal with good service with friendly staff. We were allowed to eat in the library so the dog could accompany us. Breakfast was good with a good selection of hot dishes that were cooked to order.
All of the staff were helpful and friendly.
We have only two complaints, firstly the office is in the same building as the rooms in the Stables and from room 210 you could hear every word that was spoken, which was a lot including some swearing. This was annoying during the day although obviously not at night. Secondly there is no dog waste bins on the grounds. Both of these items were raised with the reception on checkout.
Good grounds surround the hotel with places to walk and good views of the mountains.

Room Tip: As mentioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valandroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterstoneCourt, Front Office Manager at Peterstone Court Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback, both positive and negative comments are extremely helpful to us, so we do appreciate it. Your comments regarding the noise levels in the office have been noted, and the staff are now fully aware of the disturbance that it can cause. Also, process is being made in installing dog waste bins on the grounds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed for one night on the great escape package. Great value for money. The location was stunning, we took our dog & there was plenty of beautiful countryside to explore. We stayed in a stable room which was very clean, homely & decor was charming. Used the spa which was small but very good value for money, staff were lovely & there was a huge range of treatments available. The treatments that we had were perfect - very relaxing & the products used smell divine!!
Evening meal & breakfast were fantastic, good choice on the set menu & portions were generous. Staff had no problems changing some of the meals slightly to accommodate.
All the staff encountered were lovely, very helpful & professional.
One small suggestion would be more dog waste bin's positioned around the grounds.
A fantastic getaway for a fantastic price, will definitely recommend & visit again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rvr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterstoneCourt, Front Office Manager at Peterstone Court Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Thank you for your review, and I'm glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. The location of the Hotel is ideal for walkers of all experience, so its great to hear that you made the most of this!In regards to the comment concerning the dog waste bins, we have taken this on board and this will be solved shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Five of us went to Peterstone Court to celebrate a 21st birthday, with a massage and use of the facilities. It's easy to find, and everyone was so curious. We were shown the facilities, given robes and slippers to wear and nothing was too much trouble. The massage was one of the best massages I have ever had, and very professional. A special mention to Becci whose email correspondence was so helpful. Although the outdoor swimming pool was closed due to the winter weather, there was ample time spent in the sauna, jacuzzi and in the relaxation room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterstoneCourt, Front Office Manager at Peterstone Court Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
I'm delighted to read your review of your recent visit and it means a lot to all of the staff when we know you have had such an enjoyable stay. Thank you on behalf of all the staff at the hotel for taking the time to write your comments and we hope you'll return to visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed here because we were attending a function held at the hotel. We were shown to our room on the 2nd floor which was lovely with a huge bathroom and terrific views of the mountains.
I can't really fault the food or serive at the function we went to. I've had a lot worse at similar occasions!
The bar area is a relaxing area for a nightcap. Breakfast is delicious and the menu varied. I had smoked haddock with poached eggs. Perfectly cooked.
A real treat of a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scooterpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterstoneCourt, Front Office Manager at Peterstone Court Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We would love to have you back as a couple to enjoy the Hotel from a different perspective. Look out for new offers on our website...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanhamlach
9.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
9.0 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
583 reviews
3.1 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
594 reviews
9.4 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
15.8 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peterstone Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peterstone Court Hotel

Property: Peterstone Court Hotel
Address: Llanhamlach, Llanhamlach, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7YB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon > Llanhamlach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanhamlach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Peterstone Court Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Peterstone Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peterstone Court Brecon
Hotel Peterstone Court
Peterstone Court Hotel Llanhamlach, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing