We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peterstone Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanhamlach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We were booked in to this hotel for a 4 night stay but had to check out after only one night!
Unfortunately it did not come up to scratch or expectations for the the following reasons.
My suspicions of poor cleanliness were alerted when I moved the TV to a different angle and saw thick dust under the stand.There were stains and marks on the chest of drawers on which the tea tray was placed suggesting it had rarely been wiped clean.Inside the drawers was dust and hair etc ..again suggesting they were not cleaned out after previous guests.We could also see that where hooks had come off walls and door in the bathroom no replacement had been fitted leaving shabby looking holes.The bathroom was not satisfactorily clean with brown stains in the toilet pan, disintegrating grouting and accumulated dust on the floor in and around the toilet and bath.As I was now becoming more uncomfortable in the room I felt that I should investigate under the bed..I found what can only be described as an unhealthy collection of debris which can only have been there for a lengthy period of time...hair,hairpins,fluff,old slipper,A4 paper and a plastic bag containing some unrecognisable objects plus a huge cobweb hanging from the bed canopy.
I called reception and the Assistant Manager came to the room accompanied by a member of staff and a 'Henry" vacuum cleaner.As the problem was too vast for the 'Henry' to solve in a small amount of time we were shown 2 alternative rooms.
After checking the cleanliness of them..although not totally acceptable..dirty glasses,dirty pillowcase we agreed to stay for the night in one of them although not feeling 100% comfortable at this point.
The evening meal was average as was service with the exception of one young girl who was cheerful and polite.
The next morning we had breakfast in the conservatory which again could have benefitted from a thorough clean along the edges and and corners of the floor.The haddock at breakfast was excellent but the coffee was awful...undrinkable!
By this time we had decided to move elsewhere for the remainder of our Brecons break and were fortunate to be able to find availability at Gliffaes just 15 minutes away..a beautiful hotel ..spotlessly clean and hugely welcoming
I have to wonder whether I was in the same hotel as all the other travellers bar 1 on trip advisor!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bluecarmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterstoneCourt, Front Office Manager at Peterstone Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

As a 5 star restaurant with rooms, we do have a high standard which we comply too, and I apologise that we didn’t meet your expectations. We achieved this standard in the recent past, and all of the team at Peterstone Court work hard to maintain this excellence. There is no excuse at all for this disappointing level of cleanliness, and I can assure you this problem has been addressed. As our Housekeeping department unfortunately failed on this occasion, we charged nothing for your accommodation for the one night in compensation for your discomfort. We would love to welcome you back in the future and I can confidently say that the inconvenience you experienced will not occur again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

864 - 870 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

We have been in Britain traveling on our own for more than two weeks. Thos far th Ptetertone Court Hotel has been our favorite place to stay. We are glad we booked a standard double. It was huge and luxorios. The view of the sheepfolds was so entertaining. We checked in during an outpor but by the time we got to our room there was a rainbow over the fields, All the staff we encountered were efficient, friendly and helpful. Food at dinner and breakfast superb.

Our only suggestion for improvement is for lights near the seating. In all of Britain we have stayed in only one room that had reading light near a chair, There where so many comfortable chairs and couches in our room at Petertonr Court. It would have been so nice to be able to read there.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ShirleyD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed for two nights on the great escape deal. Beautiful room at front of house on the first floor overlooking the fields. Food was delicious and although not massive portions, we all felt full....quality not quantity. A good variety of breakfast options to suit all tastes. Highly recommend the sausages. The staff were friendly and efficient and we felt able to relax and enjoy the house, food and wine and enjoy our break away. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Excellent hotel. We stayed in Usk room on second floor. Bedroom was huge, as was bed! Wonderful to overlook fields with sheep and newborn lambs.
The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Bar staff equally pleasant. dinner was not huge but we all found it was more than adequate. All four of us enjoyed every course. breakfast was great, selection of cereals, fresh fruit salad, apricots prunes. Fruit juice, croissants as well as a good choice of cooked breakfast. Restaurant staff and breakfast staff were very efficient and friendly.
We would all go back another time and recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: We both had rooms at the front of the house, which were large and had wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathyswinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Front of house staff charming but suffers from behind scenes bad management. food mediocre, portions inconsistent and not as described. Breakfast particularly awful - have had better on motorway services. Rooms clean but shabby chic type antique furniture does not equal comfort. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pip378964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterstoneCourt, Front Office Manager at Peterstone Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Firstly I would like to say thank you for your feedback. Although this review emphasises that your stay was not an enjoyable one, your criticism has been taken in a positive and constructive manner by the staff. I am sorry to hear that you found our quality of food ‘mediocre’. All of our seasonal produce is fresh and of the highest of quality, with a large percentage of meat travelling only 7 miles down the road from our family farm, Glaisfer Farm. We are also extremely proud of our breakfasts and the level of service that is offered, so apologise for the fact that your experience was negative one. As your complaint was not mentioned at the time, we were unaware and therefore unable to correct any problems you may have had. Our rooms are all individually decorated, with both beautiful antique and modern furniture being purchased to keep in context with the House. Items that need attention are then re-upholstered and maintained, as comfort is a priority to guests. We will look into this and amend accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We have just returned home from a one night stay at this lovely hotel. We booked a Spring Great Escape which is amazing value diner bed and breakfast. We had the Usk room on the second floor at the front of the building, overlooking fields of lambs. Our room was huge and very comfortable and we were able to settle in very quickly. We used the gym, sauna and jacuzzi and Moroccan relaxation room, all located in the basement Spa. The gym is small but has at least 11 cardio and weigh machines plus a small room with free weights. The Spa staff were welcoming and pleasant.

Dinner was huge and lovely- 3 courses Pressed Pork, then Roast Beef (me) Leg of lamb (husband) and Saffron Pear and ice cream (me) Orange Posset (husband). We couldn't move afterwards. Mains were served with cauliflower cheese, carrots and kale and red cabbage.

Breakfast was equally lovely with a choice of hot foods and a cold table you could help yourself to.

Overall the hotel is very comfortable and welcoming, excellent value and its a pleasant change to stay in a old building with uneven squeaky floors and a gap under the bedroom door.

Would we stay again - yes, even though we only stayed 1 night, it was very relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KE6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterstoneCourt, Front Office Manager at Peterstone Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

We really appreciate your feedback, so thank you for taking the time to write this. Its great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and hope to see you again in the future. Keep an eye out for our Special Offers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We had a fabulous two nights enjoying outstanding food, beautiful mountain walks and quite amazing value for money in this smashing little hotel.

Don't hesitate to book up. We'd love to go back as it hit the mark perfectly.

Our thanks to the talented chef and all the lovely staff

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tandfwalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterstoneCourt, Front Office Manager at Peterstone Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review. All the staff here at Peterstone Court are very touched by your kind feeback, and we would love to see your return in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanhamlach
9.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
9 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
644 reviews
6.6 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
520 reviews
8.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
666 reviews
9.4 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peterstone Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peterstone Court Hotel

Address: Llanhamlach, Llanhamlach, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7YB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon > Llanhamlach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanhamlach
Price Range: £119 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peterstone Court Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peterstone Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peterstone Court Brecon
Hotel Peterstone Court
Peterstone Court Hotel Llanhamlach, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing