We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many faults”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peterstone Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanhamlach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2013

During our stay there was no obvious manager or owner in evidence which in our opinion led to the following faults:-
1. Despite being told about a nut allergy when booking the hotel and again when ordering the meal, a starter came out with pesto on the plate. On querying with the waiter I was told "you must not eat it" and then the waiter started to walk away. I had to call the waiter back to ask for the plate to be removed and redone. DANGEROUS AND UNACCEPTABLE.
2. We were not advised when booking this hotel that there would be an event on. There was a very loud rock band playing at a large function. A member of staff said to us the music would stop at 11pm. At 11.15 pm we complained and were told it was the last song, but it wasn't. We then had to endure people trying to vomit under our bedroom window and people eventually leaving noisily about midnight.
3. Breakfasts very poor. They served off orange juice and the eggs were overcooked. We were given 4 half slices of toast for 3 people.
4. On another night there was another party which resulted in very merry party-goers in fancy dress using the formal dining room as a corridor.
5. There was a 20cm rip in the duvet cover. The floor tiles in the bathroom were not securely fixed and there was no safely mat in the bath. This typifies the lack of attention to detail.
6. Apart from the young waitresses at breakfast, the staff were generally off-hand and disinterested. One complained about the party herself and that she was in for a late night.
This is a crying shame as the building is beautiful , the views are stunning and the quality of the cooking at dinner (nut allergy issue aside) was good. The hotel is in desperate need of a good manager. Having read other poor/ terrible reviews on this website it is clear that some of our issues have previously been raised and it would appear that nothing has improved.Will not be returning.

Room Tip: avoid the front of the hotel where the function room is and where taxis collect party-goers late at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

855 - 861 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

We were lucky enough to stay at Peterstone Court Hotel for one night over a hot weekend in July: the one we will always remember because Andy Murray won the Gentlemen's Single Tennis at Wimbledon.
The hotel is set in its own extensive, landscaped grounds surrounded by beautiful parkland within the Brecon Beacons. A piece of Georgian architecture, so much admired by envious onlookers, this building is so evocitive of days gone by; creaky floorboards, the odd floor out of plumb and a lack of sockets all adding to the romance of this wonderful place.
We genuinely loved this place and we're sure you will too. Just NB that ths is not a characterless and faceless modern box with all the 21st century guff that some folk crave....go on, relax and enjoy!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlnLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We arrived by inadvertance, the victims of a reservation gone wrong at another hotel after a full day of deriving. So, off the top, full marks to the Peterstone Court for taking us in. The location is peaceful and the reception was warm. The restaurant is very good. So why only 2 stars?

We were on the top floor, so up 40 steep steps (I counted three times). They did help with the luggage, but if you re mobility-impaired this may not be your hotel. The room was spacious, with large double-hung windows that open fully. The floor, however, sagged noticeably in the middle, enough so that you never felt you were standing level. The bathroom floor sloped enough that you could see it from the bedroom, and again it all felt like you were going down hill. The carpet was worn, with seams lifting. The bed sagged badly in the middle, enough so that my wife and I kept running into each other. The sofa, you guessed it, is low and sags. The lighting was bad - no ceiling lights, and in order to plug in lamps you had to unplug other devices. In this age of everything electronic and needing to be charged overnight, there weren't enough outlets.

The hotel has recently changed hands, and the new owners may restore and upgrade the hotel. I hope so, for with just a little improvement (except the sagging floor) the hotel could be a little gem on the edge of the Brecon Beacons.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExpectGoodService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Peaceful and beautiful area, lovely views and grounds and the staff were excellent, very helpful and welcoming. We stayed in the cottage for the first night, cottage is great with ample parking (at the end of the main house's drive). Tea and coffee facilities all nicely laid out but no milk! So we had to walk up to the main house to sort this out. Second night we stayed in the main house in a lovely family room but were suprised to find that we needed to ask for another cup and robe for the third person in our family. The breakfast was great on both mornings and the spa facilities were nice and welcoming. Out door swiming pool was very cold but clean (what about a small solar panel to take the chill off the water?) Grounds to this elegant house where well kept and a pleasure to see.
All in all we liked this hotel but as a five star establishment a little more attention to detail needed. We will definatly stay there again and speak highly of Peterstone Court to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My husband booked a weekend here for my birthday, from the moment we arrived to when we left the service was first class.

On arrival we were escorted to our room which was stylish, comfortable and spotless. The furnishings and decor was great, the two windows provided a fantastic view of the mountains. Toiletries were of good quality and the fresh baked biscuits a real treat.

We booked an evening meal and were again pleased, the choice good. We didn't have to wait long but all courses were cooked to order, fresh local produce which as a weel presented as it was tasty. Service throughout good and not over the top.

Breakfast was fresh and well cooked, plenty of choice if ou want a cooked or to breakfast as well as a varied assortment of cereals, jams and breads.

Location of the hotel is ideal for the Beacons and surrounding areas, 40 minutes to Cardiff via the A470.

I would recommend this hotel based on pur experience and stay

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sonet room, good views and nice furnishings, however this ia an old building and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jab242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My wife and I spent two nights here using the spa break offer at £195 a night. Included in that price was £50 worth of spa vouchers (2x£25), breakfast, a welcome drink, £35 each towards dinner and a room in one of the converted stables. I found that to be very good value.

The hotel is an oasis of calm and I really recommend the spa treatments. The staff are very professional and they are set in what were the underground wine cellars.

The food is lovely and locally sourced. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The menu indeed does not change each night but my wife is vegetarian and coped very well. She was not disappointed at all.

The converted stable rooms are set over two floors and you can park right next to them.

Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: If you can, get a stable room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Had the pleasure of attending a colleagues wedding at Peterstone Court. It was a welcome return for my wife & I as we have previously stayed for a long weekend. Just as during our last stay the welcome was superb and the staff's helpfulness and general sense of putting the customer first shone through all day and right to the end of the night. Food was terrific. Wonderful day made even more pleasurable by a hotel and team that put the customer first. Bravo. Will return.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MrGinWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanhamlach
9.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
9 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
644 reviews
6.6 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
520 reviews
8.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
666 reviews
9.4 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peterstone Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peterstone Court Hotel

Address: Llanhamlach, Llanhamlach, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7YB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon > Llanhamlach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanhamlach
Price Range: £119 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peterstone Court Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peterstone Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peterstone Court Brecon
Hotel Peterstone Court
Peterstone Court Hotel Llanhamlach, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing