We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal, service and experience”
Review of The Old Ford Inn

The Old Ford Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanhamlach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Ford Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Llanhamlach B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

Took family there for a Christmas dinner. Simply excellent service and food. It's also excellent value. The food was delicious and every plate was cleaned of food at the end of the sitting.

The service was brilliant. Sophie are head waitress was warm, friendly and very efficient.

Will be a regular from now on :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank DrPThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2012

this was our 6th stop at the old ford inn in over the past 3 years

As always 1st class service and good food good helpings and value Theroast of the day is my meal of choice also on offer smaller size meals of whats on menu.

(have not used B&B as week were booked into travelodge)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthamptonUKAndy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

We only stopped over for lunch on our way thru Brecon Beacons and we have to say it was the best lamb dish we've ever tasted in our 3 weeks stay in Britain! The serving lady says it was local lamb...we were also very impressed with the sides and portion. We have tried to order the same dish at other places in Wales and Scotland...not the same high standard as this one!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojomiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

After enjoying a fab stay in January this year, my husband and I decided to return for one night while our daughter and her husband attended a nearby wedding. We were given a different room this time which had outstanding views of the Beacons. The sight of the sun setting on Pen-Y-Fan was breathtaking. David, the landlord, suggested that a trip to Brecon Cathedral would make a pleasant afternoon. It was an amazing place! While we were there an orchestra was rehearsing for an evening concert which made the experience unforgettable! Once again we enjoyed a tasty meal recommended by the staff followed by a relaxing evening in the bar chatting to some local people. This quaint, country pub provided us with a welcome break and we left there anticipating our next visit........the Christmas menu looks inviting!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have amazing views of the Beacons
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cartec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Came here for Sunday lunch. With quite short notice, they were able to accommodate 9 of us. The staff were very friendly and served us very promptly. The Sunday lunch was great with very generous portions - great value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Alyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Family all met at Old Ford Inn for parents joint birthday Starters were okay, Mains were VERY bad crispy duck could not be eaten it was so hard & dried out,surf & turf come out with 4 small scampi with it for around £ 15 .00. I complained & a few more scampi were brought out, whole meal was nothing special.
Would not recommend

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank NashJones50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Lovely round table which is hard to find these days . It is lovely for a group of us . Running a B&B myself we like supporting the local restaurants and eating at them ourselves so we can refer our guests to where we have eaten to suit their requirments.Food was good value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRYNDUGUESTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old Ford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ford Inn

Address: Brecon Beacons National Park, Llanhamlach, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7YB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon > Llanhamlach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llanhamlach
Price Range: £27 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centuries-old, former coaching inn with views over River Usk to Brecon Beacons. Cosy cottage-style bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Ford Hotel Llanhamlach
The Old Ford Inn Llanhamlach, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing