We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Glorious Food”
Review of The Old Ford Inn

The Old Ford Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanhamlach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Ford Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Llanhamlach B&B and Inns
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Food Glorious Food”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

As we only live some 2 miles away, we tend to visit the Old Ford Inn most Fridays, the last time being on the 15th March 2013. Always a warm welcome from Dave and Maria, Abbie, Aaron and Lisa. Excellent food, plenty of it, Great value for money, We have never left the table feeling we could eat more, only problem we have is we are spoilt for choice from the menu. They are very flexible, you only have to ask and they will do their upmost to please. Would have no hesitation in recommending any one to visit this wonderful establishment. Looking forward to our next visit on the 29th March

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    19
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Yesterday we had Sunday lunch here, it was great. We booked a table for two at 12 30pm, we were seated with drinks on arrival, the menu choice was good including vegetarian sausage, we had starters of soup and garlic mushrooms on garlic bread, delicious, then the traditional Sunday roast, which was again delicious, the gravy really finished it off, the vegetables were plenty and hot and the meat was tender and tasty , thre wasn't any room left for desert, maybe next time as the Old Ford is a definite place to return to for a great lunch , loved it. Also it is good value for money , enjoy it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

we stayed here in October 2012 as we were attending a wedding reception at Peterstone Court Hotel. The Old Ford Inn was just a short walk from the venue so stayed here on a bed and breakfast basis. The B&B was spotlessly clean, warm and welcoming. The rooms had all the facilities that you need and the breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackgraceben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

Took family there for a Christmas dinner. Simply excellent service and food. It's also excellent value. The food was delicious and every plate was cleaned of food at the end of the sitting.

The service was brilliant. Sophie are head waitress was warm, friendly and very efficient.

Will be a regular from now on :-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DrPThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton UK
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

this was our 6th stop at the old ford inn in over the past 3 years

As always 1st class service and good food good helpings and value Theroast of the day is my meal of choice also on offer smaller size meals of whats on menu.

(have not used B&B as week were booked into travelodge)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthamptonUKAndy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

We only stopped over for lunch on our way thru Brecon Beacons and we have to say it was the best lamb dish we've ever tasted in our 3 weeks stay in Britain! The serving lady says it was local lamb...we were also very impressed with the sides and portion. We have tried to order the same dish at other places in Wales and Scotland...not the same high standard as this one!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojomiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

After enjoying a fab stay in January this year, my husband and I decided to return for one night while our daughter and her husband attended a nearby wedding. We were given a different room this time which had outstanding views of the Beacons. The sight of the sun setting on Pen-Y-Fan was breathtaking. David, the landlord, suggested that a trip to Brecon Cathedral would make a pleasant afternoon. It was an amazing place! While we were there an orchestra was rehearsing for an evening concert which made the experience unforgettable! Once again we enjoyed a tasty meal recommended by the staff followed by a relaxing evening in the bar chatting to some local people. This quaint, country pub provided us with a welcome break and we left there anticipating our next visit........the Christmas menu looks inviting!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have amazing views of the Beacons
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cartec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanhamlach
0.4 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
938 reviews
9.4 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#3 of 43 in Brecon
257 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ty Helyg Guest House
Ty Helyg Guest House
#2 of 43 in Brecon
126 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#4 of 43 in Brecon
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ford Inn

Property: The Old Ford Inn
Address: Brecon Beacons National Park, Llanhamlach, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7YB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon > Llanhamlach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llanhamlach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centuries-old, former coaching inn with views over River Usk to Brecon Beacons. Cosy cottage-style bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Ford Hotel Llanhamlach
The Old Ford Inn Llanhamlach, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing