We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pub grub”
Review of The Old Ford Inn

The Old Ford Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanhamlach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Ford Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Llanhamlach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great pub grub”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Cozy little pub with delicious food, nothing fancy, just good old-fashioned home cooking with ample portions.

What really stands out is the excellent, very friendly service... And the views of the Beacons are just breathtaking....

Definitely worth a stop!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    17
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed here because we had a wedding in nearby Peterstone Court, would NEVER stay again & would NEVER recommend anyone else. On arrival we were told we had to wait til 12 midday to check in, we arrived at 11.50, we wanted to get changed for the wedding but had to go to my mother in laws room to do so. Was told in no uncertain terms, we should have stayed Friday night if that's what we wanted the room for!!! The landlady reluctantly let us in but she wasn't happy. Sun morn breakfast was basic but ok, only a half hour slot between 9-9.30. Upon leaving we were waiting in the bar for our lift & we were told we were holding them up, the cleaners were arriving at 11 & they wanted to get on!!! We couldn't get a phone signal so we were told to go outside & ring! She effectively threw us out! On the whole we felt as soon as we'd paid for the room the landlady wanted us out from there, we were made to feel a complete inconvenience & not welcome any longer. On reflection we wish we'd paid a bit more & stayed in the wonderful Peterstone Court where the staff & surroundings were magnificent.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juliejulsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theoldford I, Owner at The Old Ford Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
We are very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us but I feel compelled to respond to your comments.
We are a small family run hotel and not the Hilton or Celtic Manor (check in at the these establishments are after 3pm )We have a small staff team and time is very precious to us as is the satisfaction of our guests .
Firstly you and your family were told check in was after 12pm and 4 guest in you party wanted to check in at 10.30 when the pub and rooms are being cleaned. We did our best in trying to get your rooms ready as soon as we were able as we were aware you had to attend a wedding at 1pm.
I believe most of you party were in there rooms at just gone 11am and not 1150am
Check out was a whole new fiasco you and your party were informed that check out was 10.30am but at 11.40am your group were still not completely checked out .We are extremely busy on Sundays feeding in excess of 150 people and with new bed and breakfasts guests ,which luckily didn't arrive till 6pm .
We have run The Old Ford Inn for over 9 years and this is the first time we have felt the need to respond to a comment on TripAdvisor .
As you can see from the vast majority of reviews for our bed and breakfast guest and dinners all enjoy there time with us and choose to return time and time again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

After trawling brecknockshire for a late afternoon lunch we came upon this hidden gem. Hoping for some pub grub on the riverside, I think we found the next best place. The beer garden features an artists dream with the picturesque beacons and changing skylines. The food, wine and service were equally as good with a selection of home cooked dishes complimented by polite attentive staff.

Give it a go. I may just visit again when next in Brecon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

We has a Sunday Dinner & Apple Tart +Custard and it was lush
Would definitely recommend this pub you couldn't ask for a warmer welcome .
Nice that its Family run to .
Very busy it was packed out the day we went there they had
to turn people away .
Lovely & clean , lots of bikers passing on a Sunday .
Great views of the fields & farms

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank taffywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Booked table for 4 for sunday lunch. Food was very good but it would have been more enjoyable if the table had not been laid out with a "plastic" tablecloth - very disappointed as the room was not particularly pleasant. Looked like they had seated us where the children eat. Luckily for us the children on this sunday were very well behaved!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jananddenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

As we only live some 2 miles away, we tend to visit the Old Ford Inn most Fridays, the last time being on the 15th March 2013. Always a warm welcome from Dave and Maria, Abbie, Aaron and Lisa. Excellent food, plenty of it, Great value for money, We have never left the table feeling we could eat more, only problem we have is we are spoilt for choice from the menu. They are very flexible, you only have to ask and they will do their upmost to please. Would have no hesitation in recommending any one to visit this wonderful establishment. Looking forward to our next visit on the 29th March

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Yesterday we had Sunday lunch here, it was great. We booked a table for two at 12 30pm, we were seated with drinks on arrival, the menu choice was good including vegetarian sausage, we had starters of soup and garlic mushrooms on garlic bread, delicious, then the traditional Sunday roast, which was again delicious, the gravy really finished it off, the vegetables were plenty and hot and the meat was tender and tasty , thre wasn't any room left for desert, maybe next time as the Old Ford is a definite place to return to for a great lunch , loved it. Also it is good value for money , enjoy it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanhamlach
0.4 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
3.5 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#5 of 43 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ty Helyg Guest House
Ty Helyg Guest House
#2 of 43 in Brecon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
3.7 mi away
Old Castle Farm Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ford Inn

Property: The Old Ford Inn
Address: Brecon Beacons National Park, Llanhamlach, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7YB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon > Llanhamlach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llanhamlach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centuries-old, former coaching inn with views over River Usk to Brecon Beacons. Cosy cottage-style bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Ford Hotel Llanhamlach
The Old Ford Inn Llanhamlach, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing