We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definitely worth a visit.”
Review of The Old Ford Inn

The Old Ford Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Old Ford Inn ,a family run pub in the heart of the Brecon BeaconsMaria and David McCarthy offer a warm welcome to all our guests5 En suite rooms availableLunch and evening menu available 12-2.30pm and 6pm till 9pm (Closed on Mondays )Sunday lunch served all day till 8pm full menu also available from 6pmAll food is homecooked and sourced locally ,a good range of vegetarian and gluten free meals are availableSenior days are on Tuesday and Thursday lunch where a 2 course meal is on offer to over 60'sFull menu is also available on these days
ebbw vale
Level Contributor
68 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“definitely worth a visit.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I went for a sunday lunch, on a bank holiday monday.
My partner had been told the food was really good.

I have passed this Inn many times and never thought of trying it.
There is nothing wrong with its appearance, just nothing thats says "wow, "
It all looks a bit out of date.
Inside is the same, (see "revenousenglishman" review) who sums it up perfectly.

We both had the roast beef dinner,very jenerous portions ,well cooked veg ,and great gravy.
The service was good .the staff were friendly, I liked it in a strange way.

I say "a strange way" because the whole place feels like you have walked into a 1970's time warp.

I would go again,and if you want straight ,unpretensious well cooked pub food give it a go.!

Some outdoor seating. They could make more of it, all a bit shabby.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    37
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
96 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“So So”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

The views from this pub are stunning, unfortunately that is about as good as it gets. The food is ok at best. The decor is out of step with the exterior which is quite promising. The interior is quite old fashioned, but not old fashioned enough to be back in fashion, more 1970's than 1870's. The staff were friendly enough and helpful. I had the overcooked (or over microwaved) dry bbq chicken melt, while my wife had the roast of the day (beef) which we suspect was just re-heated. The vegetables were fine. All in all very average, can't say I would rush back. Sorry Old ford, but you need to raise your game to entice me back.

Helpful?
Thank ravenousenglishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous ribs”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I think I would seriously consider travelling 300 miles to taste the braised ribs again, along with great accommodation the food is hearty, delicious and as with all eating experiences enhanced by the superb hosts and their staff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Botis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Agnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and good home cooking!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Having been here more than once, both midweek and on a Sunday, always enjoy the service and food being served here.
Family run with attention to detail.
Sunday lunch especially good with better than average portions and the best Yorkshire pud to be had anywhere in South Wales! Booking is advised to be sure of a table on a Sunday but saying that we have always been accommodated whenever we have turned up without booking first.
Definitely a good idea to sit in the conservatory if you can as the view is amazing, lovely scene of the Brecon Beacons, what a way to enjoy dinner!
I always bring our visitors here at the end of a drive over Llangynidyr, a fitting way to end a lovely day out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good hearty pub food”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Excellent pub food, perfect after a days walking up Pen Y Fan! Staff are very welcoming and friendly and the service was very speedy. Would definitely recommend!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank FMay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Ford Inn also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Llanfrynach, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to The Old Ford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing