We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent night away”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Felin Fach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Felin Fach Griffin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Felin Fach
Certificate of Excellence
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent night away”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here for one night. The food, service and beer are all excellent. We were made to feel welcome and valued from the moment we arrived. Our room was clean, comfortable and warm. There was enough space although it was a bit of a squeeze at the end of the bed.

There was a little traffic noise from the road but not enough to be intrusive. The hotel is well situated to visit the Brecon Beacons National Park and the Black Mountains. We will certainly go again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    98
    36
    13
    5
See reviews for
67
264
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Thank you Felin Fach. You looked after so well and nothing was too much trouble and the menu choice was excellent. Our business guests from Belgium and Scotland thoroughly enjoyed the food which was, I have to say excellent! The meal was well presented and full of flavour. I had the welsh beef pie which was beautifully cooked, just so tender The staff were attentive without being obtrusive in our private dining room. We look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14MEG14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

A lovely pub and restaurant with rooms. Welcoming, relaxed atmosphere, great food, good wines- well priced, well kept beer and very helpful staff. Definitely worth a visit (or two!) One small problem, which the management recognise and warn guests about in the room information pack; the hot water supply is temperamental. If your bath or shower won't run hot they'll give you a free drink while you wait for it to warm up - a lovely gesture, but it would be better to sort out the plumbing system. Overall, though, this place is to be highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearofswansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We love the Gurnnard's Head in Cornwall, owned by the same team so decided to try the Griffin. It is situated on a busy main road so not really the place for a tranquil stay. Our room was over the kitchen so was also noisy. The extract running under our window. Also it is a dual aspect room but sadly this means that you have pub smokers gathering under one window and staff smokers and service area under the other. You will have noise until late at night and then it starts up again early! Would advise you to ask about which rooms are the quietest though road noise is likely whichever room you are in.

We also had an incident with our meal on the second night. In fairness the issues we raised were acknowledged and staff moved us to another room that happened to be available. They also dealt fairly with the problem we had with our meal.

They have a great attitude to your canine friend and this is much appreciated and the staff were friendly.

If you are after a quiet break this may not be the best place to go. The establishment in Cornwall is really good.

Room Tip: Mention when booking that you would like a quieter room but bear in mind this may not be one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wavedreamerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A lovely, relaxed atmosphere, good food (although some things are incredibly salty!), great choice of wine, and a really nice choice of ciders.
Bedrooms are quirky, with uneven, creaky floors and the bathroom was a little bit tired, but it's an old building and a country pub, so it meets expectations.
For those looking for a cosy, casual and welcoming base to explore the Brecon area, this is the one...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Type17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Was recently taken to the Griffin for a birthday celebration Supper and was impressed. It has an excellent local reputation and this was my first visit.
Food and service was excellent and the evening had a nice relaxed informal atmosphere.
Will certainly return, especially if someone else is paying again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night after hearing great things and were not disappointed. Room was lovely - fantastic shower. No wifi or tv, nice to get away for a change.

The food in the restaurant was delicious, and service was lovely, friendly and welcoming. Excellent beer in the form of Monty's Moonrise and great wine. Only tiny let down we're the scrambled eggs at breakfast, not sure what the chef was trying to do but it didn't work for us. The locally smoked salmon on the other hand was excellent. We booked at dinner bed and breakfast rate - very reasonable and able to mix and match anything from the set and al a carte menus at no extra cost.

Overall a lovely place which we will return to.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jstanton8869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Felin Fach
4.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
590 reviews
4.1 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
456 reviews
4.1 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
12.0 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
5.8 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Felin Fach Griffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Felin Fach Griffin

Property: The Felin Fach Griffin
Address: Felin Fach, Felin Fach LD3 0UB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Felin Fach
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Felin Fach
Hotel Class:4 star — The Felin Fach Griffin 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Felin Fach Griffin Hotel Felin Fach
Felin Fach Griffin Brecon
Felin Fach Griffin Hotel Brecon
The Felin Fach Griffin Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing