We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeding Expectations”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Felin Fach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Felin Fach Griffin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Felin Fach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeding Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

I'm a regular user of the Good Pub Guide, and The Griffin has been awarded the Welsh Dining Pub of the Year for 2012/13, so we expected it would be good. The staff well very welcoming when we arrived and we were shown to our room which had a four poster bed and very well appointed bathroom. TV is not standard in any rooms, but a call to reception resulted in an almost immediate installation. The highlight was the dinner on both nights; it's a short but varied menu which is changed every day. Standards are exceptionally high with dishes served that you might expect to have in MIchelin Star restaurants. We take regular pub weekends away, but The Griffin has set new heights on the gastronomy scale, as well as being exceptionally good value for money. They definitely deserve their Dining Pub award.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    96
    36
    13
    5
See reviews for
66
253
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We arrived at the Felin Fach Griffin on a cold wet December evening and were made
very welcome by the lovely staff. A large fire was leaping around in the reception/lounge area and squidgy settees were full of people.
Because of a late booking we had to move rooms, but were happy to do that. Room 5 was a four poster, very snug and quiet. Room 3 was larger and brighter. Both rooms were very comfortable though and we enjoyed the stay.
The food is excellent, beautifully cooked and presented.
We were in Wales for a funeral sadly, but couldn't have chosen a better place to stay for this. It was warm welcoming and easy to be there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieG02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

great Sunday lunch at the Griffin.Beautiful roast beef and seasonal veg from their garden i think.Excellent gin and tonic made with Tarquins gin, It was recommended by a very well informed waiter and what a delight it was with a hint of orange.Lovely log fire to welcome you and comfy sofas.It really is an absolute pleasure to dine there.Just wish i lived a bit closer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancashire56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Arrived to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary two night stay. Lovely warm welcome as we had arrived at the lunch deadline we had a starter and a drink saving ourselves for our evening meal, and there was not problem with just ordering a starter. We then went up to our room, which was a bit on the small side, but that was not a problem, in the room was a bottle of champagne which our daughters had arranged for a surprise. We had a lovely meal that evening good priced wine and good service. The best meal was the Sunday lunch this was excellent the roast potatoes just right, I find that so often Sunday lunches out are never as good as at home but this was not the case here, thoroughly recommend it. Just a few negatives. I was surprised to see that the inside of the window frame did not look as though it had been cleaned in a long time. The room was also quite noisy, a lot of creaking floorboards ( but then it is an old inn) and there was some noise from the bar below. Having said that we enjoyed our stay and all the star were very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Room 4 subject to noise from bar and creaking floor boards, and faces out on to a main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Vikings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We got lost trying to find the pub because there is another Griffin within 4 miles!! I'm so glad we ended up at the correct one in Felin Fach! Lots of parking outside. Beautiful inside. Plenty of different seating areas for everyone whether you want privacy or not. Roaring log fires and most importantly delicious food! Our group of 8 had a variety of starters, mains and puds and not one fault. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Scrumbledee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We have just had 2 nights (Sunday to Tuesday) stay here. Loved it - cosy pub atmosphere with super food and nice accommodation. Also, especially dog friendly - bowl, towel, poo bags and boxes of treats provided. Our first visit to this part of Wales - beautiful counryside and the autumn colours were magnificent. We'd love go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibisteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Had previously stayed here for a weekend for my birthday, but on this occasion met up for lunch with family members on a trip to Wales. It has such a lovely cosy atmosphere and on this occasion (a Friday) the pub and restaurant were very busy. Would always advise to book well in advance as it has always been busy whenever we have been. There is a set menu or an a la carte menu. Drinks are quite expensive and tend to bump the price up even if sticking to the table d'hote. However the food is lovely, my crab starter was tasty and light and main course of bass was delicately cooked and full of flavour. Not a huge choice of menu, but all six of us really enjoyed our choices. Our 2 year old was also well catered for with sausage and mash followed by yummy ice cream ! Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Didn't stay on this occasion, but on previous stay room was over bar (a bit noisy) so ask for ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spaaddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Felin Fach
4.1 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
4.1 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
4.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
12.0 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
12.7 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Felin Fach Griffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Felin Fach Griffin

Property: The Felin Fach Griffin
Address: Felin Fach, Felin Fach LD3 0UB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Felin Fach
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Felin Fach
Hotel Class:4 star — The Felin Fach Griffin 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Felin Fach Griffin Hotel Felin Fach
Felin Fach Griffin Brecon
Felin Fach Griffin Hotel Brecon
The Felin Fach Griffin Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing