We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Threatened me with violence!!!”

The Sidings Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Sidings Hotel and Restaurant is situated in York, in North Yorkshire and is based around 5 Pullman-style railway carriages, located by the east coast mainline. The restaurant is unreservedly Italian, offering dishes such as cannelloni, marinated sardines, lamb with rosemary and potatoes, steaks and a selection of pizzas. The wine list focuses on Italian wine and three courses will cost an average of ��30 per person. Don't forget to check out the specials of the day, as well. Tickets, please! Next stop: the Sidings Hotel and Restaurant!
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Booked fathers day at this restaurant after two good meals earlier in the year. Starter was good but downhill after that! Took a very very long time for the main to arrive. Had to ask where the food was! Eventually arrived. Average Sunday dinner. Dessert was horrible. Apple crumble tasted of sugar and oats. Wasn't cooked. Skin on top of custard. Wrong ice cream arrived. When asked how it was gave honest opinion and told by manager I have an attitude problem! The manager then threatened to take my husband outside to sort out the problem! Totally ruined fathers day. Will not be visiting again! Will be contacting the owner! Disgusting!! Avoid!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
13  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidingshotel, Owner at The Sidings Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

It took a little longer to arrive than normal as we were particularly busy on this occasion, for which we apologised for when the food arrived. Our food is always properly cooked because if it wasn't we would not remain open. The manager that day asked you kindly to sort this away from the restaurant area, and NOT to offer him outside. This is a restaurant NOT a nightclub. There was no mention of an attitude problem to anyone. You have already had an email from us but you seem to want to paint a bad picture of our business. The problem with certain individuals is that they just go out of their way to be the complaining type irrespective of how good the food is. This is usually because they don't want to pay for it, or get out of paying full price. Luckily, we haven't had many people of this type over the years as my standards are very high. So, as painful as it is for me to say: but you really will definitely NOT be welcomed back to our establishment, and your names have now been mentioned to other restauranteurs to avoid you using theirs also within the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 263 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at the Sidings over a period of 10 years. It has definitely deteriorated since we last visited 6 years ago. I totally understand that the carriages are 50 years old but there is no excuse for the total lack of day to day general housekeeping. If I has bought a pair of marigolds, a bottle of bleach and some Mr Muscle and a few cloths and wire wool I am sure I could have had the carriage we stayed in looking something like in just a few hours. They were just totally neglected and shabby (and rather smelly) because of this lack of hygiene.

On the other hand the hotel staff and the meals were excellent and we felt very welcomed but I think Sid and his team really need to spend a night in one of the rooms in order to get a feel of what folks are saying on Trip Advisor.

Sorry Team but you really need to take note!

3  Thank Ann208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was a different experience eating in a railway carriage, it was like being on holiday. I have visited the restaurant a few times and each time the food has been excellent with good Italian wine too.

Reasonably priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidingshotel, Manager at The Sidings Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you very much for a frank and honest view of our food and the setting with which we offer it. We aim to bring this experience to everyone who visits us here at the sidings hotel & restaurant. We hope to see you soon. Regards Sid & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Had a set menu meal a good choice of food nicely cooked and presented Choose the chicken served with fresh vegetables Husband had the beef tender with a nice sauce Sweet. me he was okay

Thank margaret504160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidingshotel, Manager at The Sidings Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy that you are enjoyed your meals. We look forward to seeing you again soon for a great dining experience. Regards Sid & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Been here a few times now and thoroughly enjoy the food and the service is good.
Really cool watching the trains go by. Would deffo go again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sidings Restaurant also viewed

Shipton-by-Beningbrough, North Yorkshire
 
Newton on Ouse, Easingwold
Newton on Ouse, Easingwold
 

Been to The Sidings Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing