We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely ambiance”
Review of The Sidings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sidings Hotel
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely ambiance”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was a Groupon voucher for Christmas dinner 2 courses with mulled wine. We went with another couple the week before Christmas. The food was very good, tasty and well presented, the atmosphere was perfect, a pianist was playing Carol's and even came round the tables for requests. The lighting was very soft and there was a roaring fire going for those who wanted to sit round it and drink their mulled wine, problem is, a bunch of people got there just before us which spoiled the what could have been a perfect ending to a perfect night. I only have one small complaint, it was a little chilly sitting in the main part near the railway lines, I never seemed to warm up but it certainly didn't put me off. The staff are very friendly, Italian...
This is my second time here and I love this place, I think we will become regulars, apparently they do Greek nights which are also supposed to be good, I think we'll give that one a try soon.
Thank you to all at the sidings for a lovely evening, keep up the good work

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babylemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    261
    78
    56
    59
See reviews for
80
503
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

On a positive note we found the staff both polite and helpful, the restaurant and conservatory both clean and well maintained and the food of a very high quality and the location quite unique.
Unfortunately the accommodation was a major negative issue and one of the worst places we have ever stayed at. The furnishings i.e wardrobe, beds, side table looked as if they would be more at home in a second hand furniture store, the door between the bedroom and the en-suite would not close as the door would not fit the surround therefore the lock would not work, the wash hand basin was not in the en suite but in the bedroom, the light switch for the en suite was on the opposite wall of the en suite thus had to be entered in the dark. On the tea tray there were no cups and saucers but mugs and to make matters worse the size of the room and en suite was so very small therefore everything was overcrowded. It seemed that someone had discovered a bit of space and tried to cram as much as possible in there so that another room could be created. We were not impressed at all and were advised this was the last room available therefore unable to exchange. Bearing in mind the advance notice we gave when booking the room I find this rather odd. We wrote a letter of complaint but so far have not had the decency of a reply.

Room Tip: Do not touch room 5 and make sure the room you are booking has a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Middxkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

For a unique experience, this is the place. Sleep in a converted railway carriage, enjoy excellent food and lounge in front of a real log fire.
There is even one room with a four poster bed, otherwise rooms are a little cosy (small) but lovely and warm. The en-suite, again, is snug (small) but does the job. The restaurant food is beautiful. Dine in the carriage section or in the more modern restaurant area both serve delicious food.
This is truly a unique and worthwhile experience.

Room Tip: Try for the four-poster room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotfeat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCUNTHORPE
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We had a 2 day stay here and were not disappointed. It brought back memories of our past train travel. The food was very good and the service was superb. They could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. Yes the carriages are small but adequate for a short stay. Comfy beds and hot shower what more do you need. Enjoyed the crack with a train buff.

Room Tip: Trip into York from the park and ride just down A19 no hassle. Do not drive over Lendal Bridge betw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERDEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I (like many other reviews on here) bought the KGB deal and in Jan 2013 arranged a booking with them for us to stay Sun 1st december 2013 for 2 nights. We have been really looking forward to going away and used our last 2 days holiday for the booking. The other day the manager phoned me to say he was cancelling the booking because they had a wedding booked in and someone else wanted the room!
I thought he was joking but cledarly he wasn't. he said he saw no reason why we couldn't just move the booking into the middle of the week and when i explained that we didn't have anymore holidays left to take he just said he would cancel the booking altogether. i said we had booked it first and he should have told the other people that all of a sudden wanted it should go and book somewhere else.
Clearly after reading the other reviews on here it is because we had a KGB deal.
This is the worst service i have ever experienced in relation to hotels etc - the management clearly have no customer care skills whatsoever.
I only hope that if there is a wedding this coming weekend the hotel doesn't cancel it last minute!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jay1h1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Our son booked this for us, so we didn't quite know what to expect. So it was great fun to discover we were to be sleeping in a four-poster bed in a railway carriage! I must admit that on an extremely cold November night, the 'room' could have been a tad warmer, but the bed itself was beautifully warm and comfortable, and the en-suite perfectly adequate. The food wasn't particularly outstanding, but very edible, and the large lounge area comfortable and cosy with a big open fire. We were made to feel very welcome, and I'd certainly be happy to go back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roobarb-Roobarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on a KGB deal and having read negative reviews were dubious. But we loved it - the room was clean and comfy - small but full of character. The main bar and restaurant inviting and the area with its proximity to York - ideal. The food was also good. A must for train lovers and even though we are not particularly train enthusiasts, we loved the quirkiness and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JASBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipton-by-Beningbrough
1.8 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
4.6 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn York North Hotel
5.9 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sidings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sidings Hotel

Property: The Sidings Hotel
Address: Station Lane, Shipton-by-Beningbrough YO30 1BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Shipton-by-Beningbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipton-by-Beningbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sidings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Sidings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sidings Hotel Shipton-By-Beningbrough, UK - Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing