We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time”
Review of The Sidings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sidings Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful time”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had a lovely tow night stay at this Hotel. The staff were very friendly and friendly, we loved how cosy the room was. It was great to be so close to the trains. The location to the centre od York was excellent and it was in a lovely area. There have been some poor reviews written about this hotel but we had a great time room was clean, food good, location excellent and staff good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRACY117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidingshotel, General Manager at The Sidings Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thanks for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and our proximity to the centre of York. We hope that you will join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    264
    81
    56
    59
See reviews for
83
513
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Ok, so we are not hotel snobs by any means and I really didn't want to give this hotel a bad review so here goes...

We were on a KGB deal for 2 nights with dinner on the first night and breakfast included.

First impressions are good - old fashioned railway carriages, a lovely courtyard, right on the train tracks. The bar area is nice, so we checked in and were told that we had been given a big room! Now, we had been on Trip Advisor so we knew what to expect and it was an ok room, No2, right at the front. Double bed, wardrobe, basin and en suite and a tea tray. On further inspection, cobwebs beside the radiators, mould on the curtains, a shakey toilet cistern, linen was clean but did have a few marks that had obviously been there for a while, very small towels, and I don't think the underneath of the bed has ever seen a hover!
After a 10 minute conversation we decided to stick it out. So we unpacked and went to the bar. The staff really are the saving grace of the hotel, very friendly and chatty.
We had a 3 course meal included in the deal. A lovely setting in the restaurant carriage. Food was OK, if a little bland.
Breakfast was nice. We decided just to go for the continental, which was included in the deal, and this was just enough to start the day. (extra for a full English)
After a day in York (Rawcliffe park and ride is only 5 minutes away, straight down the A19). We came back and decided to eat out but we did come back for a drink. We were sitting at the bar and were half way through our drinks when the staff started to turn the lights off! This was 9.30pm! So we took the hint and went to bed!

I did take ear plugs but we didn't need them. Yes the trains rattle past but it does quieten down through the night, but you might need an eye mask as the curtains don't block anything out!

There is so much potential for this hotel. I know it's all about money but they could really get a lot of business if they improved the rooms.

A unique and different experience but we would not return and would not recommend the hotel, sorry!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KarenB11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidingshotel, General Manager at The Sidings Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thanks for your review, and your honesty. We appreciate your kind comments about our lovely staff, and the train noise (or lack thereof) throughout the night. We have a number of people who do not seem to realise that one of the aspects of The Sidings which makes it so unique is our proximity to the tracks! The room that you stayed in is on the list as the next one to be refurbished, and new curtains and other changes will be part of this. We hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My wife and I recently booked at The Sidings using an internet offer which we thought would be a good deal. On arriving we were shown to our room which we expected to be small but we did not expect it to be so scruffy with a musty smell even with the window wide open. On examining the bed we found 2 lumpy pillows with awful bed linen which did not look at all inviting. There was a TV on a shelf but it was impossible to see it from the bed which was the only comfortable place to sit.
Although we had paid upfront for 2 nights we both decided that we would not wish to spend any time in that room; consequently we told the staff that the accommodation was not of an acceptable standard and left. Fortunately within a few miles drive we found a good pub with nice rooms.
My advice is to give this place a miss.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidingshotel, General Manager at The Sidings Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We are sorry that you chose not to stay with us. If you had reflected your concerns to a member of staff, we could have looked into what we could do to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

1st off I booked on the strenght of the previous reviews, if I had know of their low expections This booking would not have been made. When we looked at the room we handed the keys back and left. Points noted, no mattress or pillow protectors, grubby bedding, old narrow wooden kids beds, old washed out wash towels, curtains ! room size appox 6ft x 12ft, located 8yards from Main Line trains run frequently All through the night.
Plus side, staff friendly. Nice bar area (but you dont sleep there) 6 iles from York.

Room Tip: Worst place I stayed in ever. You will have to be a utter train nut to stay here. Hostels will provi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidingshotel, General Manager at The Sidings Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thanks for your review. We always hope that people will enjoy their stays with us, and make no pretence about the size or location of our rooms, as they are in train carriages, which are by their very nature of certain dimensions, and we mention repeatedly the fact that we are located at the side of the train track, hence the proximity to a train line. The room which you were booked into is currently being refurbished as part of our programme of work and the curtains will be changed as part of what process. We are not sure how you know that the trains run through the night, as you didn't end up staying? We appreciate that our setting is not to everyone's liking, and we hope that you enjoyed your stay wherever you ended up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I booked this hotel for 1 night 8/4/14 as a treat for my husband birthday. He is a train addict.Didn't expect it to be perfect they are old carriages it was a little tired but didn't spoil our stay.Such a hoot laying on beds watching the trains whizz by on a lovely sunny night with carriage slightly shaking and bed vibrating. Noisy through the night as being so near to track but this was the charm of the place. A great experience. Nice meal in dinning car and breakfast in conservatory.Manager and staff very friendly. If you like trains this is the experience for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jock11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

A very friendly staff service,,,a lovely reception with a large tv,,all very relaxed feeling,,great bar with decent drinks that you can take to your room if needed,,if you are a train fanatic,,this is the place for you,,constant train movement right through the night,,so i would advise to take ear plugs,,my partner never slept too well,,glad we only stayed the one night,,due to noise coming off the train track,,very very small room (twin room) great shower,,very clean toilet and sink,,excellent mounted tv on the wall,,very warm and cosy,,beds need updating,,not too comfy but done us the one night,,wardrobe space was good too,,,the aisles on the train are very slim,,can get claustrophobic at times,,i wouldnt recommend this for kids,,its a great base stay for york,,its 3 miles drive into york,,its worth a stay as its quite an experience,,a continental breakfast was average,,lovely fresh coffee though,,there is nothing to do in the grounds as i stated its just a quirky base to stay,,,does need re decorating as there was,some mould around the windows,,other than that if younare into trains,,trainspotting this is your experience,,enjoy xx

Room Tip: Ear plugs should be took,,otherwise its every 6 minute express train noise through the night,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay which we really enjoyed, having eaten here in the past we wanted to experience staying in the converted train we were not sorry, loved the experience. The meal we had was also exceptional and the wine was superb. Staff are so friendly and efficient we just loved it, going back for lunch very soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipton-by-Beningbrough
1.8 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
4.6 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
5.9 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Red Lion Country Inn & Rooms
The Red Lion Country Inn & Rooms
#2 of 2 in Upper Poppleton
198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wood Farm Bed and Breakfast
Wood Farm Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Shipton-by-Beningbrough
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sidings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sidings Hotel

Property: The Sidings Hotel
Address: Station Lane, Shipton-by-Beningbrough YO30 1BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Shipton-by-Beningbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipton-by-Beningbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sidings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sidings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sidings Hotel Shipton-By-Beningbrough, UK - Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing