We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrific experience”
Review of The Sidings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sidings Hotel
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Horrific experience”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were booked in for 2 nights (a surprise gift from my in-laws). We cannot even begin to tell you our disappointment (my heart sank) when walking down the corridor to our allocated room. The hotel is extremely shabby and in need of total refurbishment. Not only well worn and dated but very dirty. Our room was lacking in basic cleanliness, the bedding was so well worn the duvet was covered in holes where it had become threadbare. There was mould in several areas in the room and several cobwebs. The room felt damp and smelled fusty. The pedal bin was covered in dust and water drips and clearly had not been cleaned. The shower tray looked fairly clean but once again the level of basic cleanliness was lacking. The actual shower unit itself was dirty. The windows and frames were grimy and the curtains were poor quality. Our room was cold when we arrived and my husband went to reception to ask for the heating to be put on. He was told it was on a timer and would be on at 7.00 pm. He insisted that it was cold and we needed to shower and change so it was necessary to put it on straightaway. Reluctantly the timer was overridden and clearly forgotten about as the heating was left on all night. It was one extreme to another - we couldn't have the window open due to the noise of the frequent passing trains so we had an uncomfortable nights sleep due to the heat.
We dined that evening in the conservatory as a reservation had already been made by my in laws. The food wasn't the best just passable. Again cleanliness was an issue in the dining area - cobwebs and dead flies in the net canopy covering the glass roof. The restaurant wasn't busy only a few people in so we presumed that the railway carriage restaurant wasn't open which we would have preferred.
The following day there was no heating on again when we arrived back from our day out in York. The following morning no heating on again. Breakfast was continental style, no hot food even though it stated on their website full English was available. On a positive note the owner is friendly but this is not enough to make a hotel business successful. Overall a truly shocking experience - not one to be repeated. We only stayed because it was booked as a gift and my in laws had joined us for the experience and we didn't want to upset them by making a fuss. Had we made the booking ourselves we would have taken one look at the room and left. My advice is DO NOT STAY HERE. See my photos attached.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    261
    78
    56
    59
See reviews for
80
503
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We are not sure why there are so many poor reviews having spent a night there 13th May 2014

We would not fault anything. Friendly staff, clean and warm room. Good food.

Space precludes more accolades.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidingshotel, General Manager at The Sidings Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thanks so much for your excellent review! We are always thrilled to hear that people have enjoyed their stay in our unique setting. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Really wanted to give this place a good review, as it's such a great idea. Like everyone else, did the KGB voucher for two nights. Made welcome, food good. Breakfast okay and drinks fine. The room overlooked the main line and we even saw a steam engine go past. Yes, it's noisy, but what do you expect when you are next to the main east coast line. We loved that bit.
The only problem is the rooms are very tired and shabby. We expected small (it is a railway carriage) and we had lovely fluffy towels, toiletries etc, but the bed was very hard, with worn sheets. At night the condensation on the windows ran onto the floor, so the carpet was wet through and subsequently the bed felt damp as well.
With a bit of tlc and paint, this place could be so much better, but it was an experience, just not one we will be repeating.

Room Tip: IF you are going for the trains, ask for a room that overlooks the main line. A lot of rooms only o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newforestpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidingshotel, General Manager at The Sidings Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope that you will visit us again one day. We are aware that the carriages have their own drawbacks, and we are in the process of refurbishing them. The regulations surrounding what we can and can't do make this a slow process, and as we are fully booked a lot of the time, we have to book a number of days out for each room to be redecorated and refurbished. Thanks for your review, and we hope to see you sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A Groupon special - service is good, food is great, rooms are 'different'. Each room is in a former railway carriage, a little cramped (don't take much luggage!) but basic and clean - there is very little room to move around so don't expect a 5 star room - neither is it romantic! The food is fabulous - Mediterranean - and it's a relaxed informal dining room right next to the mainline railway. Good choice of menu in the evening and a continental breakfast with ham, cheese, fruit, toast etc. The Sidings is 5 minutes from York Park and Ride and York is lovely. The Sidings staff are attentive and relaxed. 2 nights is plenty and if you are a train spotter it's perfect. Loved the Greek wine, have never tied this before and all in all great value - kids would love the idea of sleeping in a train!

Room Tip: 4 poster rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidingshotel, General Manager at The Sidings Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the wine! We are proud of our hospitality, and the rooms are getting better and better as our refurbishment continues. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A two night stay never to be forgotten & not in a good way. We arrived the hotel & surroundings looked nice & on entering we were greeted with a warm welcome & escorted to our room which was the train enthusiast room. This is where it went downhill. First thing we had to do was put the curtain pole back as it was hanging off, no drawers or wardrobes so had to live out of our bags. No plug in the sink, dirty stain on the quilt. Then there is the vibrating bed! This was due to being just feet away from a main line & trains passing all day & night. The evening meal which was included was nice. After a sleepless night we went for breakfast & was very disappointed as we wanted to pay extra for a full English as noted on their website but was told by the very ignorant member of staff that we could only have the continental. We decided to eat out on the 2nd night. Breakfast the next day was even more disappointing as the bread was mouldy. We were served our coffee by a young lad drinking beer for breakfast! We couldn't wait to check out & leave & will never return or recommend this hotel as it was run down & dirty.

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debsandmark349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were booked for a 2 night stay with friends on a groupon deal. The welcome was warm - the food in the restaurant was great - the meal the first night was included in the deal. The breakfast was a good selection - no cooked breakfast but lots of lovely cheeses and cold meats etc yoghurts fruit juices and toast. coffee great. friendly ambience.
All rooms in converted train carriages of which we were put into the"railway enthusiasts room " . We had a taster of how busy the train line was when we were eating our meals as everything shook when many many trains passed regularly.!! We thought that the trains would stop during the night.... no such luck. freight trains through the night are longer, slower ,more nosier..we just experienced a vibrating bed when we retired to bed which was funny the first couple of times, but combined with a very lumpy bed was not funny when we couldnt sleep... the carriage is 12 ft from the railway line. needless to say we left in the morning and didnt stay a 2nd night. We didnt anticipate this problem when we first booked. Shame .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happ-etravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidingshotel, General Manager at The Sidings Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We are sorry that you didn't stay a second night with us. We really cannot alter the train schedule, and make no pretence about our location. Being right on the tracks is actually one of the things that a lot of people return for! We hope that one day you will return, and we can put you in one of the rooms in the other carriage, a little further away from the track.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I phoned to provisional book 3 rooms this all seemed fine and 3 rooms where still available. However trying to confirm this was a nightmare. I phone maybe another 10 times and spoke with different staff members none of which could help me confirm this booking. Informing me each time that the manager would phone me later that day. This went on for 4 days. Finally I had the booking confirmed (I had to phone them again) but about 5 hours later and the only phone call I did finally receive from the manager was to tell me they were already fully booked and there was no space for my booking. Very annoying.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojobean4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidingshotel, General Manager at The Sidings Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We are sorry that there was obviously some confusion re: your attempted booking. We are a relatively small hotel with a small staff and we do our best. We would ask, however, if you did not stay with us, how can you rate our rooms/cleanliness, etc, as you did not see the rooms? We hope to welcome you in the future, and hope that you can accept that breakdowns in communication occasionally occur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipton-by-Beningbrough
1.8 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
4.6 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn York North Hotel
5.9 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sidings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sidings Hotel

Property: The Sidings Hotel
Address: Station Lane, Shipton-by-Beningbrough YO30 1BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Shipton-by-Beningbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipton-by-Beningbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sidings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Sidings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sidings Hotel Shipton-By-Beningbrough, UK - Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing