We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mixed feelings” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sidings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sidings Hotel
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“mixed feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

my husband and i stayed at the sidings recently with a kgb voucher 2 nights b&b with 3 course dinner on first night. We had friends who also booked but not with a deal. We were given a four poster room which was clean. We did not expect it to be roomy as it was a railway carriage so were ok with it. However our friends were given a room with problems. The taps on the radiators were not working and so the heating could not be turned off. they spent a very uncomfortable night with the windows open. It rained during the night so the carpets got wet.They reported it to the manager but were not offered another room.The food at night was ok but there were many flies around and we had to keep swatting them off our food. In the morning there was a continental breakfast of cereals, meat,cheese, hard boiled eggs toast and drinks none of which was covered up so the flies were free to land on them There should have been an insectocutor near the dining area as a matter of health and safety .We asked for a cooked breakfast which was £4:50 extra but was told there was no chef. as a result of these problems our friends checked out after the first night and found a lovely b&b not far away.We did not stay for breakfast on the second day because of the problems mentioned. There is a lot that needs doing at this hotel to bring it up to a standard that i would be happy to stay in again and i hope the manager will address them as with some quite basic changes would make it a much better experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PattonyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    250
    72
    55
    59
See reviews for
76
478
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

A most awful experience. Food - terrible and tasteless and accommodation in dire need of repair. Would never stay here again, even if an offer was available. The staff wore dirty clothes, tablecloths dirty and the whole experience a total nightmare.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidingshotel, Owner at The Sidings Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
This was a very unfair response from what seemed to be a very nice couple on the day, who incidentally told us that everything was great. They chose the stifado, ate half of it and sent it back, chose another dish of lasagne and a pizza, ate half of these and sent them back also, and then said to my waiter after working their way through the third option which we gave them, the exact words 'We weren't really that hungry as we had a large lunch!' And if that wasn't enough, complained about everything else after they left. Very strange that they did not tell us about anything whilst they were on their stay with us here at the sidings, as most people would mention it, and then give us chance to rectify any problem which may occur. The remote was missing from the room, the fact that the food was absolutely fine but they decided to complain for the sake of complaining on the back of them eating too soon previously in the day, and might I add (as much as it is against my morals) to really not welcome you ever back to our establishment in the future (to eat or stay over). We don't need customers who just want to eat the food, and work their way through our menu and treat it as a free meze, and then complain about it afterwards. My staff do not wear dirty clothes at all and I find this very upsetting also. Yes, we are in the process of bringing up-to-date our refurbishment process on the hotel carriage, but I would like to point out that the pullman carriages are over 50 years old and I like to have an authenticity left to their overall look and feel. As you can see from our other general feedback, that very few people would refer to us a total nightmare! Your comments have been reported to trip advisor as being suspicious given the circumstances. Have a good day. Sid (The Owner).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We spent two nights at the Sidings and what could have been a great experience was let down by the very run down carriages. If only the owner had spent some money and bought some paint, our first impressions would not have been so bad. The bed looked more tired than we were although it was clean,however it must have been the cleaners day off as far as the rest of the "room" was concerned. By the way do not take any luggage or your cat, there is no where to put your clothes and no where to swing your poor cat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidand5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Two nights stay at the sidings a present from a family member well yes it was different loads of steam railway memrobilla around and yes it is as near to the railway as you can get a warm welcome from the staff a nice evening meal well cooked and presented ate in the railway carriage meet some very nice guests who were staying there that's the good comment and now for the not so good when we arrived were shown carriage no 3 so small the only way to get into bed was to climb in from the bottom not a good idea Asked for another carriage swopped by the manager with other guests to no7 a little more room bed was poor radiatior was broken unable to turn it down so very hot carpet was wet a huge water bubble in the roof curtains were very dirty this place is different but if they expect guests to keep going they should do some basic repairs

Room Tip: Carriage 3very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret504160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Having read the reviews went with some trepidation. However, arrived early evening having had a quick once round York during the day, greeted very pleasantly by the boss and his wife. taken to our room " The railway enthusiasts room." No.6. Quite clean however no towels, went to reception and towels given straight away. On a KGB deal so free 1st night meal, good choice but not everything was available. Had Garlic mushrooms for starters, followed by beef my wife had chicken both very good, followed by coffee cake wanted apple crumble (run out) still good and our host then had a senior moment and forgot the coffee we ordered quick reminder and soon sorted. Pleasant evening and back to the room. Excellent shower and off to bed. You really do need to be a heavy sleeper to see the night through but other than that it does what it says on the tin. It is somewhere to stay, you don't have to live there for those who moan. Up for breakfast, while this is advertised as continental it nearly is. Just a couple of observations for improvement. Coco pops is not everybodys cup of tea 1st thing on a Monday morning and wider variety of adult cereals would help, as there were on Tuesday morning. A small selection of cold meat and cheese, boiled eggs, bread, just a tad stale I felt on Monday morning better the following morning, but less choice of cheese. 2 further observations 1) it woiuld be more hygienic if the meats and cheeses had covers as there were plenty of flies about in the room, 2) while the young man who was serving our hot drinks was very pleasant and always ready to help I again felt jogging bottoms and a T shirt doesn't look very professional. Next off to York and back for the evening and again used the restaurant. The young man who served us was attentive and quickly took our order, mixed kebab and moussaka were the order of the day and both very tasty with a bottle of house wine. Rose being just right for our taste. Quiet night in apart from the trains passing overall a pleasant stay, Nobody was ignored and the place is a good central point not far from the Rawcliffe bar P+R quick and much easier to access York this way and close enough to the main road to Scarborough if the weather is nice. Had a great couple of days.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you don't want room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Migster56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I agree with everything that has been said,refurbishment,yes this can take time, I agree, but the room we stayed in,needed a good clean, and it would have been nice to have nice white towels.
But this said we had a great meal, staff were very welcoming and helpful.
Have enjoyed our two night stay and I can really say the earth really move for us, every time a train went by.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gill w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at the sidings(room 8) .had a great time,food fantastic.Not your normal hotel stay but we knew it would be different.We didnt expect 5* but enjoyed a couple of days away that was quirky.Could do with some refurbishment,clean sheets and nice white towels.We did have to ask for extra tea and coffee..Lots of places to visit within a few miles.Six of us went and we would all go again..

Room Tip: Room 8 was the largest room and not too close to railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KATE60-61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipton-by-Beningbrough
1.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
5.9 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sidings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sidings Hotel

Property: The Sidings Hotel
Address: Station Lane, Shipton-by-Beningbrough YO30 1BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Shipton-by-Beningbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipton-by-Beningbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — The Sidings Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Sidings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sidings Hotel Shipton-By-Beningbrough, UK - Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing