We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better second time around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wood Farm Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed at Wood Farm 30/31st May with my wife and daughter for a couple of nights and found it just as good as the first time. Very friendly hosts, excellent breakfasts and wonderfully appointed and spotlessly clean rooms. The bed in the Garden room is the most comfortable we have slept in other than our own at home. One evening just before going out for dinner we sat at the bedroom window and watched a barn owl successfully hunting in the field just beyond the garden. An awesome sight and no binoculars needed. Didn't think our last visit could be improved on but the barn owl just tipped the balance. No hesitation in recommending this B&B in the highest terms.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eborviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

Our two night stay and Wood Farm was excellent! Claire and Helen were attentive and helpful from my initial email contact forward. The room was airy and quiet (as you might expect a farm would be). The relaxing atmosphere was perfect after a long drive or a day in York. Breakfast was plentiful, hot or cold, and do not forget to try the homemade jams. If visiting York we took Claire's advice and used the Park and Ride. Buses run every ten minutes and at £5 round trip for two is worth every pence. Traffic and parking in York can be very difficult. We highly recommend Wood Farm B&B.

Room Tip: We were in the Poppy room and would likely choose another as the wireless was not strong in that roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bill_keep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

If you want the perfect place for peace and tranquility this is a must,Claire was so helpful, nothing was too much trouble the farm is a working farm.
Breakfast was to die for egg bacon sausage mushrooms tomatoes,with hot home made bread rolls with her own home made jam and marmelade as well as fresh fruit salad and all types of serials including filter coffee or tea we stayed 2 nights and will definately book a week next year
Rob and Val Torkington

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are excellent and spotlessly clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robtorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Just returned from a 2 night break and would recommend this B&B, it was everything previous reports had said. The bedroom was spacious and nippon clean and the bed very comfortable.
The breakfast was first class and well presented.
Would also recomend the Dawnay Arms in the village, the meal we had was without doubt one of the best bar meals I have had.
It is just a pity the road to the village has no footpaths and very tight bends, meaning we had to take the car and limit my drink intake.

Room Tip: We had the Garden suite, south facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

When we travel overseas we like to go where the road may take us and on this trip
we found Wood Farm. We stayed in many B&B's and Wood Farm was by far the best. From the warm welcome of Bramble to the liitle helpers that helped bring our breakfast in the next morning. The room was very clean and welcoming. The breakfast served was wonderful (homemade jams, homemade bread, fresh sausage). On top of all this Helen and Claire could have not been more helpful and gracious. A jewel of a find!

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoe01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed at Wood Farm for two nights during August. This must be the best B+B we have stayed at. Our room was just perfect; a good size with a good sized bathroom and furnished to a very high standard. Our breakfast was also excellent, with homemade bread and preserves an added delight. We would thoroughly recommend this B+B and will stay here again when we next visit York. Many thanks to Helen for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We have just returned from a couple of nights at Wood Farm and what a great find it was. Lovely farmhouse, loads of character and a delightful family.
The bed was enormous and very comfy. Very pretty room, very clean and cosy and every attention to detail. We were the only visitors and it was so peaceful and relaxing. Good breakfast to set us up for a day in York. Lovely hosts, very friendly and presented us with a lovely handmade card for our wedding anniversary! What a nice touch.
Thank you Helen and Claire and of course Bramble ( very friendly dog) Much better than staying in the city centre, park and ride was so much better. Altogether,a very enjoyable weekend.

Room Tip: We had the larger room overlooking the farm and very quiet. Other rooms are overlooking garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wood Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wood Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: Wood Farm | Shipton by Beningbrough, Shipton-by-Beningbrough YO30 1BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Shipton-by-Beningbrough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipton-by-Beningbrough
Price Range: £93 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wood Farm Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome assured all year at Wood Farm (arable and livestock farm). A Victorian house with period features and antique furniture. Hearty Aga cooked breakfast (using local produce including homemade bread and preserves) awaits you after a restful night in large en-suite bedrooms (one with four-poster bed). The farm is ideally situated for visiting the historic city of York, Herriott country, North Yorkshire Moors, Yorkshire Dales and many National Trust Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wood Farm Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Farm Hotel Shipton-By-Beningbrough
Wood Farm b&b
Wood Farm Bed And Breakfast Shipton-By-Beningbrough, UK - Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing